Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-28-2006, 11:05 PM   #1
kingmonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
kingmonkey is on a distinguished road
Default Caller ID

I use Sipura 2000 ATA to register with voxalot which then registers/uses voipcheap.com to dial out to normal and mobile phone users.

Caller ID doesnt show on mobiles that I phone. I thought voxalot forwarded callerID,

Are my settings wrong or something?
kingmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2006, 01:39 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

What caller ID are you expecting to see on the mobile?
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2006, 02:44 AM   #3
kingmonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
kingmonkey is on a distinguished road
Default

I guess whatever I put in the "Display Name" field on my sipura, or is that not how it works?
kingmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-29-2006, 03:42 AM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Yes that does work however it also relies on your mobile carrier supporting the display name within the CID.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2006, 12:34 AM   #5
kingmonkey
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
kingmonkey is on a distinguished road
Default

I think this has to do with mobile and POTS providers "trusting" you caller ID.
kingmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-2006, 06:15 PM   #6
code-
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
code- is on a distinguished road
Default

VoipBuster (and mabie VoipCheap, Discount and the others) allow you to register your cell phone number as caller ID after it is verified. When I call via the VoipBuster client the caller ID works, but not when calling via VoXaLot.
Anybody have any ideas?
code- is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-16-2007, 10:26 AM   #7
The King
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 18
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The King is on a distinguished road
Default

Hate to bump, but really wondering if anyone has a solution!

Voipcheap, with their latest firmware, now allow the verification of a non-mobile number. As such I have verified by sipgate.co.uk number.

So now, when I call via the voipcheap client my sipgate number is displayed as caller ID, which is fantastic!

However I tried registering my grandstream device directly to voipcheoa and viz voxalot, but neither times will it show me the caller id I have verified, instead displaying my voipin number for voipcheap, which I don't want it to!

Appreciate this isn't a voipcheap forum, but with so many Betamax users hopefully someone has a solution to this, has got this to work?

I've sent a support email to voipcheap, but doubt they'll respond any time soon!
The King is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 10:52 AM   #8
haifischjunge
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
haifischjunge is on a distinguished road
Default

if voxalot could support the necessary field in the provider settings i would imagine a callplan that for example chooses for us calls the poivy setting with the ipkall incoming number as caller id, for calls to austria the austrian number and so on.
haifischjunge is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 11:39 AM   #9
raphoumail
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 77
Thanks: 10
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
raphoumail is on a distinguished road
Default

It would be very great but I know there are a lot of legal issues...
raphoumail is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 02:23 PM   #10
haifischjunge
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 56
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
haifischjunge is on a distinguished road
Default

i dont really see legal issues since voxalot does not provide the caller id functionality and the usual implementation of this "fake" caller id doesnt interfere with the law since the real caller id is also transmitted.
haifischjunge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caller ID at Voxalot amroe Voxalot Support 8 09-13-2007 04:58 PM
Caller ID no longer working on VPAD ATA Kars Voxalot Support 5 02-02-2007 09:21 PM
Caller can hear me clearly, but I cannot hear the caller jptg5Y Voxalot Support 0 01-21-2007 11:52 PM
Caller id block ? shezad Voxalot Support 2 10-27-2006 08:59 PM
Any one knows why my caller id is always "blah" yuzyin Voxalot Support 1 07-09-2006 11:41 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.