Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-30-2007, 02:56 PM   #1
advant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
advant is on a distinguished road
Default 5060 blocked issue

First of all, I would like to thank you all for the
amazing wealth of information that is contained
in all these forums.

Here is my issue:

Port 5060 (both incoming and outgoing) is blocked by my ISP. I currently use us.voxalot.com:4060 as my SIP server on my ATA. My ATA listens on 5061 to bypass the incoming port block. ATA registers fine.

However, I cannot make any outgoing or incoming calls with this setup. When I make an outgoing call, it rings the destination phone. Calls do not get completed. The same happens for incoming calls as well. I hear the rings but the calls do not get completed when the phone goes off hook.

I have traced the root of the problem as follows:

While the adapter sends the REGISTER messages to the correct unblocked 4060 port, it responds to INVITE messages to the default 5060 port. This
is probably because the INVITE messages from the Voxalot server contain the IP address only and not the port # specification. The adapter attaches the default port # which is 5060 and sends the ACK messages to a blocked port.
The adapter referred here is a Grandstream HT486.

This is the reason I find calls do not get completed. Is there any way to work around this issue? Can something be done on the server side to correct this issue?

Any help with this issue is very much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
advant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2007, 02:19 PM   #2
advant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
advant is on a distinguished road
Default

I wanted to include the following transcript for
clarity:

INVITE sip:nnnnnn@xx.xx.xx.225:5061;user=phone SIP/2.0
Record-Route: <sip:64.34.173.199;lr=on;ftag=as50965e53>
Record-Route: <sip:64.34.163.35;lr=on;ftag=as50965e53>
Record-Route: <sip:64.34.162.221;lr=on;ftag=as50965e53>
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 64.34.173.199;branch=z9hG4bKe781.6fde1fe6.0
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 64.34.163.35;branch=z9hG4bKe781.30329f5.0
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 64.34.162.221;branch=z9hG4bKe781.07a4ffb.0
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 204.11.194.10:5070;branch=z9hG4bK2bfde41f;rport=50 70

Please note the Via: field only contains an IP address 64.34.173.199
and not 64.34.173.199:4060. It is SIP convention to use 5060 as a
default port if no port number is specified. As a result, the replies(ACK)
go to 64.34.173.199:5060 which is blocked by the ISP.

Is it possible to do someting about this? Please let me know.

Thanks.
advant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2007, 07:26 PM   #3
advant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
advant is on a distinguished road
Default

Here is the response from Grandstream support on this:

"Unfortunately, we can not help you in case port are blocked by ISP. According to SIP standard message should be send according to port arrived in Via or Route header, and if these ports do not arrive, the message will be sent to default 5060"

Is there anything Voxalot can do about this to help several of us that are behind ISPs that block 5060?

Thank you.
advant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-01-2007, 11:06 PM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advant View Post
Is there anything Voxalot can do about this to help several of us that are behind ISPs that block 5060?

Thank you.
voxalot has re-directs setup for ports:

4060
3060
2060

In your ATA try registering us.voxalot.com, eu.voxalot.com or au.voxalot.com using any of the above ports.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-02-2007, 02:38 PM   #5
advant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
advant is on a distinguished road
Default

Martin,

Thanks for your reply. A simple redirection of ports 2060, 3060 and 4060 doesn't seem to be working. The issue is with the Via header in the INVITE messages.

Currently it is:

Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 64.34.173.199

It should read:

Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 64.34.173.199:4060 (or 2060/3060)

In the absence of a port number in the Via header, a SIP compliant device automatically uses 5060 as the default port. Since this is blocked by the ISP, ACK messages (that are necessary for call completion) do not reach the server.

In addition to the redirection of ports 2060/3060/4060 to 5060, something that can be done to correct this issue is to run the server as below:

$ ./ser -f x.cfg -l 192.168.X.X -p 5060 -l 192.168.X.X -p 4060

I sincerely request Voxalot to consider this request as it will help so many of us that may be behind ISPs that block 5060.

Thank you very much.
advant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-23-2007, 02:56 PM   #6
gregd72002
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gregd72002 is on a distinguished road
Default

if you could run the service on port 80 or 443 I'm with you!!
You would be the first SIP provider that have done it in the world. I've spent last 3 days looking for one and couldn't find.
Is is possible? Will it be in future?
My problem is my ISP... blocks almost everything. Moreover, I think that a lot of people got the same problem (corp firewalls, isp firewalls etc).

Thanks

Last edited by gregd72002; 06-23-2007 at 03:02 PM.
gregd72002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2007, 07:29 PM   #7
advant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
advant is on a distinguished road
Default

Can somebody please tell me how redirection on ports 2060, 3060 and 4060 is implemented? Is this as simple as forward all traffic that comes in on these ports to the internal 5060 port? Or is the SIP server actually listening on all of these ports?

Will the SIP server be able to differentiate traffic entering on the different ports?

Thanks.
advant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2007, 09:01 PM   #8
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

I would assume that this is the "Local SIP port" specified in your hardware device (usually under the Account tab on a Grandstream phone or ATA).
I have used different ports (5060 to 5070) to prevent conflicts and it seems to work fine.

On your router, you should forward that Port or Port range to the private IP address of your SIP device.

This set-up works best if you set up your devices with a fixed private IP, program the local SIP port to for Eg 4060, then forward this port on the router to the IP address set up for the device.

This of course assumes your device is behind a router that you control.
Also, use a STUN server in your device set-up (Eg. stun.voxalot.com.au:3478).
If you are doing this behind a corporate firewall, the IT department may have totally blocked these ports and probably there is not much you can do to fix the problem.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2007, 09:18 PM   #9
advant
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
advant is on a distinguished road
Default

Sorry I should have been more specific in my original post.

I was actually referring to Martin's previous post where
he wrote:

"voxalot has re-directs setup for ports:

4060
3060
2060"

I believe simple redirection of the external 4060/3060/2060
ports at the SIP proxy's firewall to the internal 5060 port
does not work. This is why there have been posts from
members about not being able to receive calls when they
are registered to a port other than 5060.

The SIP proxy should actually listen on those ports for
it to know that the incoming traffic actually came on
a specific port.
advant is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-27-2007, 04:32 AM   #10
PatrickK64
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
PatrickK64 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to PatrickK64
Default

Advant - For what it's worth, I have had to resort to using a VPN in order to get around blocked port issues. This is especially true with wireless providers who feel threatened by VoIP. I have used HotSpotVPN.com with reasonable success.
They list VoIP as one of their service features.

Unfortunately, I can't give you any technical solutions for the port redirect.

-Pat
PatrickK64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
us.voxalot.com blocked by Sipgate too? Hellmaker Voxalot Support 2 06-07-2007 01:37 PM
TRX Telecom IP blocked wmp Voxalot Support 3 11-04-2006 02:57 AM
Port 5060 ? shezad Voxalot Support 0 10-29-2006 01:13 PM
weired issue - help??? jmstosch Voxalot Support 1 09-22-2006 11:31 PM
provider ports 5060 muzzza Voxalot Support 2 09-06-2006 03:03 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.