Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-03-2006, 04:03 AM   #1
anony
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
anony is on a distinguished road
Red face PSTN to Voip calls possible ??

Hi.

My scenario is A person in country X has no broadband, no VOIP and very high call rates to call from australia.

I am in Australia and have a VOIP with astratel/pennytel i use for 10c anywhere in australia untimed.

Can i somehow get the person in Country X to call me from his PSTN for 10c a minute ???

coz if we can gimme ur paypal account

thanks
anony is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2006, 04:44 AM   #2
pmerrill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
pmerrill is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anony
Hi.

My scenario is A person in country X has no broadband, no VOIP and very high call rates to call from australia.

I am in Australia and have a VOIP with astratel/pennytel i use for 10c anywhere in australia untimed.

Can i somehow get the person in Country X to call me from his PSTN for 10c a minute ???

coz if we can gimme ur paypal account

thanks
It's called www.SIPBROKER.com. He basically dials a local number in his country, then your sip number, together with your provider's number (visible from SIPBROKER) and you can pick up the call from your VoIP provider in Australia. All he pays for is a local call.
pmerrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2006, 04:47 AM   #3
BJReplay
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BJReplay is on a distinguished road
Default Easy (sort of).

You ring one of the australian sipbroker pstn access numbers (http://www.sipbroker.com/sipbroker/action/pstnNumbers), dial *269nnnnnn where nnnnnn is your astratel number, and bingo, your phone rings.

This assumes your ATA is registered to astratel.

If it's registered to pennytel, then it would be *234xxxxxx where xxxxxxx is your pennytel number.

If that works, then you tell your OS person to ring the nearest PSTN number from the access number list, and go.

It cost your OS person the cost of the call to the access number. It costs you nothing.
BJReplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2006, 05:46 AM   #4
fozzie
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chichester, West Suusex, UK
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fozzie is on a distinguished road
Default

Of course this all assumes that there is a PSTN dial in code for country x.

The OP didn't say where country x was.

@BJReplay - I think you missed the point. The OP said that the caller is in country x, NOT Australia and so he definitely doesn't want to be diallling an Australian PSTN access code; he might as well dial direct!

Last edited by fozzie; 05-03-2006 at 05:51 AM.
fozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2006, 05:59 AM   #5
BJReplay
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
BJReplay is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fozzie
@BJReplay - I think you missed the point. The OP said that the caller is in country x, NOT Australia and so he definitely doesn't want to be diallling an Australian PSTN access code; he might as well dial direct!
@fozzie, you gotta read more carefully

Instructions for the OP were for the OP to ring the australian access number - to verify that it works - and then to tell the OS mate to call the OS access number.
BJReplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2006, 06:18 AM   #6
fozzie
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Chichester, West Suusex, UK
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fozzie is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BJReplay
@fozzie, you gotta read more carefully
You're right of course - I shall
fozzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2006, 08:47 AM   #7
maxalot
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oz
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
maxalot is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anony
Hi.
My scenario is A person in country X has no broadband, no VOIP and very high call rates to call from australia.
I assume that you mean that the cost of PSTN calls to Austrlia is expensive.
Quote:
Originally Posted by anony
Can i somehow get the person in Country X to call me from his PSTN for 10c a minute ???
You or your friend can setup an account with a VSP and then use webcallback.

With webcallback you don't need broadband or VoIP Hardware/Software you do need access to the net so that you can setup the call though.
maxalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Codec order for SIP - PSTN calls occamsrazor Voxalot Support 0 03-08-2007 10:05 AM
Forward calls from PSTN to mobile via Pennytel - HELP BJReplay Voxalot Support 0 12-22-2006 12:04 AM
PSTN (Access Number) To PSTN (via a VOIP account) possible ? nico059 Voxalot Support 7 08-11-2006 06:04 PM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.