Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-29-2008, 12:27 PM   #1
dmainou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
dmainou is on a distinguished road
Question Two providers one ATA box

Chaps,

Could you please recommend me an ATA box capable of handling two different providers at the same time? e.g. voxalot and provider "B".
It is very important that both providers are registered at the same time.

It needs to be at the ATA level as provider "B" blocks Voxalot and is the only provider offering DID's in my home town

I am currently using Netcomm NB9W but I believe it is not capable of handling two different providers.

Thank you for your suggestions!
dmainou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-2008, 07:49 PM   #2
Grahame
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: France
Posts: 46
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Grahame is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi,

I'm not sure what you are trying to achieve and please do not take this as a product recommendation, but I have used a ZYXEL Prestige 2000L with Voxalot for the last couple of years.

It allows 2 SIP registrations, mapping to to 2 phones, PSTN to 1 phone. It works out of the box, simple to configure and has been pretty bomb proof.

IT WILL NOT do some the clever things the Cisco boxes will do i.e gateways, dial plans, advanced config options etc.

I have 1 permanent registration with Voxalot, the other I use to check provider voice quality, etc before adding to to Voxalot "Providers". PSTN in maps through the box so I don't have multiple phones on my desk.

It's not perfect but it works.

Hope this helps

Best regards
Grahame is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2008, 03:06 AM   #3
ctylor
 
ctylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 296
Thanks: 94
Thanked 53 Times in 27 Posts
ctylor will become famous soon enough
Default

SPA-1001
One FXS port: Two registered providers on it
Linksys SPA1001 (Sipura SPA-1001)

Of course I recommend any Sipura/Linksys ATA model.
ctylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2008, 10:17 AM   #4
191727
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 94
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
191727 is on a distinguished road
Default

siemens gigaset has some voip phones that can handle upto 6 SIP registration at the same time. you can check it out.
191727 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-01-2008, 04:13 AM   #5
dmainou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
dmainou is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctylor View Post
SPA-1001
One FXS port: Two registered providers on it
Linksys SPA1001 (Sipura SPA-1001)

Of course I recommend any Sipura/Linksys ATA model.
Couple of extra questions:

by two registered providers you mean:

sip.abc.com (login A) AND
sip.123.com (login B)

rather than sip.abc.com (login A & login B)?

Q2. Do you know any links where the SPA boxes get compared.

I would like to know the difference between the SPA2000 the 3102 & the PAP2T.

Which one is best?
dmainou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-01-2008, 04:10 PM   #6
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmainou View Post
Couple of extra questions:

by two registered providers you mean:

sip.abc.com (login A) AND
sip.123.com (login B)

rather than sip.abc.com (login A & login B)?

Q2. Do you know any links where the SPA boxes get compared.

I would like to know the difference between the SPA2000 the 3102 & the PAP2T.

Which one is best?

The PAP2, PAP2T (preferably the NA versions) are best for dual providers

But you may be able to avoid getting anither ATA altogether, which is the provider in question that blocks VoXalot (they may not be blocking MySipSwitch and PBXes, and they can be used to deliver calls to VoXalot indirectly)....
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-01-2008, 06:13 PM   #7
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmainou View Post
Couple of extra questions:

by two registered providers you mean:

sip.abc.com (login A) AND
sip.123.com (login B)

rather than sip.abc.com (login A & login B)?
Yes, on the PAP2, you get sip.abc.com AND sip.123.com (one of which can be Voxalot of course). Calls on either provider will ring the handset. You set which provider is the default for outgoing calls, and you can override this on a call-by-call basis by using a prefix code.
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2008, 01:38 AM   #8
dmainou
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 7
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
dmainou is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks a lot,

Final q's.

Does the Pap2T has a pstn fallback? or you just have to buy a separate handset.

Is there an ATA that can handle 2 registered & different sips and that has PSTN fallback at a reasonable price?

Finally Pap2T or SPA2xxx? what's the difference?

Thanks again
dmainou is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2008, 03:35 AM   #9
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

A little correction:

-The PAP2-NA has two lines, no PSTN fallback and can be flasshed with SPA-1001 firmware (in order to switch between lines on the PAP2 you'd have to switch the phone plug every time, or plug in a two-line phone....

-The PAP2T-NA is essentially the same, except it can probably not be flashed with SPA1001 firmware....

-The SPA1001 or a PAP2 flashed with SPA1001 firmware will let you use two providers for both incoming and outgoing from the same phone port (so no need for a two line phone and the like....) Just a heads up: A while back when I flashed my PAP2 with SPA1001 firmware, although everyhting seemed to work, there was a lot of extra noise during calls (not sure if this is just my case or more common though)...I am currently back to using it with the regular PAP2 firmware

-The SPA3102, can be registered with 1 incoming provider, multiple outgoing providers and has a PSTN fallback, along with PSTN-to-VoIP gateway functions which among others would let you access your VoIP remotely by calling your landline, and possibly your landline by calling your VoIP....

Hope that helps....do not forget that there is a very good chance this can be achieved without the need for a second provider line though depending on who is the provider in question
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2008, 11:43 PM   #10
boatman
Senior Member
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 365
Thanks: 17
Thanked 77 Times in 64 Posts
boatman is on a distinguished road
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmainou View Post
Could you please recommend me an ATA box capable of handling two different providers at the same time? e.g. voxalot and provider "B". It is very important that both providers are registered at the same time. It needs to be at the ATA level as provider "B" blocks Voxalot and is the only provider offering DID's in my home town. I am currently using Netcomm NB9W but I believe it is not capable of handling two different providers.
I use and recommend the SPA2102. I like it even more since a few days ago when I learned how to configure Yahoo Voice on one of it's two lines. Now I can use Yahoo Voice for outbound calls with excellent clarity for 1 cent/minute. See this link for details how to do that.

Using Yahoo! Voice as a normal VoIP service - dslreports.com
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free DID Numbers, Free Voip Calls, & more Voip Info amroe Voxalot General 54 01-13-2014 09:11 AM
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
five providers all 'failed'? PaulC Voxalot Support 12 07-29-2008 03:36 PM
Outgoing providers not functioning kurun Voxalot Support 3 11-12-2006 06:51 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.