Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-19-2007, 08:16 AM   #1
Cris77
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cris77 is on a distinguished road
Default Bad quality with Voxalot+IPKall

I have an IPKall account that redirect the call to voxalot.com.
When I receive the call the audio is not good. It's fragmented and it cut off sometimes. The caller has an quite bad reception.

When I call through Voxalot->Voipdiscount the connection is usually quite good.

What is the problem? And how do I solve it?

-Cris
Cris77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 08:49 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Sounds to me like you might be transcoding too many times.

i.e g711 <=> g729 <=>g711

This situation can occur if you are not setting the right codec values for the provider.

For best quality try to set it up to minimise transcoding.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 09:10 AM   #3
Cris77
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cris77 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the answer Martin,

IpKall gives you a standard landline phone number in the Washington district here in US for FREE.

The path is: Phone line -> IPKall -> Voxalot.com -> My phone

ipkall.com don't have a way configure the codec. At least I could not find it.
Since I can make calls without any problem (My phone->Voxalot.com->voipdiscount) I think the problem is not between Voxalot.com -> My phone. It should be between IPKall -> Voxalot.com

Any idea how to solve it?

-Cris
Cris77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 09:21 AM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris77 View Post
ipkall.com don't have a way configure the codec. At least I could not find it.
That's ok you don't need to change it at ipkall, you just need to make sure that the codecs you setup on the VoXaLot provider page are optimal.

Allow me to explain:

For example if ipkall supports ulaw, alaw and g729 and your phone only supported g729 and you were to put ulaw;alaw;g729 in the provider codec field, what you may find happen is:

ipkall <== ulaw ==> voxalot <== g729 ==> phone

This is the transcoding I speak of.

If however you changed your provider codec setting to just have g729, then one of these 2 pass-through scenarios are likely to happen:

ipkall <== g729 ==> voxalot <== g729 ==> phone
ipkall <== g729 ==> phone

i.e. no transcoding.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 10:03 AM   #5
Cris77
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cris77 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi Martin,
Thank you for explaining it.

My phone has these codecs in this order:
G729a
G711ulaw
G711alaw
G729
G723.1

However I don't know how to find about IPKall.
It is NOT in my Provider list.

IPKall can be configure using these options:
SIP Phone Number: XXXXXX
SIP Proxy: us.voxalot.com
Email Address: my@email.me
Password: 0000
Voice Mail on/off X Seconds to Voice Mail: 20

I had also another problem: if I didn't answer the phone the IPKall voice mail went on instead of the Voxalot one. I changed the secon to VoiceMail... this should solve this problem.

- Cris
Cris77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 10:33 AM   #6
Cris77
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cris77 is on a distinguished road
Default

I found this http://forum.voxilla.com/ipkall-user...29a-15456.html

They support G729a

But I am not sure what happens when IPKall pass the call to Voxalot.
It seems that depends on the coded exported by voxalot and the order of them.

Cris
Cris77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 10:39 AM   #7
david
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
david is on a distinguished road
Default

For what it's worth, the last time I checked IPKall will support G729a, but only if it's the only codec on your ATA or phone's list of supported codecs. Otherwise it will choose a different codec like G711u (even if your preferred codec is G729a). I think IPKall will support some other codecs as well, but I'm not sure of the complete list.
david is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 10:43 AM   #8
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Ok so ipkall points to your VoXaLot account and is not registered as a provider.

This is quite different then. Essentially in this scenario VoXaLot will pass it through without transcoding.

The only thing I can think off therefore is a problem with the upstream provider. Have you tried ipkall directly (without VoXaLot in the mix) to determine quality?
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 10:52 AM   #9
Cris77
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cris77 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
Ok so ipkall points to your VoXaLot account and is not registered as a provider.

This is quite different then. Essentially in this scenario VoXaLot will pass it through without transcoding.
So If I enable only G729a codec on my phone should it work fine ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
The only thing I can think off therefore is a problem with the upstream provider. Have you tried ipkall directly (without VoXaLot in the mix) to determine quality?
No, I didn't. However if I don't put Voxalot I need another service. I cannot direct ipKall directly to my phone.

Any good idea about that?

-Cris
Cris77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 07:43 PM   #10
ctylor
 
ctylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 296
Thanks: 94
Thanked 53 Times in 27 Posts
ctylor will become famous soon enough
Default

IPKall on some of its phone numbers is very bad quality. I've used the service before and the number I got assigned and started to publish ended up having all the problems you are describing, cut-off words, random noises. Beyond being generally unuseable by cutting out words every 20 seconds, it sometimes started garbling everything for a minute at a time.

It is possible deleting your current IPKall number and requesting a new one will solve the issue, though it wouldn't surprise me if it didn't.

I think they support u-law and G729, so toggling the preferred codec in your SIP device might help but that is hard to see as well in my case, where my uplink bandwidth vastly exceeds the requirements for multiple simultaneous u-law calls so there was no reason to go with G729a other than to see if it made IPKall behave better.

Ultimately I abandoned IPKall and got a number with FreeDigits ( http://www.freedigits.com/ ), which has zero quality problems and can be configured to forward to a SIP URI just like IPKall--so I just forward my number to my Voxalot account in the FreeDigits account portal.
ctylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
Call Quality and Voxalot shibukraj Voxalot Support 1 12-01-2006 03:39 AM
Best Quality - Sip Broker or VoXaLot? Mallycat Voxalot Support 10 06-08-2006 09:01 PM
DID pointing to Voxalot and Call Quality pmerrill Voxalot Support 9 05-23-2006 12:20 AM
Voxalot affect on Call Quality pmerrill Voxalot Support 0 05-12-2006 04:53 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.