Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-13-2006, 09:09 AM   #41
xcaliba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xcaliba is on a distinguished road
Default

Another request:

When you edit your dial plan you can change the priority dynamicly. EG: you want to change your dial plan so a new item is priority 2, everything 2 and dowm automaticly 'makes room' for your new priority 2 item.
xcaliba is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-13-2006, 09:26 AM   #42
Ron
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 447
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Ron will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcaliba
When you edit your dial plan you can change the priority dynamicly. EG: you want to change your dial plan so a new item is priority 2, everything 2 and dowm automaticly 'makes room' for your new priority 2 item.
The ability to reorganize and move entries around has been discussed and is planned for a future enhancement.

Ron
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-13-2006, 10:50 AM   #43
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

That takes me back to learning BASIC [beginners all purpose symbolic instruction code] on a Tandy TRS-80 microcomputer...

I've found that dial plan numbering can cover a huge range, so the trick is to have gaps built-in; the old BASIC code:
10 PRINT "HELLO WORLD"
20 GOTO 10

....
15 PRINT "- HAVE A GREAT DAY!"

New code:
10 ...
15 ...
20 ...

So, if you leave gaps, then you can always add entries between them.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-13-2006, 11:51 AM   #44
xcaliba
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
xcaliba is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by affinity
That takes me back to learning BASIC [beginners all purpose symbolic instruction code] on a Tandy TRS-80 microcomputer...

I've found that dial plan numbering can cover a huge range, so the trick is to have gaps built-in; the old BASIC code:
10 PRINT "HELLO WORLD"
20 GOTO 10

....
15 PRINT "- HAVE A GREAT DAY!"

New code:
10 ...
15 ...
20 ...

So, if you leave gaps, then you can always add entries between them.
Simple ideas are often so easy
Solves my problem completely. Thanks.
xcaliba is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-13-2006, 12:00 PM   #45
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

A better option would be to have no numbering, like QBASIC today.... and have a facility to move the rules up/down as required.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-13-2006, 03:43 PM   #46
alfredwesterveld
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
alfredwesterveld is on a distinguished road
Default

I can't get Voipbuster to work. I can't receive incoming calls even when i enable checkbox register.

Grtz,
Alfred Westerveld
alfredwesterveld is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2006, 12:46 PM   #47
hisybr
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
hisybr is on a distinguished road
Default Block "dual registration"

Hi,

Have just set up and still getting some kinks worked out. Took a while to figure everything out. The concepts are all quite elegantly simple in a way, but like many 'simple' paradigm shifts, they are a bit mind boggling. Great work guys!

I am reasonably tech saavy, as is my father, who turned me on to VOIP. We've been running with SipPhone for about a year, making lots of calls to the US mostly. My dad has been going even longer, first with Vonage and later SipPhone and now GizmoProject. The tutorials seem to be reasonably well written, but it was still hard for the two of us to work things out. If the concept is to cater to techies, may be OK, but if there is an intention to spread to the masses, something probably needs to be done to simplify the website documentation -- an "idiot's guide" version...

Seem to have my system running OK, except AstraTel giving me intermittent problems. Could be them; new service. Sometimes get "cannot dial that number messages". Today my wife got disconnected repeatedly after a few minutes of a call. As it works sometimes and not others, I assume my settings are OK and it is on their end. Going to do more tests this weekend with my dad. Haven't been able to get web call to work with AstraTel so far. Both lines ring, but no sound either way. Will try other providers this weekend.

Suggestion: Would be good to publish a list of VMP that are compatible with VoXaLot (maybe a bit of promotion of them, a links page, would encourage them to seek compatibility).

My "dual registration" title comes from my dad's experience. He wasn't getting any calls after setting up. I changed my ATA to voxalot.com.au, but he was reluctant to change settings. I finally figured out what he had done. He listed all of his providers on VoXaLot and set them to Sip registered. So, he had one of his numbers registered through both VoXaLot and his ATA. Hadn't set up any forwarding. VoXaLot was intercepting his calls, but couldn't pass them on (got VoXaLot voicemail).

Suggestion: VoXaLot should look to see if a provider is registered elsewhere and should warn user before saving settings or advise by email if dual registration is detected.

Sorry for the long-windedness. The whole concept you've established is absolutely brilliant!

Brian
hisybr is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2006, 02:13 AM   #48
reader
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 23
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
reader is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hisybr
something probably needs to be done to simplify the website documentation -- an "idiot's guide" version...
I have to thank the writer of the following page -
http://voip.wikispaces.com/VoXaLot
Combined with the voxalot tutorial page it is well on the way to being an idiots guide. It enabled this idiot to get up and running!
reader is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-17-2006, 12:17 AM   #49
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BJReplay
If I change my registration to voxalot.com.au (and my voice mail server to $USER@voxalot.com.au - but of course this isn't necessary to test this - rather this is required for MWI & VWMI if calls ever got through to VM in the first place), then after 12 seconds, the phones connected to the FXS port (Line 1) stop ringing for a moment, but start ringing again.
Hi BJ,

What happens if you register with voxalot.com.au and point your voicemail server to voxalot.com?

FYI, all voicemail is handled by voxalot.com even if you are registered with voxalot.com.au
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-17-2006, 12:29 AM   #50
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

@reader,

Are you still having the registration / calling problems you mentioned in this thread?
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DID's forwarded to Voxalot --> issues shibukraj Voxalot Support 0 04-28-2007 09:01 PM
[EU Server] Dial Plan & ATA Issues Lanh Voxalot Support 8 02-17-2007 07:25 AM
Voxalot --> Voxalot calls are not getting completed? Any issues shibukraj Voxalot Support 2 01-09-2007 04:16 AM
Provider Registration Issues - Always says "Request Sent" shibukraj Voxalot Support 4 01-03-2007 11:07 AM
one-way voice issues tompoe Voxalot Support 7 09-04-2006 08:28 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.