Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-04-2007, 02:33 AM   #1
voip2007
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
voip2007 is on a distinguished road
Default help

at this moment, I can't call out throught voxalot. Does anybody know what's going on?

Last edited by voip2007; 09-04-2007 at 03:19 AM.
voip2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 03:22 AM   #2
voip2007
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
voip2007 is on a distinguished road
Default

Service came back now. I feel voxalot is not that stable.

Last edited by voip2007; 09-04-2007 at 03:30 AM.
voip2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 03:59 AM   #3
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voip2007 View Post
Service came back now. I feel voxalot is not that stable.
US proxy #1 had a temporary interruption. This is the first in many months. We apologise for the inconvenience.
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 04:04 AM   #4
flaquadrat
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 91
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
flaquadrat is on a distinguished road
Default Server status

Hallo Martin!

"Nice to have": on Voxalot Start page, "Server Status Block" with infos:
server name: up/down, planed outage

EDIT:
outage count last month, outage count last year


Regards,
Fla

Last edited by flaquadrat; 09-04-2007 at 04:07 AM.
flaquadrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 04:24 AM   #5
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flaquadrat View Post
outage count last month, outage count last year
You might want to take a look at an external monitoring service. Voxalot has 99.95% uptime recorded since 2006-09-27

VoIP Monitoring Statistics | Oz VoIP Status VoIP Monitoring

We can't guarantee 100% uptime but 99.95% over 12 months is not too bad. If a server or cluster goes down, you can always point your device at another cluster i.e. AU EU US etc

As funds allow, we plan to add more servers to each of these clusters which will subsequently improve this statistic.
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 04:59 AM   #6
flaquadrat
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 91
Thanks: 29
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
flaquadrat is on a distinguished road
Default

Thank You very much Martin!

Yes, external services are good.

Many ISP and VSP have on their Home Page short info about Server(s) status, and this is very easy to use. When I have some problems with my connection, I usualy
1) check home page from my ISP (Server status and planed outages are visible)
2) check Voxalot forum (Maybe some user have same problem - usualy not: answer is "All is working here")
3) tracert eu.voxalot.com
EDIT:
4) reboot my SIP device

But this happens 1-2 times/year and until now all was my error.
Naturaly I don't use Voxalot 24h x 7days.
This are the point for the "Server status" Info on Your home page.

Regards,
Fla

Last edited by flaquadrat; 09-04-2007 at 05:08 AM.
flaquadrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 05:43 PM   #7
voip2007
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
voip2007 is on a distinguished road
Default

hi, martin. I'd like to ask you a question. Sometimes the people call me , but my telephone doesn't ring. What kind of the reason causes it?
voip2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 09:40 PM   #8
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voip2007 View Post
hi, martin. I'd like to ask you a question. Sometimes the people call me , but my telephone doesn't ring. What kind of the reason causes it?
This is usually a NAT related issue on the ATA side. You see, if your ATA is behind a firewall and registers with Voxalot a certain port is opened by your firewall.

Now depending on how long your device takes between registrations, sometimes your firewall will close this port and subsequently, when an inbound call comes in, Voxalot tries to send the call to this port.

If this is occurring, you need to look at things like Registration expiration, STUN, NAT keep alives and at the extreme case port forwarding options.

Alot of people immediately point the finger at Voxalot, however as I pointed out it is usually a problem on the ATA side.
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 02:41 AM   #9
voip2007
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 64
Thanks: 14
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
voip2007 is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi, Martin. I have 2 connections, They are Dsl and Cable. I am using Linksys RT31P2. I don't have firewall in my computer. But it happened often in both connections. Do you have other suggestion to improve it? What could be other causes to this problem?

Last edited by voip2007; 09-05-2007 at 02:46 AM.
voip2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 03:02 AM   #10
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

The firewall / NAT handling will be in your modem and/or router.

What devices / ATA are you using?
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.