Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-18-2007, 06:35 PM   #1
mimecine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mimecine is on a distinguished road
Default no ringing tones

I got a curious problem that I don't know how to fix:

If I don't have an extension logged in to the account, the caller
hears no 'ringing' tone.

I.e. if my Nokia e61 is off or not within WiFI , a caller to my swedish
did hears nothing for 30 seconds, then my voicemail prompt, but if
my phone is on, they do hear ringing before I answer or they end up with voicemail.

Is there anything I can do to fix this? Is this an issue with my swedish
vsp (affinity telecom (really rixport80.com)) or is it something voxalot
can fix (or I for that matter!)

Thankful for any pointers in any direction -- don't even know what to search
for yet.

My account is 885522 should you need that...
mimecine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2007, 07:02 PM   #2
clundestad
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 43
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
clundestad is on a distinguished road
Default

I have had the same problem with my Nokia E70, but I believe it's because when you move out of WLAN coverage, your phone's registration is still valid and Voxalot will try to get in touch with it for 30 seconds before giving up and sending the call to voicemail. When the registration has timed out after 30 minutes or so, calls will be sent straight to voicemail.

Perhaps Martin can confirm that this is the case.

I have solved this by having my ATA on and registered at home at all times. This way I avoid getting the effect you describe. Instead my home phone will always ring and the caller will not get the "silent treatment". Of course, if my E70 is on and registered through a WLAN, it will also ring and I can answer the call there.
clundestad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2007, 07:23 PM   #3
majo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 115
Thanks: 32
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
majo is on a distinguished road
Default Registration timeout!!!!!!!!

May be in provider configuration page there should be registration timeout. So server should send requests & unregister if client does not repond, so server knows that client is active or dead...


Regards.

majo
majo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2007, 06:35 PM   #4
mimecine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mimecine is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clundestad View Post
I have solved this by having my ATA on and registered at home at all times. This way I avoid getting the effect you describe. Instead my home phone will always ring and the caller will not get the "silent treatment". Of course, if my E70 is on and registered through a WLAN, it will also ring and I can answer the call there.
I have to dig out my ATA and try that, but it seems like it would take care of it. It would of course be nice to be able to set a timeout from voxalot's interface or even fake a ringtone while looking, but it might be hard to do.

UPDATE: I did set up the ATA, but now no calls goes through it seems. No ringer anywhere...

Last edited by mimecine; 06-19-2007 at 09:20 PM.
mimecine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2007, 10:11 PM   #5
mimecine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mimecine is on a distinguished road
Default merde

Damn, now no calls go through it seems I shut down my ATA and powercycled my Nokia E61 (and have waited a long time) but whenever I call a number I have to wait 30 seconds of silencio and then voicemail. Bummer. Does voxalot have some sort of status-page where one could see what registered clients and providers there are / who's active etc...?

UPDATE: now it works again. I wish I had more control over this, it kind of makes me uneasy having to wait for registrations timing out etc. I guess that's one of the big drawbacks with voip in it's current state...

Last edited by mimecine; 06-19-2007 at 10:40 PM.
mimecine is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2007, 12:20 AM   #6
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mimecine View Post
UPDATE: now it works again. I wish I had more control over this, it kind of makes me uneasy having to wait for registrations timing out etc. I guess that's one of the big drawbacks with voip in it's current state...
The Providers page shows the registration status of a provider, usually with a few minutes delay.
The registration expiration duration is not shown, however Voxalot renews registration every 3600s as default.

It has been posted here that you can force a new registration attempt by toggling SIP register to No and back to Yes.

Typically, you can easily tell if a SIP device (ATA, Phone, or softphone) is registered by checking the IP phone screen, logging in to the status page on the device, absence of dial tone, or other information on the softphone.

Some VSPs do post the registered device and IP address, but in general I have not seen this as a problem with wired or mobile devices I have used.
I have not used a Nokia E61.

Last edited by kurun; 06-21-2007 at 04:58 PM. Reason: To add quote from replied to posting for clarity
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-21-2007, 02:22 PM   #7
mimecine
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
mimecine is on a distinguished road
Default

I think the problem is not whether or not the providers are registered, but whether the clients (or maybe they should be called extensions) are.
mimecine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot options with dial tones wycodreams Voxalot Support 0 04-10-2007 07:57 PM
Incoming calls cut off during ringing filmnet Voxalot Support 2 03-15-2007 07:00 PM
in-bound calls either drop or do not stop ringing rybshik Voxalot Support 3 02-25-2007 10:51 AM
Weird ringing tone problem pmerrill Voxalot Support 1 06-01-2006 04:15 AM
No ringing tone pmerrill Voxalot Support 4 05-28-2006 06:43 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.