Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-13-2007, 06:13 PM   #1
flroots
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
flroots is on a distinguished road
Default Accessing Voxalot voicemail

I'm a newbie. I can't get the *500 to work for accessing Voxalot voicemail. The *600 does get me the echo test so it would seem that my ATA is setup OK. Is there something I'm missing? I've already got several providers registered with Voxalot and able to make outgoing calls and receiving incoming calls through my DID provider.
flroots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2007, 09:11 PM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

When you enter *500 in the test field on the dial plan list page what does it report?
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2007, 10:32 PM   #3
flroots
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
flroots is on a distinguished road
Default

Hello Martin:
It shows:
"A call to:*500 will get forwarded to sip:500@us.voxalot.com"
flroots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2007, 11:13 PM   #4
flroots
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
flroots is on a distinguished road
Default

Upon further testing I discovered that 500 without the * does work. Also when I test 500 in the Dial Plan I get:
A call to:500 will not get forwarded.

which seems strange.

Last edited by flroots; 02-14-2007 at 10:07 AM.
flroots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2007, 02:05 AM   #5
flroots
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
flroots is on a distinguished road
Default

Problem solved. There is a setup parameter in my Grandstream HT-496 called 'Enable Call Features' and it must be set to 'No'. Now both 500 and *500 work. The manual states: "If set to yes, Call Forwarding & Do-Not-Disturb are supported locally"
flroots is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2007, 02:26 PM   #6
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default Voicemail access using *500 on HT-496

Thanks for that. I have noticed the same problem, and could not find a solution.
I usually listen to the VM on an IP phone which does not have this problem.

I checked the Manual and *50 is the code for Disable call waiting.

The ATA reacts to this immediately without any timeout for further entries or requiring an enter action (#). So then it takes the last part "0#" as a separate entry.

Is it possible for Voxalot to create an access code for Voicemail that does not conflict with the feature list? I believe that there is some standardization in these *xx feature codes, though I have not done too much searching lately.

Thanks
Paul
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
HowTo: Accessing VoXaLot From A Regular Phone martin Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's 51 12-18-2009 07:13 AM
Suggestion: Quick Access to Voicemail via SipBroker richard Voxalot Support 0 05-05-2007 02:05 PM
SPA 3000 configuration for Voxalot Voicemail? MrHatken Voxalot Support 2 11-12-2006 07:21 AM
HowTo: Accessing VoXaLot voicemail from PSTN martin Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's 0 03-23-2006 11:56 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.