Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-02-2007, 03:25 PM   #1
loraolo
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
loraolo is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Speed Dial URI failure

First of all let me say Hi to everyone since I'm new to this forum.

I've configured SjPhone 1.65.377a to register to my voxalot account and it works fine as expected.

I set a speed dial <URI> to call SIP users via their URIs - the syntax used, as voxalot tutorial & FAQ show, was 'sip:<user>@sip.voipstunt.com'. As I'm entering the speed dial code from SjPhone application a '401 Unathorized' message appears, but if I type the extended URI it perfectly works.

Is there anyone experienced the same problem?
Thanks
Paolo
loraolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-31-2007, 02:09 PM   #2
130166
Senior Member
 
130166's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Katwijk, The Netherlands
Posts: 133
Thanks: 57
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
130166 is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, with some VSP. But other it works.
Maybe a solution is a dialplanrule.
130166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-31-2007, 02:25 PM   #3
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

As John suggests some providers do not allow open inbounds (which is what routing via a SIP URI is).

Do as John suggests and route via the number/provider combination i.e.

Number = <user>
Provider = voipstunt
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-31-2007, 08:38 PM   #4
loraolo
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
loraolo is on a distinguished road
Default

Fine, it works.

Let me say that I cannot understand why and what is the difference between dial plan and speed dial but it works.

Thanks again
Paolo
loraolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-31-2007, 08:58 PM   #5
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loraolo View Post
Fine, it works.

Let me say that I cannot understand why and what is the difference between dial plan and speed dial but it works.

Thanks again
Paolo
Dial Plans in VoXalot:

Located under the Smart Call section are a bunch of rules that choose which provider handles which call.

Eg. 5xx. : all numbers starting with 5, and 3 digits long or more will be handled by a specific provider.

Dial Plans in your Device:

Your Device/Software also has a dial plan configuration, but it is set up in terms of what sort of dialing formats it'll allow (rather than picking specific providers for each like VoXalot does)

Speed Dial:

It's just that, a list of numbers and/or SIP URIs that are tagged with a short sequence.

When VoXalot sees this sequence, it dials the attached number instead (but the way the call is routed it controlled by VoXalot's dial plan).

Also before the short sequence gets to VoXalot, it must pass through your device's dial plan. So if your device doesn't allow the format **xxx for example to be put through, your speed dial **303 will never even get to voxalot for dialing
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-01-2007, 08:14 AM   #6
loraolo
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
loraolo is on a distinguished road
Default

Emoci let me summarize what you mean. The root cause of 'unauthorized' message I get is due basically to the fact that: dial plans routes the call to the specified provider as per directly connection to that provider (that means that the provider sees that call as directly originated from it) while speed dial leaves the call handling to the voxalot engine.

Thanks for your explanation
Paolo
loraolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 01:42 PM   #7
misky12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
misky12 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
As John suggests some providers do not allow open inbounds (which is what routing via a SIP URI is).

Do as John suggests and route via the number/provider combination i.e.

Number = <user>
Provider = voipstunt
.
Hi, this is my first post and, yes, this is a question

I see how to enter the "Provider" but, how do I enter the "Number" in the dialplan?
misky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 02:34 PM   #8
130166
Senior Member
 
130166's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Katwijk, The Netherlands
Posts: 133
Thanks: 57
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
130166 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misky12 View Post
I see how to enter the "Provider" but, how do I enter the "Number" in the dialplan?
In the replacementfield you can enter number/username.
130166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 02:48 PM   #9
misky12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
misky12 is on a distinguished road
Default


Last edited by misky12; 12-04-2007 at 02:52 PM.
misky12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 04:55 PM   #10
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Two things to try:

1.Use the test call field, type 81, and see how VoXalot is treating this call (it should tell you somehting along the lines: A call to 81 will be routed to....)

2. One quick way, is to set this up as a speed dial instead. Assign a speed dial number, where it says number to call enter the username as above, and choose the provider to handle the call...

Then all you have to do is dial **SpeedDial
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems accessing Voxalot Speed Dial Jay Voxalot Support 10 11-26-2007 09:08 AM
key dial but no speed dial samjesse Voxalot Support 4 07-22-2007 06:20 PM
dial plan for ** won't get you speed dial d85551 Voxalot Support 0 11-30-2006 12:00 PM
* in ata = speed dial muzzza Voxalot Support 11 08-27-2006 09:36 PM
Speed dial - Something wrong Vegetus Voxalot Support 14 08-03-2006 02:35 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.