Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-16-2007, 11:37 PM   #1
herman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
herman is on a distinguished road
Default voip.co.uk registration problems

voip.co.uk appear to have had a few problems with their servers this week. However a few people on the uk.telecom NG concurred with my experience (on one sip account) that re-booting my ATA does the job. This is certainly what they have advised.

With Voxalot of course "re-booting the ATA" is a bit harder, and despite cycling the sip registration status in the provider set-up, the accounts I use through Voxalot are stubbornly refusing to register.

Anybody have any other ideas? I know there was some unexpected outage of Voxalot sip servers but I am not aware this should still be an issue...

Any ideas anyone???
herman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-17-2007, 12:46 AM   #2
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Your best bet for a full reset is to remove voip.co.uk completely, wait 1-2 hours, then re-add it.

That should be enough time to clear the registration on the VoXalot server.

Hopefully that'll do the trick....
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-17-2007, 07:35 AM   #3
herman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
herman is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for the tip. I began to realise yesterday that it is not picking up changes for about half an hour or so.

Anyway, I did try to wait for an extended period. I noticed that if you changed the SIP registration to No, it would go to "pending" in the registration status. I waited till this disappeared and set the SIP registration back to Yes. I am still not registered.

I guess I need to speak to voip.co.uk to get them to look at it from their end, as I don't believe cycling SIP registration is doing the trick. Any ideas though from anybody why it works OK on an ATA now but not Voxalot?
herman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-17-2007, 08:55 AM   #4
herman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
herman is on a distinguished road
Default

Response back from voip.co.uk:

It sounds like Voxalot don't check their DNS records very often.
You should connect only to proxy.voip.co.uk and not registrar.voip.co.uk or
proxy.sov.voip.co.uk.

p.s. (edit): proxy.sov.voip.co.uk was a server recommended in uk.telecom newsgroup which seemed to solve the issue with Voxalot, but is not their recommended solution as you can see.

Last edited by herman; 11-17-2007 at 08:59 AM.
herman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-17-2007, 09:09 AM   #5
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by herman View Post
Response back from voip.co.uk:

It sounds like Voxalot don't check their DNS
Voxalot checks the DNS records as dictated by the expires time set by the domain owner. In other words, it stays in the DNS cache for as long as they tell us it should before being refreshed.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-22-2007, 10:05 PM   #6
Lanh
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 71
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Times in 1 Posts
Lanh is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm having the same problem, works for a short while and then fails for some reason.
Lanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-2007, 09:25 AM   #7
ptruman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 94
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ptruman is on a distinguished road
Default

See my thread, "VSP problem", for this.

They have switched infrastructure over the weekend, and were (for some reason) mostly rejecting anything now not using DNS SRV, and referring anyone back to their ATA manufacturer for SRV support.

I CAN ring the 121 answerphone, but can't connect anything else. Voxalot does not show me registered.

VoIP.co.uk :: Platform Status shows an update on the possible problems, but it's bl**dy annoying as it's my only VSP which does all my PSTN routing (yes I can drop back to POTS but it's a PITA!)

I am now (this morning) showing "Online/SBC" with Proxy/SRV on the voip.co.uk status page - but my Voxalot page just shows "-" for the registration status.

I'm at work, so can't test the thing easily until later.

Last edited by ptruman; 11-23-2007 at 09:30 AM.
ptruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2007, 08:07 AM   #8
herman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Swindon, UK
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
herman is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok DNS problem has gone but still having problems with registration. Although these problems appear to be the same with all their customers, they are saying that most of the time it is due to buggy clients not being able to handle SRV correctly.

Is there any chance someone from Voxalot could look at some of these registration issues. It doesn't help that a lot of the time, Voxalot does not believe the account has registered, whereas the voip.co.uk status page is saying it is...

All help greatfully appreciated.

BTW thanks for looking at the call forwarding via Beta max issue. It was trying to test this that made me realise the accounts were unregistered again!
herman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2007, 08:56 AM   #9
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Please see:

http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...r-problem.html
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-03-2007, 10:16 PM   #10
ptruman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 94
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ptruman is on a distinguished road
Default

I've been on vacation for a week, and it's still dead.
Have just tried to disable/enable the VSP acct to see what happens.

121 (their voicemail) DOES connect, but asks me for my mailbox number, (which implies no registration?) but outgoing calls fail - does Voxalot not pass creds along with each outgoing call? (which should work regardless of registration - which should only be needed for incoming calls?)
ptruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with a registration Service Provider (Telsome). Rmgi Voxalot Support 7 11-12-2007 02:42 PM
Registration problems on EU servers ricardojpereira Voxalot Support 1 09-28-2007 08:51 AM
Problems with Registration with Voxalot cristojc Voxalot Support 2 11-12-2006 07:13 PM
Registration problems paulg0 Voxalot Support 3 10-10-2006 10:13 AM
Problems with sipgate.de registration clundestad Voxalot Support 3 09-04-2006 06:42 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.