Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > ENUM.164 > e164.org Support

e164.org Support Support forum for the e164.org ENUM directory

 
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-23-2006, 04:01 PM   #1
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default Adding Australian 1300 numbers?

How do I add my Australian 1300 number to e164.org ?

Area codes used:
  • 13
  • 1300
  • blank (as in nothing entered)

The first two options _seem_ to be okay, but no call comes through and the 3rd option 'thinks' there is an alphabetic character in the number, so it won't try to schedule a call.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-25-2006, 11:37 AM   #2
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

This could be a bit hit and miss at present as we don't have any australian providers that are handling calls correctly at present...
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-25-2006, 02:55 PM   #3
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Right now, my 1300 number terminates on a fixed line number. However, the fixed line number may not be available to me at some stage in the future. Now here's the curly bit -- no-one else will ever be able to have this number. And even I will lose it unless I can get a permanent fixed diversion working [at cost]. So if the number becomes 'delisted' as such, then any calls to verify it will fail even though nobody will have this number at that time.

Just in case the above is as clear as mud:

- Orange [Hutchison Telecoms] had local and mobile numbers with CDMA services, it was marketed as a home line replacement product.

- Orange, now branded as Three is closing down the CDMA network. The best offer I have from them is that I can keep diversion of my local number ONLY if I choose to use their 3G network.

- I am trying to get Telstra to port the 'fixed line' number so that I can stop using Hutchisons completely and I will port the mobile number to a provider of my own choosing once this is done.

Further to this, if I can have an ENUM record for my 1300 number, then it will lessen the need for the fixed line number. But idealy I would like to have ENUM records for both numbers and for the fixed line number to never expire even if it becomes inoperable in the normal PSTN environment.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-26-2006, 02:13 AM   #4
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by affinity
Further to this, if I can have an ENUM record for my 1300 number, then it will lessen the need for the fixed line number. But idealy I would like to have ENUM records for both numbers and for the fixed line number to never expire even if it becomes inoperable in the normal PSTN environment.
This won't be possible to not expire numbers, due to number turn over we're likely to implement number re-verification to pre-emptively take care of problems caused by people registering numbers and then someone else being allocated the number.

As for your situation, I highly doubt the 1300 number will go into limbo, it should be pretty straight forward to port the 1300 number to a different carrier or even a voip carrier and that would remove the need for a geographical number.
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-26-2006, 03:22 AM   #5
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Yes, the 1300 number itselfe is safe but many people know the fixed line number and some prefer to use it.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-26-2006, 12:54 PM   #6
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by affinity
Yes, the 1300 number itselfe is safe but many people know the fixed line number and some prefer to use it.
Since you own the number I thought it would be pretty trivial to have it ported...
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK Non-Geographical Numbers evilbunny e164.org Support 3 10-09-2007 02:45 AM
Change to adding numbers evilbunny e164.org Support 5 09-26-2007 11:26 AM
Australian PSTN to VoIP Gateway (1300 number) AlexErko Voxalot Support 7 05-10-2007 06:31 AM
New PSTN Access Numbers martin Voxalot Support 1 01-15-2007 07:48 AM
Australian 1300 Gateway martin Voxalot Support 0 07-10-2006 12:52 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.