Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (https://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (https://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   PSTN to Voip calls possible ?? (https://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=134)

anony 05-03-2006 04:03 AM

PSTN to Voip calls possible ??
 
Hi.

My scenario is A person in country X has no broadband, no VOIP and very high call rates to call from australia.

I am in Australia and have a VOIP with astratel/pennytel i use for 10c anywhere in australia untimed.

Can i somehow get the person in Country X to call me from his PSTN for 10c a minute ???

coz if we can gimme ur paypal account ;)

thanks

pmerrill 05-03-2006 04:44 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anony
Hi.

My scenario is A person in country X has no broadband, no VOIP and very high call rates to call from australia.

I am in Australia and have a VOIP with astratel/pennytel i use for 10c anywhere in australia untimed.

Can i somehow get the person in Country X to call me from his PSTN for 10c a minute ???

coz if we can gimme ur paypal account ;)

thanks

It's called www.SIPBROKER.com. He basically dials a local number in his country, then your sip number, together with your provider's number (visible from SIPBROKER) and you can pick up the call from your VoIP provider in Australia. All he pays for is a local call.

BJReplay 05-03-2006 04:47 AM

Easy (sort of).
 
You ring one of the australian sipbroker pstn access numbers (http://www.sipbroker.com/sipbroker/action/pstnNumbers), dial *269nnnnnn where nnnnnn is your astratel number, and bingo, your phone rings.

This assumes your ATA is registered to astratel.

If it's registered to pennytel, then it would be *234xxxxxx where xxxxxxx is your pennytel number.

If that works, then you tell your OS person to ring the nearest PSTN number from the access number list, and go.

It cost your OS person the cost of the call to the access number. It costs you nothing.

fozzie 05-03-2006 05:46 AM

Of course this all assumes that there is a PSTN dial in code for country x.

The OP didn't say where country x was.

@BJReplay - I think you missed the point. The OP said that the caller is in country x, NOT Australia and so he definitely doesn't want to be diallling an Australian PSTN access code; he might as well dial direct!

BJReplay 05-03-2006 05:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by fozzie
@BJReplay - I think you missed the point. The OP said that the caller is in country x, NOT Australia and so he definitely doesn't want to be diallling an Australian PSTN access code; he might as well dial direct!

@fozzie, you gotta read more carefully ;)

Instructions for the OP were for the OP to ring the australian access number - to verify that it works - and then to tell the OS mate to call the OS access number.

fozzie 05-03-2006 06:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BJReplay
@fozzie, you gotta read more carefully ;)

You're right of course - I shall :o

maxalot 05-03-2006 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by anony
Hi.
My scenario is A person in country X has no broadband, no VOIP and very high call rates to call from australia.

I assume that you mean that the cost of PSTN calls to Austrlia is expensive.
Quote:

Originally Posted by anony
Can i somehow get the person in Country X to call me from his PSTN for 10c a minute ???

You or your friend can setup an account with a VSP and then use webcallback.

With webcallback you don't need broadband or VoIP Hardware/Software you do need access to the net so that you can setup the call though.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.