Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (https://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (https://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Setting up Dial Plan - help needed (https://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=94)

Mallycat 04-16-2006 03:07 AM

Setting up Dial Plan - help needed
 
I am nearly there - I just need some pointers on getting dial plans to work.

I have added (<#1,:>[x*][x*].<:@gw1>) to the back of my SPA-3000 dial plan. When I dial #1 *011 xxx all works fine - great!

I know what <#1,:> does, but what does and <:@gw1> but what does [X*][X*] actually mean.
EDIT: OK, I now realise that this means either XX. or **. or X*. or *X. But wouldn't it make more sense to have [X*]X. as why would you ever need **. or X*.?

Can someone please explain how this portion works.

Now I want to leverage the power of ENUM for all my outbound calls. What I want to do is send all calls to VoXaLot and have VoXaLot route the non ENUM calls to Engin for me. So what I did was change the dial plan fragment above to this (XX.<:@gw1>) thinking that any number I dialled would be sent to Voxalot. Now I have 1 VSP set up with voxalot. I set up a dial plan in Voxalot like this _X. => Engin thinking that any number sent to Voxalot would be routed to Engin for me (after the ENUM checkup), but all I get now is the engaged signal.

Can someone point me in the right direction.:o

Matt

Ron 04-16-2006 07:03 AM

Matt,

<:@gw1> tells the SPA-3000 to use the Gateway1 provider for this term of the dial plan. Presumably, you have VoXaLot set up in this slot.

You do want to use "[x*][x*]." as the pattern match for VoXaLot so that you can pass arbitrary dial strings. For example, Speed Dial is "**x". I've seen examples of going through Sip Broker to dial toll free numbers in the Netherlands that required embedded asterisk's.

At moment, ENUM lookups through VoXaLot are only going to work if the number passed to VoXaLot is already formed in one of the standard international formats (011 + country code + number, for example). VoXaLot will shortly be enhanced to handle ENUM lookups (hopefully) more flexibly.

Ron

Nathanc 04-16-2006 07:22 AM

PAP2 Dial Plan
 
Hi All,

I've got a PAP2 not a SPA-3000 but this dial plan _may_ be useful. Also, as I don't have much experience with dial plans, if anyone can see any potential problems with it please let me know.

Note, I am in NSW, Australia.

L:20,S:7,( <0011:> xx . | <04:614>xxxxxxxx | <0:61>xxxxxxxxx | <:612>xxxxxxxx | #[x*]. | [x*][x*]. )

Are there any problems with this dial plan and ENUM lookups?

Thanks,
Nathan.

Mallycat 04-16-2006 08:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nathanc
Hi All,
L:20,S:7,( <0011:> xx . | <04:614>xxxxxxxx | <0:61>xxxxxxxxx | <:612>xxxxxxxx | #[x*]. | [x*][x*]. )

Are there any problems with this dial plan and ENUM lookups?

Thanks,
Nathan.

I assume that this dial plan always gets routed to either Voxalot or SIP broker.

<0011:> xx . this looks to me as if you strip the 0011 off of any 0011 number. Is this what you mean to do? I guess it makes sense because you want the country code followed by the area code and number - which is I guess what you want.

<04:614>xxxxxxxx Add Australian country code to any mobile number - OK.
<0:61>xxxxxxxxx replace the 0 with 61 for any STD number - OK.
<:612>xxxxxxxx prepend 612 to any local call (I assume you are in sydney) - ok

#[x*]. not sure what this does!

[x*][x*]. catch anything else and route it anyway.

Looks good to me!:)

Matt

Mallycat 04-16-2006 08:08 AM

So if I follow Nathanc here, this is what I would propose for a dial plan for my SPA-3000 to use SIP broker for ENUM.

(000S0<:@gw0>|<#9:>xx.<:@gw0>|1[38]00xxxxxxS0<:@gw0>|190xxxxxxx!|13xxxxS0<:@gw0>|<001 1:>xx.<:@sipbroker.com>|<04:614>xxxxxxxx<:@sipbrok er.com>|<0:61>xxxxxxxxx<:@sipbroker.com>|<:612>xxx xxxxx<:@sipbroker.com>|[x*][x*].<:@sipbroker.com>)

Any critiques?

I would like to use VoXaLot and have a gateway set up to route via VoXaLot. I don't know how to forward the calls to my VSP using a voxalot dial plan if the ENUM fails. Any suggestions?

Matt

Jorge 04-16-2006 08:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ron
At moment, ENUM lookups through VoXaLot are only going to work if the number passed to VoXaLot is already formed in one of the standard international formats (011 + country code + number, for example). VoXaLot will shortly be enhanced to handle ENUM lookups (hopefully) more flexibly.

Ron

Could this be in the FAQ? I have just changed all my dialling plans in my PAP2 to remove the leading 00 before country codes and then add it back in a Voxalot plan. This made all Voxalot numbers (which conveniently don't start with 0) to be wrongly routed to an outbound provider. Then I had to make an ugly Voxalot dial plan to fix that. I guess putting back the 00 will not affect the lookup?

martin 04-16-2006 08:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jorge
I guess putting back the 00 will not affect the lookup?

VoXaLot / SIP Broker ENUM lookups handle all international dialling prefixes:

00
011
0011

etc

You can pass these to VoXaLot and it will strip them out automatically before doing the lookup.

Nathanc 04-16-2006 09:01 AM

Hi Matt,

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mallycat
So if I follow Nathanc here, this is what I would propose for a dial plan for my SPA-3000 to use SIP broker for ENUM.

You don't need to use sipbroker directly in the dial plan, voxalot will transparently handle ENUM lookups. Just send all the numbers to voxalot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mallycat
I don't know how to forward the calls to my VSP using a voxalot dial plan if the ENUM fails. Any suggestions?

Because you are sending all numbers to voxalot, you can use the voxalot dial plans to send numbers to any of your providers.

The first thing you need to do is to add providers. Login to voxalot and click on the "Providers" menu; then click "Add" and enter the details of engin, etc.

The second thing is to then click the "Dial Plans" menu. Add a dial plan that uses your chosen provider. The Tutorials step through the process: http://www.voxalot.com/action/static...lay&itemOID=24

I use Pennytel for mobile calls, so the dial plan looks like:
Pattern: _61[4]xxxxxxxx
Replacement: ${EXTEN}
Provider: Pennytel

Thats what I have done and it works fine for me; now whenever I dial a number ENUM is checked and if no record exists the call is placed through the provider.

Thats my basic understanding, please correct me if I'm wrong, hope it helps.

Cheers,
Nathan.

Nathanc 04-16-2006 09:11 AM

Hi Matt,

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mallycat
I assume that this dial plan always gets routed to either Voxalot or SIP broker.

My PAP2 is registered to voxalot, so all numbers are sent to voxalot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mallycat
<0011:> xx . this looks to me as if you strip the 0011 off of any 0011 number. Is this what you mean to do? I guess it makes sense because you want the country code followed by the area code and number - which is I guess what you want.

This is just if I dial an international number, yes, the 0011 is dropped.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mallycat
#[x*]. not sure what this does!

This is so I can send numbers to specific providers. For example, in the voxalot dial plan I catch all numbers starting with "#1" and send them to astratel. The "#1" is dropped before it is sent to astratel.

I'm still learning, but this works well, any better solutions?

Cheers,
Nathan.

Mallycat 04-16-2006 09:20 AM

We are all new at this! If you have got it doing everything you want, then you are doing well.

Matt


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.