Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (https://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (https://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Phone Registers but cannot get voice test (https://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=4592)

gisvpn 12-03-2009 12:00 PM

Phone Registers but cannot get voice test
 
Hello,

I have configured my phone to Voxalot, however it registers fine but I cannot get a response from *600 or my voicemail on *500 - any ideas? all the relevant ports are open and it shows that my phone is registered on voxalot.

:)

Thanks,

GISVPN

mohnashaat 12-03-2009 05:41 PM

what about making and receiving calls?

carlosalbffgomes 12-03-2009 07:20 PM

Stun server properly configured?
Regards,

kurun 12-05-2009 12:27 AM

Try 500 or 600 for Voicemail / Echo test.
Voxalot supports both.

Your phone may be using *50 or *60 for internal features, or possibly has a conflicting dial plan for these numbers.

boatman 12-05-2009 08:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gisvpn (Post 25957)
I have configured my phone to Voxalot, however it registers fine but I cannot get a response from *600 or my voicemail on *500 - any ideas?

What brand/model is your phone? If it has a setting for "Outbound Proxy" be sure to use the same thing as you've got in "Proxy". Use "Symmetric NAT Handling" in your Voxalot account settings.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.