Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (https://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (https://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   what am i doing wrong ;-) (https://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=2714)

pruik 01-07-2008 09:34 PM

what am i doing wrong ;-)
 
Since a couple of hours I'm unable to use any VSP other than FWD. I've reduced my dial plan to a single line in order to troubleshoot, without succes :(

Inbound calls are running fine to 605405@voxalot.com, does someone has a hint or tip what could be wrong here?

VSP's not working;
-budgetphone.nl
-voipcheap.com

Last thing I've changed in the Voxalot config is upgrading to a premium account and adjusting the profile setting to eu.voxalot.com from us.voxalot.com.

pruik 01-07-2008 10:16 PM

Hmmmm this is quite funny, I've solved the puzzle it seems.

The number I was calling in order to test had an incorrect enum entry... :D

emoci 01-08-2008 03:12 AM

Good to hear you solved your issue....

Just a heads up for anyone getting started with dial plans: It's a good idea disabling ENum lookup and making sure all your Dial Plans are running properly first, then enable ENum as needed....

If you must have ENum enabled, and are having a problem, the Dial Plan test tool helps. A dead giveaway of an ENum issue is if the number you've tested comes up as being dialed but not via the provider it should envoke....


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.