Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-09-2009, 03:44 PM   #1
engineerdan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
engineerdan is on a distinguished road
Default Registered to Europe - Not US

I'm just getting started with Voxalot so this is likely a configuration error on my end. However, I'm puzzled that my Peer Status (shown under "sip show peers" in Asterisk, pasted below) shows that I'm connected to the Europe server when the Voxalot status page shows the U.S. server to be up.

Name/username Host Dyn Nat ACL Port Status
voxalot/999999 85.17.19.194 N 5060 OK (110 ms)

Am I doing something wrong?

~ Dan
engineerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2009, 03:26 AM   #2
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Hmm,

1. The service status page is manually updated (so it is not in real time).

2. Due to some issues recently, SRV failover was implemented: http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...lemention.html

I suspect one of two things happening:
-Asterisk doing an improper SRV lookup and using the third entry for us.voxalot.com
-There was actually some downtime on the US server and the system correctly failed over...

At this time (or whenever you read this):
-What does your system report
-What does this report http://voxalot.com/action/deviceRegistrations (need to be logged into the web account)
-Do they match?
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2009, 02:56 PM   #3
engineerdan
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
engineerdan is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emoci View Post
At this time (or whenever you read this):
-What does your system report
-What does this report http://voxalot.com/action/deviceRegistrations -Do they match?
emoci,

Thank you for your prompt reply and insight.

My system, now and yesterday evening, now reports a connection to the US server. This perfectly matches the Voxalot Device Registration status.

I had presumed the SRV failover had been implemented but was surprised that I didn't see discussion of an outage in this forum. I suppose that's proof that the failover is truly seamless!

Cordially,

~ Dan
engineerdan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many adapter registered with one voxalot account shezad Voxalot Support 3 11-30-2008 02:41 AM
Cannot receive calls through registered providers roman1 Voxalot Support 4 11-04-2008 09:16 PM
Only 1 of 2 registered contacts receiving the call green Voxalot Support 0 09-14-2008 11:43 AM
keeping my ATA registered with FWD? isolve Voxalot Support 3 10-27-2006 10:27 PM
Not Registered for one week - Voxalot SIP Settings for VOIP Providers cristojc Voxalot Support 2 09-17-2006 07:00 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.