Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-24-2007, 09:29 PM   #1
madmans
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
madmans is on a distinguished road
Default caller ID question - in reverse

Martin,
I have seen others requesting that it would be useful to inhibit CID, I have found that when I call out - through voxalot to a voipdiscount - my number is never displayed. The line number is specified in both my Grandstream devices and I have verified that "anonymous" mode is not selected. I wonder if the voipdiscount/sipdiscount system normally passes this through or not, has anyone else have reported this ?

Mike.
madmans is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-25-2007, 11:25 AM   #2
bpere
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 21
Thanks: 9
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
bpere is on a distinguished road
Default

I am using voipdiscount, however I noticed it does not pass on CID in any circumstance (although I have "verified" my mobile number, for which they charged me €0.05), whether the calls goes through voxalot or directly from the PC application I downloaded from their website. Obviously there are limits to what one can expect from such a cheap service!
bpere is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-25-2007, 02:49 PM   #3
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default Voipdiscount CID

It appears that CID is only passed on if calling from the Windows client, or if sending SMS from the client.

The option must be selected from the Menu Tools/Options/CallerID
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-25-2007, 03:28 PM   #4
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurun View Post
It appears that CID is only passed on if calling from the Windows client, or if sending SMS from the client.

The option must be selected from the Menu Tools/Options/CallerID
My experience differs. My CID is always sent by Voipdiscount through my SPA-3102, whether directly through a gateway or via VoXaLot. It's only the default CID that they provide though. I would ask bpere how to get them to validate a CID, but I'm scared I'd lose it completely!

ataboy
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-26-2007, 03:50 AM   #5
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default Caller ID sent out with Voipdiscount, etc.

Perhaps you are referring to the Voip-In number supplied by Voipdiscount in certain countries?

Where I am (Canada), Betamax does not give out a call-in number, hence the only number I can use is a verified (via SMS code) mobile number. They do not support verification of regular numbers yet.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-26-2007, 12:11 PM   #6
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Yes, that's it. I didn't realise that it isn't available everywhere. I must see if I can verify a mobile number though.

ataboy
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caller ID at Voxalot amroe Voxalot Support 8 09-13-2007 04:58 PM
question about calling ID jephone Voxalot Support 7 05-31-2007 03:02 PM
Caller ID no longer working on VPAD ATA Kars Voxalot Support 5 02-02-2007 09:21 PM
Caller can hear me clearly, but I cannot hear the caller jptg5Y Voxalot Support 0 01-21-2007 11:52 PM
Any one knows why my caller id is always "blah" yuzyin Voxalot Support 1 07-09-2006 11:41 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.