Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 11-26-2006, 05:43 PM   #1
patwa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
patwa is on a distinguished road
Default Forwarding calls receiving through Voip1 DID through VoIP2

Hello.

Apologies if this is a ridiculously simple question, but have done some browsing and not found anything conclusive.

I have a voipcheap account with an inbound number attached. I want to forward calls received from that number to another number (my mobile number) using my 2nd voip account (babble.net).

I've got both accounts configured on the Providers tab, but now am not sure how to craft the dial plan to do this. would I be right in assuming it's a combination of number matching and call forwarding? Except in this case, instead of matching a dialled pattern, I'd need to match all calls received from voipcheap, and forward them all through babble.

Any help on this is much appreciated.

Thanks.

Hussein.
patwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2006, 04:59 AM   #2
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default Call forwarding

I believe that I saw a previous message stating that call forwarding can only be done to a URI in the format sip:xxxxxxxx@provider.xxx
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2006, 05:48 AM   #3
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurun View Post
I believe that I saw a previous message stating that call forwarding can only be done to a URI in the format sip:xxxxxxxx@provider.xxx
For now this is correct. The new call forwarding feature will however allow forwarding via providers / dial plan, time of day etc.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2006, 06:48 PM   #4
patwa
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
patwa is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi. Thanks for your reply. Do I understand you correctly then that I cannot at the present time forward all calls arriving via one voip provider out through another one?

I'm sorry, but then what would be the point of having an account here? I don't mean this in a bad way, but I thought being able to have DIDs local to different places, and being able to divert these over low cost VoIP providers was something that was possible. I'm just not sure how to do it.

Please forgive me and correct me if I'm wrong.

Thanks.

Hussein.
patwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2006, 01:55 AM   #5
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by patwa View Post
I have a voipcheap account with an inbound number attached. I want to forward calls received from that number to another number (my mobile number) using my 2nd voip account (babble.net).
But surely you can forward Voipcheap straight to the mobile, or does Babble have a cheaper tariff (not for UK numbers)


edit - UK mobiles - Voipcheap € 6c + vat, Babble 10p

Last edited by andy; 12-01-2006 at 06:50 PM.
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2006, 08:21 PM   #6
ygeffens
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ygeffens is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
For now this is correct. The new call forwarding feature will however allow forwarding via providers / dial plan, time of day etc.
For now?
Have I missed something? :-)
ygeffens is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2006, 05:09 AM   #7
441516
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: W.Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Posts: 128
Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
441516 is on a distinguished road
Default oh come on!!!!

Just tell us who else is providing services like voxalot? None. They are developing it to make it better and better.Furthermore not all sip/voip providers fecilitate forwarding. So please give voxalot encouragement and make your feature requests.
441516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2006, 12:01 PM   #8
v164
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 96
Thanks: 8
Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
v164 is a jewel in the roughv164 is a jewel in the rough
Default fowarding via providers

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
...
The new call forwarding feature will however allow forwarding via providers...
I'm hoping that this may be a workaround to the "lr=on" problem that prevents me from receiving calls from Voxalot / SipBroker, as described here:
http://forum.voxalot.com/showthread.php?t=53&page=2

At the moment, the only way I've been able to get an incoming call to work from Voxalot / SipBroker is by registering my ATA as a "provider" in my Voxalot setup (entering my ATA's IP address, and a dummy username and password).
http://www.voxalot.com/action/providerList
v164 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-03-2007, 02:26 PM   #9
v164
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 96
Thanks: 8
Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
v164 is a jewel in the roughv164 is a jewel in the rough
Default lr=on problem workaround

Quote:
Originally Posted by v164 View Post
I'm hoping that this may be a workaround to the "lr=on" problem that prevents me from receiving calls from Voxalot / SipBroker, as described here:
http://forum.voxalot.com/showthread.php?t=53&page=2

At the moment, the only way I've been able to get an incoming call to work from Voxalot / SipBroker is by registering my ATA as a "provider" in my Voxalot setup (entering my ATA's IP address, and a dummy username and password).
http://www.voxalot.com/action/providerList
I've confirmed that this workaround works.

At e164.org, my PSTN numbers are mapped to my VoXaLot SIP URI

6xxxxx@au.voxalot.com

and in Voxalot, I've got all calls forwarded, via my "provider" to 050xxxxxxxx. My "provider", of course, is just my ATA (ie in the provider details page, I've put my public IP address in as the host, and entered a dummy username and password (my ATA doesn't ask for them).

The calls get through OK, but the media stream is being proxied by Voxalot. Similar to web callback, it looks like Voxalot is implementing call forwarding via providers as a "back to back user agent" arrangement.

On the plus side, that gives me automatic transcoding if necessary (my ATA only does G711 u-law), however on the minus side, it causes the voice traffic to transit voxalot which may increase latency.
v164 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems receiving calls with Eutelia jonny5k Voxalot Support 8 01-06-2009 07:36 AM
Forwarding out-bound calls to Voxalot and then dialing a VoIP provider rybshik Voxalot Support 1 02-22-2007 09:46 PM
Not receiving calls for freedigits. salilgokhale Voxalot Support 2 10-24-2006 10:51 PM
Nor receiving incoming calls Sharps1 Voxalot Support 1 10-16-2006 12:38 PM
Forwarding calls to Privider registred with Voxalot manula Voxalot Support 2 07-06-2006 03:34 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.