Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-26-2008, 11:57 PM   #1
richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Thanks: 37
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
richard is on a distinguished road
Default Dial Plan with * not working as expected

Hi Martin

I am trying to create a dial-plan that accepts a user dialed number beginning with an (*) asterisk and have Voxalot replace the dialed number with a new number but its not working.

Here is what I did:

Pattern : _*98
Replacement : *500${EXTEN:-3}
Provider : Voxalot

Unfortunately the "Test" always comes back as:

"A call to:*98 will get forwarded to *98 via SIP Broker"

It is always going to Sip Broker rather than Voxalot, thus not going to Voxalot Voicemail as intended.

If I remove the * in the Pattern, the call is properly directed to Voxalot.

What I am trying to do is have the user enter * codes (Bell Codes, for accessing Voicemail, etc.) that they are use to and have it work as it would on their regular PSTN phone.

Any idea why the system keeps sending this number to SipBroker instead of Voxalot as requested?

Thanks in advance


Richard
richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-27-2008, 02:29 PM   #2
ptruman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 94
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ptruman is on a distinguished road
Default

Why not do this on your ATA? Set it up to check for * numbers, and then remove the * (or add another string) and have Voxalot handle the string?

i.e. *100 translated by the ATA to 100 which then (with Voxalot) can be translated to *500
ptruman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ptruman For This Useful Post:
richard (05-30-2008)
Unread 05-27-2008, 10:33 PM   #3
TBhimdi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
TBhimdi is on a distinguished road
Default

I was in a similar situation, Voxalot would always forward * numbers to SIP Broker. In the end I just ended up using # instead of *.
TBhimdi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TBhimdi For This Useful Post:
richard (05-30-2008)
Unread 05-27-2008, 10:37 PM   #4
richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Thanks: 37
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
richard is on a distinguished road
Default

The question is whether or not this is a bug or a desirable and expected behaviour. Would the Voxalot team consider fixing it or would there be issues in doing so?

Martin?
richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2008, 09:29 PM   #5
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard View Post
The question is whether or not this is a bug or a desirable and expected behaviour. Would the Voxalot team consider fixing it or would there be issues in doing so?

Martin?
This is not a bug, all calls with *xxx are sent via SipBroker by default...

The main reason here is that it preserves the common SipCode dialing via SipBroker by having a built in Dial Plan that takes priority over all others...it allows users to create an account and start calling SipBroker destinations automatically-no configuration required-(it also ensures that calls to *600 and *500 are routed without any prior configuration)

However using # rather than * should work--- you will however have to edit your ATA dial plan to something like [x*#][x*]. ---
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emoci For This Useful Post:
richard (05-30-2008)
Unread 05-30-2008, 03:11 AM   #6
richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Thanks: 37
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
richard is on a distinguished road
Default

hmmm, thanks guys. I understand the logic and I will try the # ATA solution, but how come *500 gets directed to Voxalot instead of SipBroker?

A call to:*500 will get forwarded to 500 via Voxalot

Thanks

Richard

Last edited by richard; 05-30-2008 at 03:34 AM.
richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-30-2008, 03:37 AM   #7
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard View Post
hmmm, thanks guys. I understand the logic and I will try the # ATA solution, but how come *500 gets directed to Voxalot instead of SipBroker?

A call to:*500 will get forwarded to 500 via Voxalot

Thanks

Richard
*500 is VoiceMail access, it's been hardcoded
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-30-2008, 03:42 AM   #8
richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 153
Thanks: 37
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
richard is on a distinguished road
Default

I know, its an exception to the rule ;-)

I`m good with dialplans on my SPA, but on eyebeam is trickier. I`ll try to construct on for both my SPA and eyeBeam using the #.

Take care

Richard
richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-30-2008, 05:29 PM   #9
TBhimdi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
TBhimdi is on a distinguished road
Default

Ironically, *500 goes to voicemail, but the SipBroker equivalent *010500 doesn't go to voicemail. Or at least I couldn't get voicemail to show up, had to dial a SipBroker PSTN number and then *010500.

Tried it so that I could access my Voxalot voicemail using my family's Voxalot account, oh well.
TBhimdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-30-2008, 07:28 PM   #10
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spooon69 View Post
Ironically, *500 goes to voicemail, but the SipBroker equivalent *010500 doesn't go to voicemail. Or at least I couldn't get voicemail to show up, had to dial a SipBroker PSTN number and then *010500.

Tried it so that I could access my Voxalot voicemail using my family's Voxalot account, oh well.
*010500 will go to voicemail and request account number if calling in from a Sipbroker PSTN access number or other non-Voxalot VoIP provider.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dial plan not working rajtp Voxalot Support 2 01-29-2008 09:34 PM
Dial plan and various problems 800793 Voxalot Support 6 11-19-2007 01:05 PM
Dial plan not working povlhp Voxalot Support 4 05-27-2007 08:42 PM
dial plan help please muzzza Voxalot Support 0 09-01-2006 11:38 AM
Dial Plan not working wmp Voxalot Support 3 04-15-2006 07:04 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.