Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > ENUM.164 > e164.org Support

e164.org Support Support forum for the e164.org ENUM directory

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-13-2008, 07:57 AM   #1
heatray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heatray is on a distinguished road
Default Billion Enum Sipbroker lookup to pennytel.

OK. I have a Open824RLW device which is like a Billion 7402VGP ( I beleive) and so I've been following some Billion Doco...

I've managed to get Sipbroker dialing working..... I've setup a user defined VSP that points to sipbroker.com. I then use a prefix dial plan #9 to direct all calls to Sipbroker, and remove the#9 prefix, then pre-pend "*" and dial the sipbroker. So managed to get the echo test and the Monkey using #9xxxxxx.

I then tried to do the *013 prefix, but have no valid enum's to call other than my own. When I call my numbers and should get the ENUM referal, I see in the OPEN Event console the call coming back to my device, but there is no connection and just silence.... any ideas for testing this?

I then tried to do a *013 lookup for a normal number dialed as 089265xxxx (non enum) and either got an engaged sound or dialing 6189265xxxx received a "This number is invalid or incomplete." vocal message on the phone....

With the lookup there was lots of console activity relating to the numbers going out to sipbroker, and then back to my phonenumber@ipaddress.com.

So I am wondering if the call being returned from ENUM can be re-passed though a dialplan to format if for pennytel calling, which expects an 08 prefix for my local Perth calls. Or can I direct non-international numbers to ENUM

Can we set a Location for our enum query so that if there is no intl prefix, it knows country and maybe state automatically?

Anyone have any ideas?

HEATH
heatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2008, 12:12 AM   #2
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

I already replied to you about this:

Is anyone using ENUM these days? - Voice over IP - Whirlpool Broadband Forums
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to evilbunny For This Useful Post:
heatray (06-16-2008)
Unread 06-16-2008, 02:26 AM   #3
heatray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heatray is on a distinguished road
Default closer but still not there...

Hi. Found that I've now managed to get the sipbroker working. So with the *011 and my sip number I can connect. and using the echo test I've got two ways comms.

Then by dialing *013 I've got the enum lookup working, but only for a match. a non match gets a vocal message saying that number not found. So its close but not close enough to send all calls via enum.

I found the CLI console enum process within the 7402, and tested that and it works. a show tells me it's enabled, but I don't see it working if I dial my local number.

I found a thread that said you guys (Sipbroker/E164/Voxalot) helped with this when billion put out there new firmware 5.06 to support Enum. Does anyone know what the switch is to turn this on? I am guessing that its under the covers of the CLI as I can't find it anywhere in the WEB interface.

And the Billion logs are a bit much without doco to really tell what the modem's doing...

Heath
heatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2008, 07:17 AM   #4
heatray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heatray is on a distinguished road
Default anyone?

Anyone have any ideas? Billion to Sipbroker/Enum for non matched numbers? Someone musta found this one before?

What did you do? http://forum.voxalot.com/images/smilies/confused.gif
heatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-18-2008, 07:28 AM   #5
heatray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heatray is on a distinguished road
Default Ideas?

There must be someone who's managed this before...

Sipbroker Enum calls for from a Billion. 7402vgp...

They are not that uncommon. IP dialing works ok, for both call forward and call out. And I have them working. So what is happening to my returned Non-match ENUM calls?http://forum.voxalot.com/images/icons/icon5.gif
Question

Heath
heatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2008, 12:50 AM   #6
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

You doomed yourself by the thread title, this isn't so much a pennytel issue as a device handling the fail over, if you want a simple solution there is voxalot, alternatively if you have an old PC lying about you could always setup your own asterisk server there is a number of cd installers that handle everything for you such as PBX in a Flash. Lastly the final option would be something like a WRT54G loaded with OpenWRT and then load asterisk on it, although this isn't for the faint of heart but I'm sure someone would have put up a step by step how to somewhere on it.
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to evilbunny For This Useful Post:
heatray (06-19-2008)
Unread 06-19-2008, 04:44 AM   #7
heatray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heatray is on a distinguished road
Default another option?

I have a PSTN failover option "Enable when receive specific SIP codes" under advanced settings. What would be the SIP code returned by SIPBroker for the failed ENUM lookup?

If this is something specific, then I can code fallback for this code only. Then I just need to determine if I can pass this to my voip dialplan for calling via Pennytel? As I have no specific PSTN dial plan, but have catered for it in my VOIP dial plan.

If I can I want to not reply of having a P.C. running to make any calls. VOXALOT could be an option..

Is it a costing service, as I'm already paying for two VSP's... No, Three..

Can it allow me to rank VSP's and have VSP fallback? Say if VSP1 fails, direct calls via VSP2?

Cheers HEATH
heatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2008, 07:31 PM   #8
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heatray View Post
I have a PSTN failover option "Enable when receive specific SIP codes" under advanced settings. What would be the SIP code returned by SIPBroker for the failed ENUM lookup?
I assume it would be a 3xx message, meaning it's not a fail but you are being sent a temporary redirect instead back to pennytel or what not.

Quote:
Is it a costing service, as I'm already paying for two VSP's... No, Three..

Can it allow me to rank VSP's and have VSP fallback? Say if VSP1 fails, direct calls via VSP2?
It varies depending on what you want features wise, from free to some annual amount per year. Voxalot - Services
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2008, 02:18 AM   #9
heatray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Perth
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
heatray is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilbunny View Post
I assume it would be a 3xx message, meaning it's not a fail but you are being sent a temporary redirect instead back to pennytel or what not.[/url]
Is there any way to tell which 3xx codes, so that I can cater for this in my failover rules? It's not obvious looking at the Billion Console log.

Quote:
It varies depending on what you want features wise, from free to some annual amount per year. Voxalot - Services
I'd want to be able to specify my two main VSP's, with the ENUM usage. Is it possible to only use Voxalot for outbound calls and have the same VSP's registered to my device, to have the extra hops for inbound calls?

Thanks for your time.

HEATH
heatray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2008, 04:03 AM   #10
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heatray View Post
Is there any way to tell which 3xx codes, so that I can cater for this in my failover rules? It's not obvious looking at the Billion Console log.
If in doubt packet dump, well it works for me

failing that...

Quote:
I'd want to be able to specify my two main VSP's, with the ENUM usage. Is it possible to only use Voxalot for outbound calls and have the same VSP's registered to my device, to have the extra hops for inbound calls?
I think so, sign up for the free account and try it, other then time what do you have to loose?
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENUM (e164.org) SIPBroker access carlosalbffgomes SIP Broker Support 1 06-19-2008 11:11 AM
enum lookup on sipbroker is confusing vikasintl e164.org Support 5 05-13-2008 07:49 AM
ENUM for sipbroker PSTN gateways... affinity Voxalot Support 3 07-28-2007 10:32 PM
Does enum lookup have failover kheaver Voxalot Support 1 12-26-2006 05:40 AM
Possible ENUM Lookup Problem melbournelees Voxalot Support 7 04-11-2006 08:21 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.