Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-09-2008, 07:05 PM   #1
patwolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
patwolf is on a distinguished road
Default Calling through PSTN via SIP Broker PSTN access numbers & voxalot

Hi,

I would like to call a PSTN in another country from my mobile phone.

To make it cheaper I would like to:
* dial a local SIP Broker PSTN access numbers
* give the voxalot extension
* type in the number I want to call in the other country
* let voxalot set up the call based on my call planes
* talk with the person on the other end

So it's similar to this just the added step of actually calling somebody:
HowTo: Accessing Voxalot From A Regular Phone - Voxalot FAQ

Any ideas of how to make this work?

Thanks a lot,
Patrick
patwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-09-2008, 07:16 PM   #2
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

Check this Placing VoIP Calls from any Old Regular PSTN Phone

All credits are going to emoci

Last edited by green; 02-09-2008 at 07:23 PM.
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-10-2008, 02:28 AM   #3
patwolf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
patwolf is on a distinguished road
Default

That's an excellent guide.

Thank you very much,
Patrick
patwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2008, 01:43 PM   #4
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default

I believe that pbxes is not compatible with the Betamax VoIp providers at the moment.

Is this still true if pbxes and Voxalot are used as in that article, with a Betamax provider defined in the Voxalot dialplan?


edit correction - I've read that pbxes does now work with Betamax, but the fair use policy arises

so whatever I've done needs a bit more attention ...
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2008, 02:25 PM   #5
amroe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Holy Land
Posts: 125
Thanks: 12
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
amroe is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to amroe Send a message via AIM to amroe Send a message via MSN to amroe Send a message via Yahoo to amroe Send a message via Skype™ to amroe
Default

I hope Voxalot , make it for Us .
amroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2008, 01:13 PM   #6
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andy View Post
I believe that pbxes is not compatible with the Betamax VoIp providers at the moment.

Is this still true if pbxes and Voxalot are used as in that article, with a Betamax provider defined in the Voxalot dialplan?


edit correction - I've read that pbxes does now work with Betamax, but the fair use policy arises

so whatever I've done needs a bit more attention ...
It really depends on which BetaMax provider you are using, how many others are using the same, sometimes it seems like it is just luck..... I have yet to have an issue using InternetCalls either directly via PBXes or via VoXalot through PBXes.....

But I do remember hearing about one or two complaints with VoIPStunt and VoipBuster

The forums at PBXes have been relatively quiet lately regarding Betamax issues (but then anyone with a free acct can't post on those forums anyway)
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emoci For This Useful Post:
andy (02-18-2008)
Unread 02-17-2008, 07:23 PM   #7
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default

Thanks. I spent a bit of time on this the other day, after recommending it to a friend to look at, and saying I must get around to it myself.

I've got access to pbxes past the PIN to the dialtone, but need to check through some settings as the outgoing calls don't work yet
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-17-2008, 07:50 PM   #8
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andy View Post
Thanks. I spent a bit of time on this the other day, after recommending it to a friend to look at, and saying I must get around to it myself.

I've got access to pbxes past the PIN to the dialtone, but need to check through some settings as the outgoing calls don't work yet
It's likely an issue with the DIAL PLAN.... Since I wrote the guide their interface has been updated a bit.....

So, if you are just using your Main VoXalot acct as an outgoing trunk, under outbound routing, select the 'Valid for all numbers' option....

Otherwise to use the DIAL plan suggestions in the guide, you need to enter them in the last field 'Custom Dial Patterns'......from there you may notice that upon saving it will adjust them on its own to the appropriate box

Also use the 'Call Monitor' feature to see what's happening when you place a call so you can troubleshoot from there
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to emoci For This Useful Post:
andy (02-18-2008)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free DID Numbers, Free Voip Calls, & more Voip Info amroe Voxalot General 54 01-13-2014 09:11 AM
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
PSTN Access numbers and my DTMF yfm SIP Broker Support 5 12-09-2007 06:51 PM
my voxalot number through pstn access numbers? vikasintl SIP Broker Support 1 07-18-2007 01:24 PM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.