Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-27-2006, 02:38 AM   #1
amatory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
amatory is on a distinguished road
Default Voxalot Problem - No Outgoing, No registration on Provider

Martin,

My id is: 774987

Suddenly my Provider on Voxalot seems to have stopped working. I am unable to make any outgoing calls. The Provider also doesnt register.

When I put the same settings in Eyebeam, I am successfully able to register and make calls, but for some reason Voxalot is not able to register/make outgoing calls with the same settings.

Would you be able to provide me with debug logs for my registration/outgoing calls ?

Thanks,
Regards,
Amatory
amatory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-27-2006, 04:40 AM   #2
amatory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
amatory is on a distinguished road
Default DNS Lookup for Dynamic Host is failing

Ok I found out that if I put the physical IP of the provider then the call goes through. However, if I put in a dynamic dns hostname, the call fails. It seems the server is not able to resolve the hostname or there is some other error (incorrect record, unexpired TTL etc)

Martin - I will really appreciate if you could provide some insight on this.

Regards,
Amatory
amatory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2006, 09:03 PM   #3
cyberbird
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cyberbird is on a distinguished road
Default

My id: 425145
Hi, I added two providers, freeworld dialup and another. Even after 5 hours i do not see the status change. Still says "Not Registered". I tried calling my sip broker number (*011-133206), but the call is not geting forward to the uri i added in call forward section. I am getting an busy tone.

Any ideas?

Thanks
cyberbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-29-2006, 11:03 PM   #4
Ron
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 447
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Ron will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbird View Post
My id: 425145
Hi, I added two providers, freeworld dialup and another. Even after 5 hours i do not see the status change. Still says "Not Registered". I tried calling my sip broker number (*011-133206), but the call is not geting forward to the uri i added in call forward section. I am getting an busy tone.

Any ideas?

Thanks
At the moment, provider registration changes may take up to 24 hours to take effect. In the near future, it should only take 5 minutes.

Ron
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2006, 12:51 AM   #5
amatory
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
amatory is on a distinguished road
Default

Ron - Is there a difference in using an IP for provider registration vs using a dns name ?

I am able to register and make outgoing calls using an IP, but not using the dns name. I have checked that the dns entry is pointing to the right IP and my eyebeam successfully connects using the dns name.

any thoughts ?
My id is: 774987
amatory is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2006, 04:30 AM   #6
ctylor
 
ctylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 296
Thanks: 94
Thanked 53 Times in 27 Posts
ctylor will become famous soon enough
Default

I know there is the matter of the DNS SRV records vs. DNS A records you should look into. I heard one solution to your problem would be to register a SIP Broker account and create an alias in SIP Broker to point to your Dynamic DNS, which apparently cures the problem.
ctylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2006, 05:25 AM   #7
Ron
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 447
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Ron will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amatory View Post
Ron - Is there a difference in using an IP for provider registration vs using a dns name ?

I am able to register and make outgoing calls using an IP, but not using the dns name. I have checked that the dns entry is pointing to the right IP and my eyebeam successfully connects using the dns name.
There shouldn't be any difference using a host name or the IP address associated with it. If an IP address works but its host name doesn't, it would appear there is a problem with the DNS server the lookup is being done through. You might give Martin the host name and IP that should be assoicated with it and have him verify that the DNS server VoXaLot uses is returning the correct information.

Ron
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2006, 02:30 PM   #8
cyberbird
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cyberbird is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron View Post
At the moment, provider registration changes may take up to 24 hours to take effect. In the near future, it should only take 5 minutes.

Ron
I wonder why it takes that long,it should be a simple registeration process, would you please like to give some more info?

Thanks
cyberbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-30-2006, 10:16 PM   #9
Ron
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 447
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Ron will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberbird View Post
I wonder why it takes that long,it should be a simple registeration process, would you please like to give some more info?
A new server should be operational shortly that will allow registration changes to take effect within 5 minutes.

Ron
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2006, 04:24 PM   #10
cyberbird
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
cyberbird is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks for reply Ron,

Could you please let us know once that server is operational?
cyberbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
Strange Problem with Voxalot Registration APS Voxalot Support 0 05-04-2007 04:46 AM
VoXaLot Registration Problem Mallycat Voxalot Support 3 01-27-2007 05:48 AM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.