Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-02-2009, 04:52 AM   #1
Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Steve is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Engaged signal outbound, inbound ok

Hi,

I've finally configured a 3102 with voxalot and a couple of VSP. IT iniitially worked ok inbound and outbound etc. dial plans etc.

I had to change the password for one of the VSP, now I only get an engaged signal, when I dial a phone number.

I've deleted the VSP account recreated from scratch to be sure, but with no luck

Inbound calls from each VSP work ok. x 3

Outbound tests
*600 echo test is ok
600 echo test is ok
*393612 test ok, get date and time etc.
393612 engaged signal
*010810320 get VM and can leave message
*500 to pick up VM message is ok

*010 engaged signal

Checked the dial plans they all work when tested as they should.

I could not find anything on the forum or web that could help.

Any help would be appreaciated.

Cheers
Steve

Last edited by Steve; 03-02-2009 at 05:53 AM.
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-2009, 05:56 AM   #2
ladude626
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
ladude626 is on a distinguished road
Default

I had the same problem a few weeks ago. I only solution I found was making a backup of the dialplan (using Export) and manually delete all my dialplan and providers. After that, I manually re-added all my providers and reimported my dialplan. Make sure to test each provider one at a time to make sure they all work.
ladude626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-2009, 08:08 AM   #3
Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Steve is on a distinguished road
Default

I tried deleting the VSP and dial plan entries, I logout for 20 min, and logged back in and started from scratch. I now get 2 of my VSP's registration process saying failed and the other one as pending
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-2009, 09:15 AM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
I tried deleting the VSP and dial plan entries, I logout for 20 min, and logged back in and started from scratch. I now get 2 of my VSP's registration process saying failed and the other one as pending
Please PM me your account number
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-2009, 09:19 AM   #5
Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Steve is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
Please PM me your account number
810320

Even thought the registration is saying failed, the inbound calls to the VSP numbers still manage to ring through vox to the ATA !

I've tested the 2 accounts that failed, from a softphone and they register ok.

Cheers Steve

Last edited by Steve; 03-02-2009 at 09:29 AM.
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-02-2009, 11:30 AM   #6
Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Steve is on a distinguished road
Default

I've fixed the failed registration problem. the 2 accounts that failed, worked if they have the sip domain in the login ie. 123456@sip.xxx.com

I deleted all VSP and dial plan entries, and entered just the engin one too start and test.

For some reason the phone numbers of the 2 other VSP's that are not registered get through, along with the engine account. But I get and engaged signal if I dial out

600 and
*600 work though
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
X-Lite V3 issue - No Outbound voice on Inbound Call LeonB Voxalot Support 1 01-20-2009 03:31 AM
no outbound calls and inbound not reachable 681208 Voxalot Support 6 06-04-2008 02:09 PM
Need person calling in to hear engaged signal when i'm on the phone Murphanth Voxalot Support 4 04-09-2008 05:58 PM
Using Voxalot for outbound Voipdiscount and Inbound SipGate ajumani Voxalot Support 1 12-28-2006 01:58 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.