Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-01-2006, 12:30 AM   #1
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default Filters on numbers?

I use callback on Voxalot, and I'm wondering about a couple of calls that didn't connect.

Do numbers have to be entered in international format, or can they be as if locally to the provider?

I tried calling an Irish 1800 number via Blueface as the second leg of the call. I'd previously tried the number with X-lite and Blueface, so I know it connects, but this time, not even the first leg of the call rang, maybe because of this or a different reason?
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2006, 03:29 AM   #2
ctylor
 
ctylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 296
Thanks: 94
Thanked 53 Times in 27 Posts
ctylor will become famous soon enough
Default

You need to enter the number exactly as the provider itself you are using for the number would expect to see it sent to them.

So for instance, when you call via SipBroker, you'd enter something like this:
*393613 (and that would be the equivalent of 'calling' by SIP URI sip:*393613@sipbroker.com)

When via Voxalot, you'd enter:
123456 (and that would be the equivalent of 'calling' by SIP URI sip:123456@voxalot.com)

When via Gizmo Project as the provider to a North American toll free, you'd dial:
18005558355 (and that would be the equivalent of 'calling' by SIP URI sip:18005558355@proxy01.sipphone.com using your username/password credentials - the same number could be dialed by sip:*74718005558355@sipbroker.com or *74718005558355 via SipBroker in the webcallback)
ctylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2006, 03:36 AM   #3
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Also Irish 1800 numbers may be conflicting with U.S ENUM numbers. Try entering the 1800 number you are trying to call here:

http://www.sipbroker.com/sipbroker/action/enumLookup
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2006, 12:11 PM   #4
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default

Thanks both

I dialled it as 1800820820 via Blueface first on X-lite then via Voxalot web callback

After the search I'm more confused. The number is a PSTN callthrough access from the Finarea cheap calls operation 13434.ie and the result is
Quote:
e164.arpa.(3ms) ---Not Found---
e164.org.(3ms) sip:800820820@public.sip.magrathea.net
e164.info.(155ms) sip:800820820@public.sip.magrathea.net
e164.televolution.net.(95ms) ---Not Found---
enum.org.(3ms) ---Not Found---
Magrathea is a UK company that supplies behind the scenes facilities to lots of phone companies - wholesale termination, numbering for many UK VoIP providers etc. I don't know if they operate in USA ...

Other Finarea PSTN access numbers are not ENUM enabled, and I wouldn't really expect them to be. And what is the point of adding a freephone number anyway? Does this mean I could use Sipbroker to connect instead though (that's if it's actually the same destination)?

Oh well - 13434 have told me only Irish payment details can be used anyway, and I also haven't found out yet whether Blueface would send them a caller ID if I subscribe and get one ...

My underlying plot is to get roaming mobile to foreign mobile calls for 13 eurocents a minute (via 2 callthroughs). As I can reach UK mobiles for this or 8c and landlines from 6c or 2c maybe that's enough for now

Last edited by andy; 12-01-2006 at 12:20 PM.
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2006, 11:36 PM   #5
evilbunny
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 14 Times in 10 Posts
evilbunny is on a distinguished road
Default

+1800 numbers should have 7 digits following (US numbers), if you are trying to call an Australian 1800 number you need to add a dial plan to cope with only 6 digits following, or you need to dial 611800 <number>
evilbunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2006, 02:24 PM   #6
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default

Well after trying a couple of other things, it seems maybe that wasn't the problem after all. It was the first half of the call that wasn't working, to a DID diverted to Voipcheap; this rings when dialled from pstn but not from Babble or Blueface either direct or via Voxalot callback.

Presumably this is about Voipcheap only accepting some incoming peering calls. Using a different first number I think the Irish 1800 is being reached.

Last edited by andy; 12-02-2006 at 02:31 PM.
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UK Non-Geographical Numbers evilbunny e164.org Support 3 10-09-2007 02:45 AM
what service offer free access numbers? wycodreams SIP Broker Support 4 04-30-2007 04:13 PM
Martin, why voxalot numbers frequently dont work? wycodreams Voxalot Support 1 03-18-2007 10:17 AM
New PSTN Access Numbers martin Voxalot Support 1 01-15-2007 07:48 AM
Problems receiving verfication calls on some uk numbers? jamesfk e164.org Support 0 08-20-2006 09:20 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.