Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-26-2009, 12:50 PM   #11
doctorh
Member
 
doctorh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 40
Thanks: 11
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
doctorh is on a distinguished road
Default Can Martin look into this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by casch View Post
I was thinking of port forwarding as well, but what if my pc - beside my ATA - wants to 'telefone', then all its answers where send to the wrong device - no?

Beside this, all these troubles came up only in the recent past, so why are the
setting now not working, but seemed to work 'once upoon a time'?

Greetings
carl

There is no point in trying to change anything in the NAT settings, because we all have the same problem... It worked perfectly until Friday or Saturday!

So, something was changed that is affecting many users. And that was something at Voxalot. Can maybe Martin or somebody else try to take a look at what was changed late last week that is affecting so many users?

Trying to play with a single ATA's parameters will not fix the issue...

Thanks Martin or somebody else at Voxalot for taking a look into this.

DoctorH
doctorh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 01:04 PM   #12
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Please see my post here:

http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...html#post21841
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 01:16 PM   #13
casch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
casch is on a distinguished road
Default check ..

martin,
I'm going to check my own landline (+43 1 40xxx62) right now:
1st call after reg of my ata: ok! Ans.Machine heard me took my message
2nd call - still reg. - my ans.machine couldn't hear me
3rd call *600 - still reg - ok - can hear me
4th call - still reg. - again my landline ans.machine.: couldn't hear me, it hang up
De-registering the ATA.

BTW, your call record of my calls shows that all these calls were ok?
(The *600 is skipped in this list)

Martin, if you'd like, within the next hour, I could make a (free) landline call to (your) australian no. that you can check?


Carl (408 xxx)
__________________
Ata: Fritzbox 7270
VoIP: VoipDiscount, VoipCheap, VoXaLot.com

Last edited by casch; 02-26-2009 at 01:30 PM.
casch is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 01:29 PM   #14
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Thanks Carl,

How do these results compare to what was happening before the RTP reboot?

Also are you pointing your ATA to the same cluster that is defined in your Voxalot "Member Details"?

e.g. ATA is eu.voxalot.com => Member Details - Preferred Cluster is eu.voxalot.com
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 01:34 PM   #15
casch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
casch is on a distinguished road
Default

Martin,

these are my settings of my ATA:
Domainname/Realm: eu.voxalot.com
Local Port: 5060
Proxy Server: eu.voxalot.com:5060
Register Server: eu.voxalot.com:5060
OutboundServer: eu.voxalot.com:5060
RTP Audio Port: 9000
RTP pkt Periode:20
pref. Codec: G.711A

RPORT: activated
STUN activated

[ And (but?) under sip-status I see: ]
SIP NAT Typ:
Port Restricted NAT

The situation is nearly as before, sometimes the first call after registering the ATA is ok, sometimes the first fails, most of the times the counterpart couldn't hear me, sometime I couldn't hear anything - it a kind of a lottery.

Carl
__________________
Ata: Fritzbox 7270
VoIP: VoipDiscount, VoipCheap, VoXaLot.com
casch is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 01:45 PM   #16
doctorh
Member
 
doctorh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 40
Thanks: 11
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
doctorh is on a distinguished road
Default

It could be a problem with VoipDiscount.

After the RTP reboot, all my calls to voxalot (*500) worked OK. I'd suggest testing *600 many times, and verifying that you do not see one way audio when calling Voxalot.

If *600 has both way audio, could indicate that it's specific to VoipDiscount.

DoctorH
doctorh is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 01:49 PM   #17
casch
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 5
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
casch is on a distinguished road
Default hmm, or ..

the connection between voxalot and voipcheap?
Or the ip-addr for *600 is not eu.voxalot.com?

carl
__________________
Ata: Fritzbox 7270
VoIP: VoipDiscount, VoipCheap, VoXaLot.com
casch is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 05:33 PM   #18
chatalot
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 141
Thanks: 10
Thanked 15 Times in 14 Posts
chatalot is on a distinguished road
Default

I am guessing that the problem is between voxalot/betamax as I am not getting the audio problem when I use voipuser which is also configured on my voxalot account, have not changed anything for well over 12 months and the problem has only started recently - past few weeks and only noticed it on voipcheap.com.

Last edited by chatalot; 02-26-2009 at 05:41 PM.
chatalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-26-2009, 09:17 PM   #19
boatman
Senior Member
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 365
Thanks: 17
Thanked 77 Times in 64 Posts
boatman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by casch View Post
I have set now in my ata:
Domainname/Realm: eu.voxalot.com:5060
Local Port: 5060
Proxy Server: eu.voxalot.com:5060
Register Server: eu.voxalot.com:5060
OutboundServer: eu.voxalot.com:5060
RTP Audio Port: 9000
RTP pkt Periode:20
pref. Codec: G.711A

RPORT: activated
STUN activated
(why this might harm?)
If your NAT is too restricted it will not be compatible with STUN.

The STUN process is how your SIP user agent learns your external IP address and external port number. When port forwarding, port numbers remain unchanged as they traverse NAT, ie same port number on LAN and WAN. When port forwarding, if the SIP user agent can get your external IP address another way (through SIP registration or you enter it manually) then you don't need STUN.

Quote:
Originally Posted by casch View Post
And (but?) under sip-status I see:
SIP NAT Typ:
Port Restricted NAT
(what does this mean?)
See Network address translation. STUN may or may not work for you, it depends on what type of NAT you have. If you have not already done so, you may want to experiment with the "Symmetric NAT" settings in your Voxalot account, and for outbound calls to PSTN you can try disabling "optimize audio path". Note this quote from Wikipedia; "This (NAT) terminology has been the source of much confusion, as it has proven inadequate at describing real-life NAT behavior."

If you are not port forwarding then in addition to using NAT you must use "NAT keep alive" packets to refresh the original NAT mapping which was created by SIP registration. If the "NAT keep alive" packet is sent after the original SIP registration mapping has expired (usually 180 seconds) a new mapping (with different port numbers) will be created which is useless.
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
New user problems with Call Connection Rules bdlhome Voxalot Support 12 09-10-2008 02:19 AM
VoXaLot not working with PBXes (VoXaLot as an extension of PBXes) wilsonhlacerda Voxalot Support 31 12-09-2007 02:30 PM
Call degradation Voxalot -> Voipcheap staffan Voxalot Support 7 04-20-2007 08:00 AM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.