Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-17-2007, 08:28 AM   #1
Tslam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tslam is on a distinguished road
Default SPA to Voxalot REDIRects?

SUPPORT Question Please...

I'm trying to cfwd incoming PSTN calls from my PSTN gateway (3102) to VoIP/PSTN. It doesn't work apparently because Voxalot fails the REDIRect (eg call Diversion).

Why doesn't Voxalot follow this (to mobile thru my Provider in Voxalot):

Calling:0410000123@au.voxalot.com:0
[0:5062]->192.168.1.31:5060
SIP/2.0 302 Moved Temporarily
To: <sip:123456@192.168.1.32:5062>;
From: Peer1 <sip:123000@au.voxalot.com>;
CSeq: 101 INVITE
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.1.31:5060;
Contact: <sip:0410000123@au.voxalot.com>
Diversion: Peer2 <sip:123456@au.voxalot.com>;reason=unconditional
Server: Linksys/SPA942-5.1.7

Yet it follows this (to Monkeys thru Voxalot proxy):

Calling:*266300@au.voxalot.com:0
[0:5062]->192.168.1.31:5060
SIP/2.0 302 Moved Temporarily
etc...
Diversion: Peer2 <sip:123456@au.voxalot.com>;reason=unconditional

If I program Cfwd on my SPA phone then enter *266300, callers to my PSTN gateway hear sipbroker's monkeys. But if I enter my mobile 0410 etc instead, the call fails and the caller hears Voxalot's "were sorry...".

Without getting immersed in SIP traces here - what could be preventing Voxalot doing the SIPLI:REDIR 0410000123@xxx?

I examined the logs prior to both calls (monkeys and mobile), and there really aren't any differences I can see - except that Voxalot doesn't respond seeking authentication to follow the Diversion. The only difference in circumstances is that Voxalot is configured to send mobiles to Pennytel, while it sends monkeys via Sipbroker by default.

What's the big picture here? Voxalot not compatible with Linksys? Linksys not compatible with Voxalot? Voxalot doesn't want clients to do their own forwarding to VSPs??

NAT issues aside, Voxalot should IMO play nicely with market leading equipment such as Linksys - or at least we need to be given the detailed config's to make it happen. I can't keep forwarding all my callers to Monkeys.

Over to Voxalot...

Last edited by Tslam; 04-17-2007 at 09:51 AM.
Tslam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 08:42 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

If you are getting the "We're sorry......" message then it is hitting the Voxalot engine which is a good start.

Best thing to do is PM me the numbers you are calling from/ to and we can parse the logs and see what numbers are hitting the system.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 09:13 AM   #3
Tslam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tslam is on a distinguished road
Default

PM sent with relevant details. SIP logs available.

By the way, I know another user (more tech. advanced than me) who has encountered this problem on other makes of equipment. I'll leave that person to join the discussion if they wish.
Tslam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 10:04 AM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

I have sent you a reply. As the reply has your account details I have not posted here.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 12:53 PM   #5
Tslam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tslam is on a distinguished road
Default

Martin - you pointed out that the inbound is coming from sip:123000@au.voxalot.com which has no (Voxalot) dial plan.

This would mean the call gets authenticated to the redirectee (123000), not the redirector (123456). So I copied my VSP plan onto 123000 and it works when I IP Dial the SPA942 phone from [3102]Line1. But not when I IP dial from [3102]PSTN Line. Maybe we can fix that anon.

First, a thought experiment... what if the caller is another Vox user. If a SPA942 (or any similarly equipped IP phone) issues them a REDIR, does the caller place the call forward; and pay for it? Does the REDIR fall over if the caller hasn't got a compatible dialplan for my mobile number? Surely it's not meant to work that way.

I'm still stuck in the maze. Perhaps you can enlighten me as to the big picture. Am I barking up the wrong tree, do I need a PBX to anchor the incoming call before submitting it to my phone? Or is there some twist of SIP protocol in either Voxalot or Linksys which will make this call forward happen.

Please give me the view from the helicopter; or at least drop me a food parcel.
Tslam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2007, 01:06 PM   #6
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tslam View Post
Please give me the view from the helicopter; or at least drop me a food parcel.
I can not answer this question as Voxalot has no visibility whatsoever of the client side redirects you are performing.

Ultimately when the SIP INVITE hits any SIP proxy (including Voxalot's) it is the FROM header field that is parsed out, authenticated against and in the case of Voxalot, forms the basis of a dial plan lookup.

You get those bits right and the call will route.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.

Last edited by martin; 04-17-2007 at 01:14 PM. Reason: typos
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-18-2007, 11:38 AM   #7
Tslam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tslam is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
You get those bits right and the call will route.
Is that a hypothetical?

What this problem boils down to is that a SPA3102 Gateway sends INVITES with From headers equal to the PSTN caller's CID, instead of its VoIP account. When it's redirected by the destination SIP proxy (such as a SPA942 with Cfwd), it tries to authenticate with this CID. Here is the essential SIP code:

Calling:123456@192.168.1.32:5062
INVITE sip:123456@192.168.1.32:5062
Via: SIP/2.0/UDP 192.168.1.31:5061
From: MOBILE <sip:0410000123@au.voxalot.com>
To: <sip:123456@192.168.1.32:5062>
Remote-Party-ID: MOBILE sip:0410000123@au.voxalot.com>;screen=yes;party=ca lling
Contact: Peer1 <sip:0410000123@192.168.1.31:5061>

The Cfwd/REDIR works if there's no incoming CID, or when [PSTN Line]PSTN CID For VoIP CID = No. Effectively this blocks PSTN CID beyond the PSTN gateway, which isn't desireable.

How can PSTN CID and REDIR work together? Is Linksys violating SIP by setting From=PSTN CID, or is Voxalot wrong to authenticate on the From field (presumably not)? How does a Gateway-PBX configuration manage PSTN CID?

I thought of prefixing the CID with a code like 999, but that just throws Voxalot completely.

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
I can not answer this question as Voxalot has no visibility whatsoever of the client side
Is that your mission statement?
Tslam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-18-2007, 11:48 AM   #8
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tslam View Post
Is that your mission statement?
It's a fact Tslam, i've provided you with all the information I can see from the logs.

For a free service I can safely say we have provided you with more support than you would otherwise get from many paid services.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-18-2007, 01:10 PM   #9
Tslam
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tslam is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
For a free service I can safely say we have provided you with more support
Yep I thought you'd say that - you reached a similar conclusion in the recent "Voxalot not working with PBXes" thread.

Anyhow, I don't happen to think Voxalot a really a free service. It's something which you are developing into a commercial franchise; the next Google perhaps. The only thing that's really free is the time we users give you in (unsolicited) development and beta testing.
Tslam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-18-2007, 09:38 PM   #10
wildbill
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cairns - Australia
Posts: 117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
wildbill is on a distinguished road
Default

Anyhow, I don't happen to think Voxalot a really a free service.
.[/quote]
It's "FREE" to leave - Bill
wildbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
Can't get voice packets to bypass VoXaLot v164 Voxalot Support 35 08-23-2009 10:25 PM
VoXaLot not working with PBXes (VoXaLot as an extension of PBXes) wilsonhlacerda Voxalot Support 31 12-09-2007 02:30 PM
Which VoXaLot services are B2BUA? v164 Voxalot Support 6 07-23-2007 01:48 PM
Help with Voxalot please ... MrHatken Voxalot Support 6 11-11-2006 03:59 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.