Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-09-2007, 05:55 AM   #1
TBhimdi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
TBhimdi is on a distinguished road
Question Enable NAT on provider's side?

I currently have Voxalot registered to Vitelity and setup for incoming & outgoing calls. I also have symmetric NAT disabled in Voxalot settings so that I'm sure that no voice traffic goes through Voxalot's server. But what I'm not sure of is the setting in Vitelity's panel.

Should I disable or enable NAT in my Vitelity panel? Voxalot isn't behind a NAT, but I am, so I don't know which one should be the "best" selection. Currently Vitelity has NAT enabled and things are working fine with my Vitelity DID, incoming and outgoing. Btw, I had to set my DID routing to "SIP Device", setting it as SIP PBX breaks incoming calls via Voxalot (outgoing still work fine, Voxalot is registered and everything).

Also, Les.net has the same NAT option, but it also has an option to enable or disable Re-Invite. I'm assuming re-invites need to be enabled? I haven't yet used Les.net with Voxalot, so just curious right now.
TBhimdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2007, 10:34 PM   #2
ctylor
 
ctylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 296
Thanks: 94
Thanked 53 Times in 27 Posts
ctylor will become famous soon enough
Default

As a safe answer, whatever configuration that is working is the configuration to go with. If you have a working config on both the Voxalot side, and the settings within the Vitelity account portal, that allow both inbound and outbound calls to work without any problems, then keep it, it is good. All those settings for NAT and such that it asks when you run the Vitelity wizard, I am not sure the answers to when it comes to Voxalot. I went through it myself without knowing.

I know that for outbound calling only (i.e. when you don't have any DID with Vitelity) using either sip1.vitelity.net or outbound1.vitelity (does anyone else get something besides 1's in their settings page within Vitelity?) works just fine--both proxies work equally well via Voxalot.

Inbound calls, and getting Voxalot to register with Vitelity, is apparently more tricky. Some people have reported problems when they choose the 'wrong' configuration. If yours is working, keep it. Doing so won't introduce any lag or anything to the picture.

Do you mind sharing your settings in more detail with me so I can modify my Voxalot tutorial page to most accurately describe a known working configuration for outbound & inbound within the Voxalot provider page?

WRT Les.net, the re-invite option as far as my understanding goes should be enabled for ordinary end-users using Les. Setting it to disabled is meant for resellers who need it disabled in order to bill you for the full call.
ctylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-10-2007, 08:49 AM   #3
TBhimdi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
TBhimdi is on a distinguished road
Default

Well I won't mess with my settings then, here they are (mostly from the FAQ btw):

VOXALOT:
Using inbound1 (active, registered)
Using outbound1 (active, not registered)
Symmetric NAT = no

VITELITY:
Under subaccount I've got NAT enabled
For the DID Routing...Protocol = SIP...Type = ATA Device, IP Phone or Softphone...Account = Selected my proper subaccount (what I use in Voxalot to register)

If I had the Type set as PBX Server, then inbound calls would just give me a busy signal (NOANSWER according to Vitelity). Outbound calls would work fine though. If I unregistered Vitelity in Voxalot settings, then inbound calls would also give a busy signal (CHANUNAVAIL according to Vitelity, which is a not-registered error).

Only thing I wish? East Coast Vitelity servers, a few milliseconds never hurt.
TBhimdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
five providers all 'failed'? PaulC Voxalot Support 12 07-29-2008 03:36 PM
Voxalot - providers loose registration stezanos Voxalot Support 3 04-20-2007 11:14 PM
why my provider not compatible? aneip Voxalot Support 2 05-18-2006 01:35 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.