Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > SIP Broker Forums > SIP Broker Support

SIP Broker Support Support for the SIP Broker service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-14-2009, 03:29 PM   #1
marcm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
marcm is on a distinguished road
Default Please Help a Newbie

Hi- I just came across this forum and joined to try to get some help. I have an old land line number that I ported to Callcentric just to park it and be able to get voice mail. I read this morning that they can use sipbroker. I do not fully understand what sipbroker does.

I read on another forum that Googlevoice is registered with e164.org.

What I would like is for calls coming into my old land line number (my "DID" with Callcentric?) to forward via sip to my Googlevoice number.

Callcentric can use sipbroker but they tell me they do not support enum.

So is there a way to get my DID forwarded to Googlevoice without paying for every forwarded call? Can I forward my Callcentric DID calls through a Voxalot number to my Googlevoice?

Sorry if I am muddling the terminology but i do not have a clear understanding of all the terms I am learning this morning.

Thanks.

Last edited by marcm; 06-14-2009 at 05:24 PM.
marcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2009, 12:12 PM   #2
sirmikey1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sirmikey1 is on a distinguished road
Default

marcm,

Sipbroker Features:
http://forum.voxalot.com/sip-broker-...r-gateway.html

I have my DID fwd to mysipswitch.com, and there I have added voxalot for free voicemail, sipcodes, siptosip, and inum. I added sipbroker with anon login for free toll-free dialing for my toll free directory assistance, free Sip to Sip SipCodes, and Inum/Enum calling. I also have voipstunt for outgoing. MySipSwitch calls all of my phones and the first to answer gets the call. I don't know if sipbroker is a sip service; as I use the anon.

Here's my dialplan with mysipswitch.
https://www.mysipswitch.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1363

SM
sirmikey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-16-2009, 12:12 PM   #3
avoipuser
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: U.K.
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
avoipuser is on a distinguished road
Default

I don't think there are many Google voice users here, since they are not accepting new users.

If you do a google search for "SIP address for google voice" you'll see postings of people who were previously able to redirect calls from Gizmo5 to Google voice but reported that it stopped working.

Callcentric calls can be redirected to any SIP broker address by adding an entry in your call treatments, redirecting to **275*N (where *N is a SIP broker number).

If you wanted to redirect calls in the opposite direction it should be possible by Google voice -> Gizmo5 -> Callcentric

Last edited by avoipuser; 06-16-2009 at 01:36 PM.
avoipuser is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-16-2009, 03:04 PM   #4
marcm
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
marcm is on a distinguished road
Default

I did a lot of searching and it appears you are correct. I tried the suggested configuration with Gizmo but it does seem to work. I can make calls from GV thru Gizmo and not have to buy any "out minutes. That is great. Of course when I first signed up with Skype US skype out was also free. rumor is that GV will start charging. My guess is it will will when they re-open membership.

I still do not completely understand what all these various services like myswitch, voipalot, sipbroker, etc do. The way it stands now when someone calls into my DID on Callcentric I pay for the incoming call. I have a call treatment that can direct it to Gizmo but that is not much help to me. If I could direct to GV it could ting through on my cell phone.

Eventually I will drop the DID number but I have had it for a long time and need to keep it for now. With all these services and permutations of calling ability available I thought I might be able to avoid incoming and/or forwarded charges on my DID number but I guess I can't expect to have everything for free!

Thanks.................mm
marcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-16-2009, 03:10 PM   #5
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

There is news that Google may support Portin In soon...Lifehacker - Google Voice to Allow Number Porting - Google Voice
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ENUM newbie yfm e164.org Support 4 09-16-2007 07:44 PM
Newbie joe Voxalot General 1 08-20-2007 09:54 PM
Newbie - UK dialing plan help please? petercfoy Voxalot Support 2 04-16-2007 01:06 PM
Qn From Newbie: PSTN message bank Chumby Voxalot Support 5 03-26-2007 06:25 AM
Newbie - Can't get outgoing calls to work alan99 Voxalot Support 3 02-05-2007 10:36 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.