Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot General

Voxalot General Voxalot discussion, tips, tricks and suggestions. Talk about them here.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-13-2007, 04:39 AM   #1
samjesse
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 45
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
samjesse is on a distinguished road
Default call connection between VSPs

Hi

let person A be registered with VSPa and person B with VSPb both with ATA connected to their respective VSP and not with ENUM.
A calls B using VoIP.
Does VSPa connect to VSPb which then pass the connection to B which is what I like to think, or not? And if yes/no, why?

Thanks
samjesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2007, 05:19 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samjesse View Post
Hi

let person A be registered with VSPa and person B with VSPb both with ATA connected to their respective VSP and not with ENUM.
A calls B using VoIP.
Does VSPa connect to VSPb which then pass the connection to B which is what I like to think, or not? And if yes/no, why?

Thanks
Depends on provider A and/or B. Each provider has different rules for inter-connects.

Technically, yes it can happen, however the providers do have the final say.
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-13-2007, 02:56 PM   #3
v164
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 96
Thanks: 8
Thanked 26 Times in 19 Posts
v164 is a jewel in the roughv164 is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
Depends on provider A and/or B. Each provider has different rules for inter-connects.

Technically, yes it can happen, however the providers do have the final say.
.

In many cases, providers do not allow / enable it, so consumers have to take matters in to their own hands, such as by using SipBroker and/or VoXaLot etc and/or unlocked VoIP hardware.
v164 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to v164 For This Useful Post:
dr.j (07-24-2007)
Unread 07-24-2007, 06:31 AM   #4
dr.j
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dr.j is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v164 View Post
In many cases, providers do not allow / enable it, so consumers have to take matters in to their own hands, such as by using SipBroker and/or VoXaLot etc and/or unlocked VoIP hardware.
Thanks V164,

what do I have to do to dial another VSP (not one that I am with) using Voxalot - and presuming that the other party is not registered with ENUM, eg freshtel (with a *274 sipbroker code)?

what dial plan rules should I set in voxalot for this? is it as simple as setting the freshtel code *274, followed directly by my friends freshtel number and routing it to the sipbroker provider?

thanks
dr.j is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-24-2007, 02:53 PM   #5
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default Calls to other networks using Sipbroker

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.j View Post
what do I have to do to dial another VSP (not one that I am with) using Voxalot - and presuming that the other party is not registered with ENUM, eg freshtel (with a *274 sipbroker code)?
To dial another VSP, you dial [Sipbroker Code for that VSP] followed by [Extension Number].
Not all VSPs allow other networks to reach their accounts directly through VoIP.
The VSP Sipbroker codes are listed on the Sipbroker Provider White Pages list :
SIPBroker - Provider White Pages

Any Provider marked with a Green Check mark is successfully allowing calls from other networks to reach their accounts using VoIP and Sipbroker look-ups to set up the call.

Providers with a Red "X" are not allowing calls to go through to their accounts.

Freshtel with Sipbroker Code *247 has a Red "X" against its listing, an as such is not connecting Sipbroker calls successfully.

Quote:
what dial plan rules should I set in voxalot for this? is it as simple as setting the freshtel code *274, followed directly by my friends freshtel number and routing it to the Sipbroker provider?
Voxalot has automatic routing rules set up to handle calls to other VSPs using Sipbroker routing.
So to call an account on another network, you can dial [*247-xx...xx] where "xx...xx" is the other party's extension number. The call will be set up if the other party is allowing calls from other networks.
See more info at - SIPBroker - Login
In the case of Freshtel, the call will not be successful because Freshtel is not allowing "Peering" from other networks.

Also, your IP phone or ATA must allow leading "*" in the dialing pattern.

In general, you only need to set up dialling rules for using landline calling if you have multiple VSPs and want to optimize your call costs based on terminating destination.

Last edited by kurun; 07-24-2007 at 02:57 PM.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kurun For This Useful Post:
dr.j (07-24-2007), Tony (07-24-2007)
Unread 07-25-2007, 02:21 AM   #6
dr.j
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dr.j is on a distinguished road
Default freshtel

Thanks kurun,

just checked freshtel and it appeared to have a green tick not a red cross. but thanks for the info. I presume SPA3K passes * to voxalot/sipbroker OK

cheers
dr.j is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2007, 04:10 AM   #7
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

Apparently, SPA3K does pass the * but it must be configured in the dial plan, I am told. I have never configured one myself.

Freshtel was Red-X this morning, but definitely Green-tick now.

So I checked their web page for a test number.
I called their contact number (81118111) and the call did not go through.
Re-dialled 4 more times, and reloaded the page. Hey, the mark changed to a Red-X !!
That's quite impressive. So Sipbroker really keeps track in real time !!

Maybe Freshtel peering is inconsitent at this time, or they block peering on that particular number.

Cheers
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free DID Numbers, Free Voip Calls, & more Voip Info amroe Voxalot General 54 01-13-2014 09:11 AM
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
Call Quality and Voxalot shibukraj Voxalot Support 1 12-01-2006 03:39 AM
What am I doing wrong here? code- Voxalot Support 16 10-20-2006 05:12 PM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.