Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-21-2007, 02:36 PM   #1
The King
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 18
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The King is on a distinguished road
Default Dialplan problem, UK 0800 numbers

Hi,

I have my dialplans set as follows;

1 _01. +44${EXTEN:1} VoipCheap Yes [Edit] [Delete]
2 _02. +44${EXTEN:1} VoipCheap Yes [Edit] [Delete]
3 _07. +44${EXTEN:1} VoipCheap Yes [Edit] [Delete]
4 _080. 0044${EXTEN:1} Sipgate Yes [Edit] [Delete]
5 _00. ${EXTEN} VoipCheap Yes [Edit] [Delete]


When I dial an 0800 number I expect it to divert to sipgate, i.e; to
0044800xxxxxx@sipgate.co.uk

This wasn't working on my ATA or softphone, so I tried the 'test' in the dialplan settings, and instead it says;

A call to:0800500600 will get forwarded to sip:800500600@public.sip.magrathea.net

I have no idea who "public.sip.magrathea.net" is.
I have no such settings on my account, I do not understand!
The King is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2007, 02:39 PM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The King View Post
I have no idea who "public.sip.magrathea.net" is.
I have no such settings on my account, I do not understand!
ENUM is kicking in. Edit the sipgate dial plan entry and turn off ENUM and try again.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2007, 02:40 PM   #3
The King
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 63
Thanks: 18
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
The King is on a distinguished road
Default

Ok, I set 'ENUM' lookup to No, and it now seems to work. No idea what that changed though.
The King is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2007, 02:42 PM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The King View Post
Ok, I set 'ENUM' lookup to No, and it now seems to work. No idea what that changed though.
It stopped ENUM lookup which looks for a free call route. The other way to do it is to change the ENUM replacement field from:

${EXTEN}

to

44${EXTEN}
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to martin For This Useful Post:
The King (03-21-2007), Zarkov (03-21-2007)
Unread 03-21-2007, 04:23 PM   #5
tomblandford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
tomblandford is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to tomblandford
Default

King,

I have setup ENUM lookup in my dial plan for 08Z numbers but not for 080 numbers. That stops ENUM working on 0800 numbers which are free anyway. I also set up 908Z numbers to not use ENUM so that if ENUM doesn't work, I just dial 9 first to route without ENUM. It works well.

10 _08Z. ${EXTEN} Voip.co.uk with ENUM
11 _908Z. ${EXTEN:1} Voip.co.uk without ENUM
15 _0[58]0. ${EXTEN} Voip.co.uk without ENUM

BTW, Sipgate don't require 0044 so you can just have ${EXTEN} for your 08 numbers. If you skip the 0044 though you'll need to do what Martin said and put 44${EXTEN} for ENUM lookup field.

Last edited by tomblandford; 03-21-2007 at 04:58 PM. Reason: clarity
tomblandford is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2007, 07:23 PM   #6
bstanier
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
bstanier is on a distinguished road
Default

My understanding is that Magrathea handle many of the call centre computerised 0800s. If you force it to the PSTN it will presumably divert it to the SIP address anyway, so why bother to try to deal with it? Just let ENUM do it's work. If you try the PSTN and SIP addresses in this particular case you will find you get to the same answering computer menu.
bstanier is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with incomming provider (just 1 from a few I have) jmartina Voxalot Support 12 10-03-2007 12:52 AM
another problem with G/S HT 386: no sound when calling *031 numbers pranzo Voxalot Support 1 03-12-2007 04:55 PM
Strange loopback problem tuttle Voxalot Support 1 02-12-2007 02:58 AM
Pennytel, Buzz problem Nathanc Voxalot Support 17 06-28-2006 12:20 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.