Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's

Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's Tips and Tricks for Voxalot

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-17-2007, 08:49 AM   #171
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

I've thought of doing the sniffing thing for locked ATA's, but in the end I didn't want to crack it bad enough to worry about it. My view is that if you buy a peice of hardware, then it shouldn't be locked, but there are financial reasons why you got it locked in the first place -- cheaper because it is locked to one network. At the end of the day it is usually better just to buy a full unlocked product rather than try to break into one that you sort of 'own'...
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-2007, 09:10 AM   #172
mgoebel
Senior Member
 
mgoebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 135
Thanks: 37
Thanked 34 Times in 23 Posts
mgoebel is on a distinguished road
Default

I don't know how to do that and wouldn't do that since I am a journalist in the area and no hacker or TOS breaker.
mgoebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-2007, 09:20 AM   #173
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgoebel View Post
I don't know how to do that and wouldn't do that since I am a journalist in the area and no hacker or TOS breaker.
That's my problem too for slightly different reasons. I sell VoIP hardware and am a reseller of VoIP services, so I too am very reluctant to do what could be considered the wrong thing....
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2007, 05:11 AM   #174
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
The right fix is to implement Nokia provisioning. We have made contact with Nokia and are working on obtaining their provisioning plugin to use with Voxalot.
.
Hi Martin, Can you please tell us if the Nokia provisioning plugin is available. (I really would like to use VoXaLot again, but without G.729 provisioning it is not financially viable on 3G, and my Nokia phone is set to use G.711 by default.)

Cheers.
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-24-2007, 07:39 AM   #175
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexErko View Post
Hi Martin, Can you please tell us if the Nokia provisioning plugin is available. (I really would like to use VoXaLot again, but without G.729 provisioning it is not financially viable on 3G, and my Nokia phone is set to use G.711 by default.)

Cheers.
Please see this thread:
http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-gen...html#post13436

There is also a wiki entry that is referenced in the other thread and further information in the thread itself.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to affinity For This Useful Post:
AlexErko (10-24-2007)
Unread 10-24-2007, 10:34 PM   #176
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dipac View Post
Forum Nokia (Forum Nokia - resources for mobile application developers) now has an application that you can use on an s60 device to make all those invisible SIP settings visible.

They also have a user guide to help... Try it and see what you think.

Hope this helps.
The Forum Nokia page to which you linked no longer lists that application.

However, I found the application at Resource information: SIP VoIP Settings
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlexErko For This Useful Post:
martin (10-25-2007)
Unread 10-25-2007, 09:14 AM   #177
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

I spent some frustrating time today unsuccessfully attempting to make the VoIP SIP Settings application work on my Nokia E70. It loaded onto the phone OK, but it would not open.

I have since discovered the E70 uses VoIP Release 1, so the application will not work on it. Only Nokia phones with VoIP Releases 2 and 2.1 are compatible with the application, according to the application's User Guide.

Here is a link to a Forum Nokia page where you can check to see if your Nokia phone is compatible with the application: Voice over IP Service
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-26-2007, 02:37 AM   #178
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Well, it looks as if its no go with VoXaLot for me, unless some kind soul can help me out of my predicament of not being able to use G.729 with VoXaLot .....
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-31-2007, 01:45 AM   #179
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

To paraphrase the old adage, VoIP helps those who help themselves.

I have successed in making the Nokia SIP VoIP Settings application work on my Nokia E70. (Note: My Australian Three 3G connection only has a 56kbps upload bandwidth as the E70 is not HSDPA capable). The G.729 codec is now set for use with VoXaLot, and I just did a test call to my wife's mobile phone with excellent results. Yippee!!!

Note: If you have a Nokia E70 or another Nokia VoIP-capable phone which is not capable of a firmware update online with the Nokia PC Suite / Software Updater to at least firmware version number 3.0633.09.04, and your local Nokia Service Centre has informed you that they can't update the firmware to at least 3.0633.09.04, then you are stuck unless you use the non-Nokia approved work-around that I found on the net. I won't go into the details of that work-around here, unless someone asks me too, as it is rather involved.
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlexErko For This Useful Post:
affinity (10-31-2007)
Unread 10-31-2007, 02:59 AM   #180
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

If there is a reference, I'm sure that it would at least be appreciated. And well done too on the resolution.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.