Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's

Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's Tips and Tricks for Voxalot

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-20-2009, 10:33 PM   #1
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default RFQ: New Voxalot Failover Implemention

We have made some changes to Voxalot to further improve our fail over capabilities. Please read and comment on this fail over strategy. It is important to note that this fail over strategy will ONLY work for you if you configure your device to use SRV lookups. So please do so:

SRV record - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The following is a breakdown of the new UDP SRV setup for Voxalot. The TCP setup is identical.

AU Service

host -t srv _sip._udp.au.voxalot.com

_sip._udp.au.voxalot.com has SRV record 10 100 5060 proxy01.au1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.au.voxalot.com has SRV record 20 50 5060 proxy01.us1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.au.voxalot.com has SRV record 20 50 5060 proxy02.us1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.au.voxalot.com has SRV record 30 100 5060 proxy02.eu1.voxalot.com.

Direct 100% of traffic to proxy01.au1.voxalot.com

1st Failover:

Direct 50% of traffic to proxy01.us1.voxalot.com
Direct 50% of traffic to proxy02.us1.voxalot.com

2nd Failover:

Direct 100% of traffic to proxy02.eu1.voxalot.com


EU Service

host -t srv _sip._udp.eu.voxalot.com

_sip._udp.us.voxalot.com has SRV record 10 60 5060 proxy01.eu1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.us.voxalot.com has SRV record 10 40 5060 proxy02.eu1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.eu.voxalot.com has SRV record 20 100 5060 proxy02.us1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.eu.voxalot.com has SRV record 30 100 5060 proxy01.au1.voxalot.com.

Direct 60% of traffic to proxy01.eu1.voxalot.com
Direct 40% of traffic to proxy02.eu1.voxalot.com

1st Failover:

Direct 100% of traffic to proxy02.us1.voxalot.com

2nd Failover:

Direct 100% of traffic to proxy01.au1.voxalot.com

US Service

host -t srv _sip._udp.us.voxalot.com

_sip._udp.us.voxalot.com has SRV record 10 60 5060 proxy01.us1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.us.voxalot.com has SRV record 10 40 5060 proxy02.us1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.us.voxalot.com has SRV record 20 100 5060 proxy02.eu1.voxalot.com.
_sip._udp.us.voxalot.com has SRV record 30 100 5060 proxy01.au1.voxalot.com.

Direct 60% of traffic to proxy01.us1.voxalot.com
Direct 40% of traffic to proxy02.us1.voxalot.com

1st Failover:

Direct 100% of traffic to proxy02.eu1.voxalot.com

2nd Failover:

Direct 100% of traffic to proxy01.au1.voxalot.com
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to martin For This Useful Post:
191727 (02-21-2009), Arne (02-21-2009), boatman (10-15-2009), carlosalbffgomes (02-21-2009), ctylor (10-16-2009), feggi (02-21-2009), green (02-20-2009), hddlab (05-16-2009), kendid (02-21-2009), majo (02-20-2009)
Unread 02-20-2009, 11:53 PM   #2
majo
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 115
Thanks: 32
Thanked 20 Times in 18 Posts
majo is on a distinguished road
Default

Hi,
As far as i understand, this SRV should be supported by client hardware or software. User does not need to change any thing. Luckily my fritz box support this. I have verified SRV under windows & linux, works both.

By the way what will be way to override this failover mechanisem, if by chance any failover server does not work better for any user. May be direct IP address of preffered server or may be there should be seperate DNS without SRV records.
Ok found!!! proxy01.eu1.voxalot.com will always connect to EU server without failover support.

This SRV failover mechanisem will work for WebCallBack, callforwarding & registered servers or not? Or user will need to change preffered cluster in member detail page manually?

More info.
DNS SRV - voip-info.org
SRV implementations - voip-info.org

I have tested eyeBeam 1.1 3007n stamp 17816, tried eu, us & au proxy server but it always connect to AU proxy[Eyebeam Bad client wrt SRV]
Fritzbox connect as expected.

Regards.

majo

Last edited by majo; 02-21-2009 at 01:50 AM.
majo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-04-2009, 07:32 AM   #3
gotalkvoip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gotalkvoip is on a distinguished road
Default

for some un known reason couldn't get failover mechanisem to work for my spa3102, well I've followed instructions provided by another member but still doesn't register well this is what I've down have i missed something?

under LINE 1 tab:
Use DNS SRV:yes
DNS SRV Auto Prefix: yes
Proxy Fallback Intvl: 900
Proxy Redundancy Method:Based on SRV Port

under SIP tab:
Substitute VIA Addr:yes
Send Resp To Src Port: yes
STUN Enable:yes
STUN Test Enable: yes
STUN Server:stun.voxalot.com:3478
EXT IP:
EXT RTP Port Min:
NAT Keep Alive Intvl: 15

for my proxy i use: au.voxalot.com:5060
(for some reason au.voxalot.com doesn't work)

Also do i need to switch NAT on in spa3102 as it never works for me so I haven't touched it

appreciate anyones help
gotalkvoip is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-05-2009, 10:13 AM   #4
ptruman
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 94
Thanks: 1
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
ptruman is on a distinguished road
Default

Ditto that, it's not working for me either.

I'm using STUN (stun.voxalot.com), I was configured for eu.voxalot.com, "Send Resp To Src Port" is yes, all VIA flags are set to NO and fallback is set to based on SRV port, and NAT is enabled.

No failover for me...

Does anyone have failover working with an SPA3102? (I'm on BIOS 5.1.10(GW))
ptruman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-10-2009, 01:10 PM   #5
g00fy
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 91
Thanks: 7
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
g00fy is on a distinguished road
Default

Is this automatically handled by ATA's? I see nowhere in my device I can set this SRV stuff.

By the way, I use a Zyxel 2602H-63 modem.
g00fy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-10-2009, 03:20 PM   #6
amroe
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Holy Land
Posts: 125
Thanks: 12
Thanked 24 Times in 9 Posts
amroe is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to amroe Send a message via AIM to amroe Send a message via MSN to amroe Send a message via Yahoo to amroe Send a message via Skype™ to amroe
Default

Thanks Martin , but iam not an expert what i have to do with my sip ATA to get this feture active and thanks .
amroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-11-2009, 11:43 PM   #7
Steve
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 12
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Steve is on a distinguished road
Default

Also tried the failover witha 3102 with no luck
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-12-2009, 03:05 PM   #8
sleek
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 54
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
sleek is on a distinguished road
Default

I'm using Grandstream HT-502 and the latest firmware includes failover SIP server field so SRV records or not I do have secondary option in case of disaster.

What I'm really digging is the fact that SRV records work vice versa. For example if my primary server fails and devices register to one of the alternatives, I have to log in and change the SIP server on record with IPKall to reflect on the sip proxy switch. Now, regardless of which server my registration goes to, or which server IPKall have on record, URIs are always forwarded to me so that is downright perfect! Bravo! No more missed calls in that regard.

Hey Martin, perhaps you should create SRV records for voxalot.com or sip.voxalot.com for forwarding reasons. Since the eu., us., and au. SRV only matters from geographical stand point, otherwise it's irrelevant when URI forwarding is implemented to either of Voxalot's users. Not that it really matters, though certain clarity will be established for users who have DIDs or have other VSPs forwarded TO Voxalot.
sleek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-14-2009, 11:18 PM   #9
boatman
Senior Member
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 365
Thanks: 17
Thanked 77 Times in 64 Posts
boatman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve View Post
Also tried the failover with a 3102 with no luck
DNS SRV failover works with Linksys ATAs such as PAP2 and SPA3102. To use DNS SRV failover set 'Proxy' and 'Outbound Proxy' to the desired Voxalot proxy such as us.voxalot.com (not us.voxalot.com:5060). When using DNS SRV one cannot specify any port number after the proxies used in 'Proxy' and 'Outbound Proxy'. A port number should be included with any SIP addresses used in the Dial Plan or Speed Dial Settings (example; echo@proxy01.sipphone.com:5060)

Also set the following:
Use DNS SRV: yes
DNS SRV Auto Prefix: yes

After making these changes all Voxalot proxies will be available for use automatically. The order in which the proxies are used will vary depending on which proxy name you have entered in 'Proxy' and 'Outbound Proxy' (us.voxalot.com, eu.voxalot.com, or au.voxalot.com) and of course which proxies are on/off line.

Edit: Be sure to direct inbound calls to your_number@voxalot.com. Do not use the regional proxy names (au.voxalot.com, eu.voxalot.com, us.voxalot.com) for inbound calls from outside Voxalot's network such as DIDs from ipkall.com.

Last edited by boatman; 10-15-2009 at 03:37 PM.
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to boatman For This Useful Post:
beaver (03-25-2011)
Unread 04-15-2009, 07:10 PM   #10
137383
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 43
Thanks: 9
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
137383 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatman View Post
Edit: Be sure to direct inbound calls to your_number@voxalot.com. Do not use the regional proxy names (au.voxalot.com, eu.voxalot.com, us.voxalot.com) for inbound calls from outside Voxalot's network such as DIDs from ipkall.com.
I have no problem with my DID fowarded number to 123456@voxalot.com i receive a bussy signal whith the "registered sip did-number" when i call to this number from pstn see here

ps: i can make calls without problem.

What i need do? to fix the problem.
137383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
New user problems with Call Connection Rules bdlhome Voxalot Support 12 09-10-2008 02:19 AM
VoXaLot not working with PBXes (VoXaLot as an extension of PBXes) wilsonhlacerda Voxalot Support 31 12-09-2007 02:30 PM
Provider Registrations and Call Forwarding - is VoXaLot support really needed? v164 Voxalot Support 2 07-07-2007 05:25 AM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.