Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's

Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's Tips and Tricks for Voxalot

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-03-2007, 02:10 AM   #1
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard99 View Post
Hi Martin,

We request you to consider to open port 80, at least let open for trial basis to see users reponse. I have my friends in black out area.... where all ports are closed except 80 and they are helpless.

Thanks
Just today we have now opened port 80.

The SIP proxy ports now supported on the Voxalot side are:

80, 2060, 3060, 4060 and 5060 and 443 (as per Craig's post below)
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.

Last edited by emoci; 02-20-2008 at 10:44 PM.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to martin For This Useful Post:
191727 (12-08-2007), aleisorek (07-28-2009), awjkok (02-21-2009), dc2007 (12-10-2007), emoci (12-03-2007), gambrinus (12-03-2007), majo (12-03-2007), rakan (12-08-2008), richard99 (12-04-2007), tosaid (03-13-2008)
Unread 12-03-2007, 08:33 AM   #2
gambrinus
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Augsburg, GERMANY
Posts: 84
Thanks: 28
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
gambrinus is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to gambrinus Send a message via MSN to gambrinus Send a message via Skype™ to gambrinus
Default

Will check when traveling the next time, but sure will be a great help in Hotels and public Wi-Fis. Thanks for listening to the users. richard99 will do a jig... :-D
- gambrinus
gambrinus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-03-2007, 10:23 AM   #3
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gambrinus View Post
richard99 will do a jig... :-D
- gambrinus
Ha ha ha - I thought the same thing too
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 03:28 AM   #4
richard99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 166
Thanks: 14
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
richard99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks Martin, it is working tested in place where I was never able to use voxalot. ...still pending port ...

Last edited by richard99; 12-04-2007 at 03:35 AM.
richard99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 03:35 AM   #5
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard99 View Post
Thanks Martin, to fulfill what was being promised...still pending port 443...
No problem. I'm curious why you would need 443 when you have port 80?
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 03:39 AM   #6
richard99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 166
Thanks: 14
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
richard99 is on a distinguished road
Default

It is fine. As far as port 80 is serving its purpose. You are right there is no need for port 443.
richard99 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to richard99 For This Useful Post:
martin (12-04-2007)
Unread 12-08-2007, 11:22 AM   #7
JeFFJuH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 193
Thanks: 24
Thanked 25 Times in 20 Posts
JeFFJuH will become famous soon enough
Default

I was just wondering, but isn't SIP based on UDP?

Serving SIP on port 80 would mean that it would be served on UDP port 80, and HTTP traffic is served on TCP port 80.

I don't think this will make much difference for ISP's only allowing port 80, as they will usually only allow traffic on the TCP port 80.
JeFFJuH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-2007, 01:15 AM   #8
Kris404
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Kris404 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeFFJuH View Post
I was just wondering, but isn't SIP based on UDP?

Serving SIP on port 80 would mean that it would be served on UDP port 80, and HTTP traffic is served on TCP port 80.

I don't think this will make much difference for ISP's only allowing port 80, as they will usually only allow traffic on the TCP port 80.
True but chances are, most ISPs are unlikely to touch port 80 at all just to block SIP.
Kris404 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-09-2007, 02:15 AM   #9
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,929
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris404 View Post
True but chances are, most ISPs are unlikely to touch port 80 at all just to block SIP.
Also SIP traffic can be either UDP or TCP. If your client chooses to use TCP as the transport, then the traffic will be SIP over TCP using port 80.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to martin For This Useful Post:
dc2007 (12-10-2007)
Unread 02-20-2008, 10:22 PM   #10
craig
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 243
Thanks: 8
Thanked 130 Times in 72 Posts
craig is a jewel in the roughcraig is a jewel in the roughcraig is a jewel in the rough
Default

I am pleased to announce that I have just enabled forwarding of port 443 on all of our proxy servers. Please give it a try and let me know if you have any problems.

--
Craig
craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo: 6 Steps To Tune Your Voice Quality martin Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's 13 12-27-2010 11:36 AM
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
Provider with Outbound Proxy? MrHatken Voxalot Support 14 03-07-2008 05:02 AM
incoming calls to my voxalot number without sound wycodreams Voxalot General 22 10-04-2007 05:35 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.