Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > SIP Broker Forums > SIP Broker Support

SIP Broker Support Support for the SIP Broker service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-23-2009, 12:59 PM   #31
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm trying to find a way to call "country-independent" free European numbers like 00 800 22 88 3503. This sample number is reachable from many EU countries as well as from UK.

This sample number is listed in ENUM - both e164.org and e164.info are responding with sip:80022883503@public.sip.magrathea.net

Dialing *01380022883503@sipbroker.com gives me mainly errors, while I've been able to connect once.

Question - is there a way to connect to such numbers reliable?
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-30-2009, 02:48 PM   #32
tararumpum
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
tararumpum is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by green View Post
I'm trying to find a way to call "country-independent" free European numbers like 00 800 22 88 3503. This sample number is reachable from many EU countries as well as from UK.

This sample number is listed in ENUM - both e164.org and e164.info are responding with sip:80022883503@public.sip.magrathea.net

Dialing *01380022883503@sipbroker.com gives me mainly errors, while I've been able to connect once.

Question - is there a way to connect to such numbers reliable?
i tried using the ata and works fine
tararumpum is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tararumpum For This Useful Post:
green (07-02-2009)
Unread 07-02-2009, 01:20 PM   #33
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tararumpum View Post
i tried using the ata and works fine
Thanks, it seems something was changed since my last attempt. Works for me as well.
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2009, 06:30 PM   #34
kieranmullen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
kieranmullen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to kieranmullen Send a message via Yahoo to kieranmullen Send a message via Skype™ to kieranmullen
Default

Using linksyspap2t dial string

L:20,S:7,(x|*xx|911S0|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@sipbroker.com>|[x*][x*].<:@sipbroker.com>|<#:>[x*][x*].)

Dialing toll free numbers does nothing? Am I the only one?
kieranmullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2009, 06:38 AM   #35
Ron
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 447
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Ron will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranmullen View Post
Using linksyspap2t dial string

L:20,S:7,(x|*xx|911S0|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@sipbroker.com>|[x*][x*].<:@sipbroker.com>|<#:>[x*][x*].)

Dialing toll free numbers does nothing? Am I the only one?
Are you dialing *1800nnnnnnn, *1888nnnnnnn, etc.?
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2009, 06:41 AM   #36
kieranmullen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
kieranmullen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to kieranmullen Send a message via Yahoo to kieranmullen Send a message via Skype™ to kieranmullen
Default

Can we do it without the * nonsense? Check sipbroker.com for all calls UNLESS i prepend with *

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron View Post
Are you dialing *1800nnnnnnn, *1888nnnnnnn, etc.?
kieranmullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2009, 06:52 PM   #37
boatman
Senior Member
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 365
Thanks: 17
Thanked 77 Times in 64 Posts
boatman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranmullen View Post
Using linksyspap2t dial string
L:20,S:7,(x|*xx|911S0|1[2-9]xx[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@sipbroker.com>|[x*][x*].<:@sipbroker.com>|<#:>[x*][x*].)
Dialing toll free numbers does nothing? Am I the only one?
It works fine. Maybe the toll-free termination provider was having some technical difficulty at the time of your attempted call. Some toll-free numbers check the CID number before answering, as they wish to pay for incoming calls only from certain areas.

When you use SipBroker for toll-free termination you get kind of a roulette choice of termination providers, not all of which can reach all toll free numbers. Rather than using SipBroker for toll-free calls, I prefer to choose the providers with the lowest ping time from my IP address to their RTP connection address. Below are a few providers along with their RTP address (as of last time I checked). Some of these providers accept toll-free numbers with or without the 1 (country code).

Code:
Dial plan entry to get you there			RTP connection address
<#0,1:>[x*][x*].<:@voiper.ipkall.com:5060>|		66.54.140.46
<#1,:>[x*][x*].<:@tf.voipmich.com:5060>|		69.41.0.51
<#2,:>[x*][x*].<:@tollfree.sip-happens.com:5060>|	65.98.233.182
<#3,:>[x*][x*].<:@sip.tollfreegateway.com:5060>|	204.8.45.222
<#4,:>[x*][x*].<:@proxy.ideasip.com:5060>|		64.2.142.87
<#5,:>[x*][x*].<:@proxy01.sipphone.com:5060>|		130.94.88.94

Last edited by boatman; 08-09-2009 at 08:37 PM.
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2009, 07:00 PM   #38
kieranmullen
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Posts: 139
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 9 Posts
kieranmullen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to kieranmullen Send a message via Yahoo to kieranmullen Send a message via Skype™ to kieranmullen
Default

Thanks!
By the looks of it one has to dial a # and then number for the service selected.

Ideally I would like to have 1) auto sipbroker check for all numeric calls, 2) then send to default provider prepended with a 9 for call numeric calls, 3) pass *XXX untouched for asterisk voicemail, 4) force all toll free calls through one of the below providers below.

I have items 2 & 3 covered by the current dial string
(*xxx|<:9>xx.|[3469]11|0|00|[2-9]xxxxxx|1xxx[2-9]xxxxxxS0|xxxxxxxxxxxx.)


thanks
kieranmullen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2009, 09:41 PM   #39
boatman
Senior Member
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 365
Thanks: 17
Thanked 77 Times in 64 Posts
boatman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranmullen View Post
By the looks of it one has to dial a # and then number for the service selected.
Yes, that is correct. In my opinion two toll-free providers are enough for the average user. When configuring a phone for an average user, I usually configure the two best toll-free providers, one without the 1, the other with the 1. This portion of the dial plan should come before the portion that handles paid calls, and looks something like this.

800[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@voiper.ipkall.com:5060>|
866[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@voiper.ipkall.com:5060>|
877[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@voiper.ipkall.com:5060>|
888[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@voiper.ipkall.com:5060>|
1800[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@proxy.ideasip.com:5060>|
1866[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@proxy.ideasip.com:5060>|
1877[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@proxy.ideasip.com:5060>|
1888[2-9]xxxxxxS0<:@proxy.ideasip.com:5060>|

Note that ":5060" is needed after each host name if the ATA is configured with "Use DNS SRV:" and "DNS SRV Auto Prefix:" both set "yes". This is not necessary for sipbroker.com because there exists a DNS entry that will get you to sipbroker.com no matter if the ATA does a DNS SRV lookup on _sip._udp.sipbroker.com.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kieranmullen View Post
2) then send to default provider prepended with a 9 for call numeric calls
As far as I know further dial plan processing cannot be done in the ATA after SipBroker has failed to find a route for that number. When SipBroker fails to find a route it returns "300 Redirect" and instructs the ATA to try calling the number at the default proxy. If this default proxy is someplace that offers dial plan processing, such as Voxalot, then of course further dial plan processing can occur there.
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a Dial Plan for Toll Free calls? StanBarber Voxalot Support 1 05-31-2007 02:09 AM
SIP Broker now supports Toll Free terminations Tony Voxalot Support 19 05-10-2007 10:20 AM
please explain sip-broker for beginners bitbonk SIP Broker Support 7 03-29-2007 02:05 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.