Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot General

Voxalot General Voxalot discussion, tips, tricks and suggestions. Talk about them here.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-17-2007, 04:01 AM   #1
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default Nokia N95 with Truphone and Voxalot, no OTA required.

Nokia 95 Setup

Okay, well with some help from Martin, dipac and others, I have a great working setup on my N95 Nokia!

I can now use both Truphone and Voxalot without any OTA provisiong being required [other than whatever the Truphone application sets up].

Installed Truphone by sending an SMS with the word ‘Tru’ to +44 7624 000 000 and following the bouncing ball....

Got that working fine with my WLAN and mobile Internet connections [Three X-Series data plan on the road].

Installed the "sipvoipsettings.SIS" application as per this post by dipac Nokia Support Thread

Using the new "SIP VoIP Settings" application:
- VoIP Services [no entries]
NAT firewall settings -> Domain parameters
- added au.voxalot.com
(did not touch truphone.com entry)
STUN server name: stun.voxalot.com.au
STUN server port: 3478
no other changes
- NAT firewall settings -> IAP parameters [no entries]


Added a "SIP settings" entry for Voxalot as follows:

Profile name: VoXaLot
Service profile: IETF
Default access point: <for you to define>
Public user name: sip:xxxxxx@us.voxalot.com <- where xxxxxx is user VoXaLot user name. If you want to use the Australian cluster set to sip:xxxxxx@au.voxalot.com and for Europe set sip:xxxxxx@eu.voxalot.com
Use compression: No
Registration: Always on
Use security: No

Proxy server:
Proxy server address: sip:us.voxalot.com <- If you want to use the Australian cluster set to sip:au.voxalot.com and for Europe set sip:eu.voxalot.com
Realm: None NB: Could not use "voxalot.com"
User name: xxxxxx. <- where xxxxxx is user VoXaLot user name
Password: <your VoXaLot password>
Allow loose routing: Yes
Transport type: UDP
Port: 5060

Registrar server:
Registrar server address: sip:us.voxalot.com <- If you want to use the Australian cluster set to sip:au.voxalot.com and for Europe set sip:eu.voxalot.com
Realm: voxalot.com
User name: xxxxxx. <- where xxxxxx is user VoXaLot user name
Password: <your VoXaLot password>
Transport type: UDP
Port: 2060 NB: I could have just as easily used 5060 or one of the other ports that Voxalot allow though..

I chose Voxalot as my default profile... [don't think this is necessary, except for when adding like entries]


Once the N95 is registered, to test inbounds from any other phone dial any of the SIP Broker access numbers found here:
SIP Broker PSTN Numbers

At the voice prompt, dial *010xxxxxx <- where xxxxxx is user VoXaLot user name

You can also test using "Web callback" if you have a Vox Premium account.

Your N95 should ring.


Optional Extra customization of N95:
Settings -> General -> Personalisation -> Standby mode

Shortcuts:
Left selection key: Internet telephone
Right selection key: Conn. manager

Active standby apps:
Shortcut 1: Contacts
Shortcut 2: Bluetooth
Shortcut 3: Settings
Shortcut 4: Web
Shortcut 5: GPS data
Shortcut 6: Maps

Now, I can:
  • see the active data connections easily with the standby right selection key;
  • use "Internet telephone" application via the left selection key to change the 'active' Internet telephone service;

Using the standby apps, I can quickly turn on or off bluetooth and get to other settings.

Other notes.
  • The IAP (Internet Access Point) may need adjustment for the Voxalot entry when required -- the Truphone application takes care of roaming b/w IAPs for Truphone only.
  • calls through Truphone require International format, ie. no leading zeros;
  • calls through Voxalot use your standard dial plans;
  • default call type is Internet call, but this can be changed -- I enter numbers and the press the left selection key to make a normal mobile (voice or video) call
  • my bluetooth capable car radio only seems to work with normal voice (mobile) calls
  • I have NOT mucked around with CODEC settings or other now configurable parameters, but if this is important to your setup, then it is now possible without OTA.

How does all this benefit me the most?
My SIPME account has a DID and it is "SIP Registered"; calls to my 1300 number go to this DID (as a local call termination) and I can answer it anywhere that I have an active Voxalot registered device -- now including my mobile!

Of course with the Voxalot setup, I can use my normal dial plan entries whilst on the road.

Another bonus of Truphone, is that I can call plenty of locations for 'free' until at least the end of the year including all fixed line phones in Australia, the US (plus US mobiles) and the UK.

Last edited by affinity; 10-17-2007 at 04:13 AM.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to affinity For This Useful Post:
martin (10-17-2007)
Unread 10-17-2007, 06:53 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Looks like a great candidate for the Wiki if your game

faq.voxalot.com
.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-2007, 02:04 PM   #3
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
Looks like a great candidate for the Wiki if your game

faq.voxalot.com
.
Thanks Martin! That was a lot of work..... but here is the link:

Nokia Configuration Settings - Voxalot FAQ

Hopefully the wiki entry is more clean and a better guide.

Kind Regards
AndrewM
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to affinity For This Useful Post:
craig (10-17-2007), dencar (10-02-2009), kurun (10-17-2007), martin (10-17-2007), Tony (10-17-2007)
Unread 10-18-2007, 02:12 AM   #4
dipac
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 4 Posts
dipac is on a distinguished road
Default

For non-N95 owners, you may want to change the Codec order for Phones with limited uplink bandwidth.

The default is:

i. AMR NB
ii. PCMU (G.711 μ-law)
iii. PCMA (G.711 A-law)
iv. iLBC
v. G.729
vi. Comfort Noise for PCMU and PCMA (not a separate codec, but handled as such)

You can also change this using the SIP VoIP Settings Application

Note: Nokia claims that the application should work on all S60 Devices
dipac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dipac For This Useful Post:
affinity (10-18-2007), AlexErko (10-24-2007), martin (10-18-2007)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free DID Numbers, Free Voip Calls, & more Voip Info amroe Voxalot General 54 01-13-2014 09:11 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.