Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot General

Voxalot General Voxalot discussion, tips, tricks and suggestions. Talk about them here.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-24-2009, 12:08 PM   #1
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default Google Voice->Gizmo5->Voxalot

Has anyone got a working setup for this?

I had it running OK with Gizmo5 registered in Voxalot but it stopped working.
(Google Voice is forwarded to my Gizmo5 id - 1747 xxx xxxx).

Next I de-registered Gizmo5 and set up my Gizmo5 account instead to forward calls to Userid@eu.voxalot.com. This doesn't work either.

The funny thing is that it works if I set up Google Voice->Freedigits->Voxalot. However Freedigits is such a flaky service that I can't trust it.

I'm sure I've missed something in the setup, so any help will be great.
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2009, 01:42 PM   #2
kazaawang
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
kazaawang is on a distinguished road
Default works ok for me

I am having it running OK with Gizmo5 registered in Voxalot (Google Voice is forwarded to my Gizmo5 id - 1747 xxx xxxx).

BTW, how do you set up Google Voice -> Freedigits? I understand GV only supports forwarding to Gizmo5.
kazaawang is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2009, 03:48 PM   #3
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

Google Voice supports free forwarding to a North American number.
So just forwarding the the Free Digits DID should work.
The number must be declared as one of your Google Voice phones in the settings menu.

From testing I did some months ago, it appeared that Gizmo no longer supported sip forwarding to xxxxxx@voxalot.com of Google Voice calls, although this did work previously.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2009, 04:57 AM   #4
Ron
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 447
Thanks: 4
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Ron will become famous soon enough
Default

Gizmo5 has been having intermittent/repeated registration failures for at least a week now. Numerous similar reports have been posted on DSL Reports. Apparently the Gizmo5 folks are denying there are any problems, but I'm confident they're real based on my first hand experience here.
Ron is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2009, 05:52 AM   #5
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Given the fact that one Gizmo5 Acct + One SipSorcery Acct. + Google Voice + some Ruby coding can get you free calling via Google Voice to US/Canada from any SIP device .... I can see Gizmo getting quite a few more users...

On that note Gizmo5>>SipSorcery>>VoXalot has been working just fine (but then I only use it once in a while)...
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2009, 07:52 PM   #6
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kurun View Post
From testing I did some months ago, it appeared that Gizmo no longer supported sip forwarding to xxxxxx@voxalot.com of Google Voice calls, although this did work previously.
Thanks; I'll go back to registering Gizmo with Voxalot, though if it's currently failing, as Ron says, that might be my problem.
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-26-2009, 08:47 PM   #7
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emoci View Post
Given the fact that one Gizmo5 Acct + One SipSorcery Acct. + Google Voice + some Ruby coding can get you free calling via Google Voice to US/Canada from any SIP device .... I can see Gizmo getting quite a few more users...

On that note Gizmo5>>SipSorcery>>VoXalot has been working just fine (but then I only use it once in a while)...
I haven't yet got to grips with Sipsorcery. How are you using the setup you described? Do you register Gizmo5 in Sipsorcery and then register Sipsorcery in Voxalot?
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-27-2009, 10:22 PM   #8
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ataboy View Post
I haven't yet got to grips with Sipsorcery. How are you using the setup you described? Do you register Gizmo5 in Sipsorcery and then register Sipsorcery in Voxalot?
Yep....

The gist of it:

-For the sake of clarity setup a new G5 acct.
-Setup a SipSorcery acct. or use one that you have (if you plan on using SipSorcery for other things as well it helps to create an extension that you'll use strictly with GV)
-Register G5 in SipSorcery using 1747xxxxxxx rather than your alpha user ID. Set the contact field for this in SipSorcery as Name-of-Ext-for-GV@sipsprcery.com
-Now add this dial plan and save it under something like MyGVDialPlan:

Code:
#Ruby

sys.log("***Starting New Call Event***")
sys.log("***Outgoing Call Starting***")
sys.log("Call placed by  #{req.Header.From.FromName} at #{req.Header.From.FromURI.User}@#{req.Header.From.FromURI.Host}")
sys.log("Call is for #{req.URI.User}")
caller = req.Header.From.FromURI.User
called = req.URI.User
sys.log("*** Caller: #{caller} ***")
sys.log("*** Number Called: #{called} ***")

sys.log("Call Placed via Google Voice")
sys.GoogleVoiceCall("user@gmail.com", "password", "1747xxxxxx", "#{called}")
-When you go to edit an extension (Sip Acocunts Header) you can assign an 'out dial plan'...assign the Dial Plan you saved to the extension you setup...

-me@gmail.com: your email associated with GV account
-Password : password for email account associated with GV account
-1747xxxxxxx is the G5 number you also registered with SipSorcery above...

Now simply use this SIP Account to make calls via GV (eg. add it as a provider in VoXalot) :
User : Name-of-Ext-for-GV
Pass : password you setup
Proxy : sipsorcery.com

Catch: If you haven't already setup a SipSorcery acct. you may have to wait till Sept 8th to try ...

Last edited by emoci; 08-27-2009 at 10:24 PM.
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to emoci For This Useful Post:
ataboy (08-28-2009), hddlab (08-28-2009)
Unread 08-28-2009, 08:51 PM   #9
ataboy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Greater London, UK
Posts: 198
Thanks: 36
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
ataboy is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks emoci. I already have my Sipsorcery account, so that's OK. I'm on a trip though so I can't try this out for a week - but I will!
ataboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo: 6 Steps To Tune Your Voice Quality martin Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's 13 12-27-2010 11:36 AM
Can't get voice packets to bypass VoXaLot v164 Voxalot Support 35 08-23-2009 10:25 PM
Voice Problems on Non Standard SIP ports docknden1 Voxalot Support 11 03-21-2009 12:40 PM
How to voice codec work =? shezad Voxalot Support 0 12-05-2007 10:08 PM
SPA3K / Voice Mail Problem BJReplay Voxalot Support 3 07-05-2006 09:09 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.