Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-21-2008, 03:46 AM   #1
mhkb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
mhkb is on a distinguished road
Default 2 mynetfone accounts

I have 2 MyNetFone accounts for different members of my household and wanted to set them up using Voxalot on different dial plans (eg. prefix determines MyNetFone account). Both accounts have their own DID's, but since I only wanted to use 1 of the DID's, I registered for a VoxLite account. I've setup the accounts and I can dial out using the account with the registered DID, but using the other account returns a call hang-up signal. If I switch the accounts (ie. which has 'SIP Register' ticked) the other account then works, so I know both accounts work. I also have a WorldDialPoint account without DID and that works fine. Does anyone know if I need to upgrade to a VoxPro account to use 2 MyNetFone accounts for outgoing calls? I've noticed VoxPro allows me to upgrade, but will charge me $15 USD, where the original price difference was only $10 USD.
mhkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-21-2008, 01:59 PM   #2
ozimarco
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lower Chittering, about an hour from Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 229
Thanks: 61
Thanked 42 Times in 28 Posts
ozimarco is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to ozimarco
Default

Both MNF accounts need to be registered in order to make outgoing calls so, yes, you would need a VoxPro account if you wanted to do that. MNF is one of a very few VSPs that need registration for outgoing calls.
__________________
ISP: Internode Easy Reach 60: 60GB for AUD60
VSPs: Pennytel and others via SIPSorcery
Hardware:
Billion 7800VDPX + Siemens Gigaset A580IP and Yealink T22P.

Last edited by ozimarco; 01-22-2008 at 10:41 PM. Reason: grammar
ozimarco is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ozimarco For This Useful Post:
mhkb (01-22-2008), VoipAlot (09-02-2008)
Unread 01-22-2008, 02:15 AM   #3
mhkb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
mhkb is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks ozimarco for the info. I wish Voxalot mentioned somewhere that some VSPs require registration for outgoing calls and maybe even mentioning which ones. Under the account types they mention the number of provider SIP registrations for inbound calls, so I figured any number of VSP accounts could be used for outgoing calls. Now I need to spend another $15 USD just to make outgoing calls on my second MNF account - which is a total rip-off.
mhkb is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mhkb For This Useful Post:
VoipAlot (09-02-2008)
Unread 01-22-2008, 03:05 AM   #4
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

Voxalot - Global Provider Index

Actually, very few providers require registration for outgoing calls.
It's unfortunate that MNF is one of them.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-2008, 09:13 PM   #5
Tony
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sydney
Posts: 221
Thanks: 64
Thanked 106 Times in 49 Posts
Tony is a jewel in the roughTony is a jewel in the roughTony is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhkb View Post
Thanks ozimarco for the info. I wish Voxalot mentioned somewhere that some VSPs require registration for outgoing calls and maybe even mentioning which ones. Under the account types they mention the number of provider SIP registrations for inbound calls, so I figured any number of VSP accounts could be used for outgoing calls. Now I need to spend another $15 USD just to make outgoing calls on my second MNF account - which is a total rip-off.
It is mentioned here:

VoxBasic (Free)

Note: Some Voice Service Providers require a SIP registration before an outbound call can be made. A VoxPremium account is required for members that wish to make outbound calls using these types of providers.


Tony.
Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2008, 04:01 AM   #6
mhkb
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
mhkb is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony View Post
It is mentioned here:

VoxBasic (Free)

Note: Some Voice Service Providers require a SIP registration before an outbound call can be made. A VoxPremium account is required for members that wish to make outbound calls using these types of providers.


Tony.
Could this note be added under the other account types and perhaps add "Check your provider under the Global Provider Index"? Then, under the Global Provider Index, show under each listing if the provider has this requirement. Maybe the number of people getting stung by this are so few it's not worth it, but I think it would be worthwhile.
mhkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2008, 07:35 PM   #7
VoipAlot
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 7
Thanked 5 Times in 1 Post
VoipAlot is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Inline and Extrinsic Help and Documentation on WebPages.

I agree.
There is very little 'intrinsic' documentation on the pages, especially when adding a VSP.
You NEED to explain what each box is asking for, whether it is required, and whether you can enter custom details. (e.g. why put the Account User ID in two boxes, It would be great to be able to place a CID (Caller ID) or DID number in the top telephone number box.

But there is not much 'intrinsic' documentation throughout the website (i.e. italic help next to boxes and questions).

This would assist many users, AND reduce the number of posts in the forum for help.

Cheers,
Emma.
VoipAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2008, 09:12 PM   #8
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VoipAlot View Post
I agree.
There is very little 'intrinsic' documentation on the pages, especially when adding a VSP.
You NEED to explain what each box is asking for, whether it is required, and whether you can enter custom details. (e.g. why put the Account User ID in two boxes, It would be great to be able to place a CID (Caller ID) or DID number in the top telephone number box.

But there is not much 'intrinsic' documentation throughout the website (i.e. italic help next to boxes and questions).

This would assist many users, AND reduce the number of posts in the forum for help.

Cheers,
Emma.
For a comprehensive list of setups, configurations and definitions please see:
Main Page - Voxalot FAQ

For the major issues and conclusions that have resulted from Forum based topics please see:
http://forum.voxalot.com/voxalot-sup...solutions.html
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2008, 09:54 PM   #9
VoipAlot
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 33
Thanks: 7
Thanked 5 Times in 1 Post
VoipAlot is on a distinguished road
Default

No what i'm saying is that a majority of your uses won't even be aware of your forum, let alone want to spend the time getting to know how it works, and learning what to ask.

I was so irritated with the way it took over 12 hours for the VSP's to register, especially since 2 of them had never even been used by any device or logged in before.

If a VSP is added, it should attempt to connect WITHIN 30 seconds.
If you modify it, it should update WITHIN 3 minutes.
Etc. etc. etc.

As for the pages where you are meant to set up the details, there is no information on what means what (considering you use words even I've never heard before!)

If you want to cater your service and make it attractive to a wide audience (not just I.T. guru's) then you will have to increase the online documentation available (which DOESN"T mean a download, but means that when you either hover over a point, or a small box of text next to a field).
I really feel this is neccessary as there are questions and settings required that don't stick to any conformity within the VoIP scene....

Thanks for the fast response.

If you could please note the problems with the length of time for registrations.

Thanks!
Em.
VoipAlot is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2008, 10:53 PM   #10
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VoipAlot View Post
I was so irritated with the way it took over 12 hours for the VSP's to register, especially since 2 of them had never even been used by any device or logged in before.

If a VSP is added, it should attempt to connect WITHIN 30 seconds.
If you modify it, it should update WITHIN 3 minutes.
Etc. etc. etc.
All regsitrations are usually complete within 5 minutes. At least with the providers I've personally had to use and/or test so far.

The length for the registration to complete may have had something to do with one of:
1. Your VoIP provider having uptime issues when the registration was first attempted
2. The registration may have coincided with an issue with the eu server last week (this only applies if you're using the EU server)

Nonetheless if you can list the providers you had trouble with, we can try to investigate if something is amiss.

Quote:
As for the pages where you are meant to set up the details, there is no information on what means what (considering you use words even I've never heard before!)

If you want to cater your service and make it attractive to a wide audience (not just I.T. guru's) then you will have to increase the online documentation available (which DOESN"T mean a download, but means that when you either hover over a point, or a small box of text next to a field).
The available documentation on the VoXalot Wiki is quite comprehensive and is available directly on the web without any downloads required.

That said, the idea of a small POPUP explanation is a good one which I'll be happy to pass on to Martin, Craig and Tony.

Quote:
I really feel this is neccessary as there are questions and settings required that don't stick to any conformity within the VoIP scene....
Not quite sure what you mean here. The fields found in VoXalot are similar to those found in Hosted PBXes and Asterisk servers everywhere, as well as corresponding with certain fields within normal ATA devices.

The basic provider setup (remember Advanced Settings are only required in very specific cases and should only be used in such cases) includes a Username, Pass, Proxy and Port field just like any ATA device would.

I can say that of the current available Hosted PBX options to consumers VoXalot is the more user-friendly one both in interface and available documentation (the other two options being PBXes and MySipSwitch, and possibly LiberaIlVoip if you're familiar with Italian) ... and I don't simply say this as a mod, since you'll notice I'm relatively involved at MSS as well.
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mynetfone incoming call problem with voxalot acct sida168 Voxalot Support 0 05-19-2007 01:06 AM
Multiple Incoming accounts arsaboo Voxalot Support 3 05-17-2007 04:16 AM
Using same provider in two Voxalot accounts clundestad Voxalot Support 1 04-20-2007 11:32 AM
MyNetfone can't receive calls cooreyfam Voxalot Support 0 09-19-2006 03:00 AM
2 different Voxalot accounts on the same ATA unit moonshiner Voxalot Support 1 07-21-2006 08:41 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.