Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 12-06-2007, 04:38 AM   #51
satphoneguy
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 47
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
satphoneguy is on a distinguished road
Default

I am wondering if it would not do more both to prevent fraud and allow 'fair use' to the betamax customers if the IP address passed was one that identifies the individual voxalot user instead of the DID provider. It could be the browser IP at the time of sign up.

Out of curiosity would this be technically feasible?

spg
satphoneguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-07-2007, 03:51 AM   #52
andy
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 218
Thanks: 34
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
andy will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
Update: Well it turns out that there was a subtle problem in the latest production release (2 weeks ago).

This release was not setting an IP address for any calls going through the call forwarding system, which is why calls forwarded via Betamax were failing.
This is odd as I didn't have a problem on calls I tried, and would have had an IP address that if visible they may see quite a bit.

____


Quote:
Originally Posted by satphoneguy View Post
I am wondering if it would not do more both to prevent fraud and allow 'fair use' to the betamax customers if the IP address passed was one that identifies the individual voxalot user instead of the DID provider. It could be the browser IP at the time of sign up.

Out of curiosity would this be technically feasible?

spg
Browser address? You mean at the time of sign-up for the Voxalot account or what other time?

Not everyone has a fixed IP address, and some use proxies, and thus sometimes my address will be different for secure and non-secure pages.

So this proposal would tell Betamax an IP address that doesn't identify me to them at all, and might have even been blocked by them for fraud a few months after I signed up.
andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-17-2008, 05:30 PM   #53
130166
Senior Member
 
130166's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Katwijk, The Netherlands
Posts: 133
Thanks: 57
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
130166 is on a distinguished road
Default CallForwarding by Betamax stops working (partly)

I have in pbxes incoming trunk(Polish number for my Polish roommate).
In Voxalot callforward to office phone(vsp=voipcheap) during worktime.
If I call the Polish number, the call forward(using voipcheap) does not work!
If I use an other vsp het works ok. If I call my dutch number(registered in Voxalot) call forward(using voipcheap) ok too. If I disable call forward every call go to voicemail, so ok too.

So only pbxes > voxalot > officephone (using Betamax) does not work!

Something changed in PBXes, Voxalot or Betamax?

Last edited by 130166; 04-17-2008 at 05:37 PM.
130166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-18-2008, 02:56 PM   #54
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 130166 View Post
I have in pbxes incoming trunk(Polish number for my Polish roommate).
In Voxalot callforward to office phone(vsp=voipcheap) during worktime.
If I call the Polish number, the call forward(using voipcheap) does not work!
If I use an other vsp het works ok. If I call my dutch number(registered in Voxalot) call forward(using voipcheap) ok too. If I disable call forward every call go to voicemail, so ok too.

So only pbxes > voxalot > officephone (using Betamax) does not work!

Something changed in PBXes, Voxalot or Betamax?
There is a number of issues that could come into play here....

To summarize, what doesn't work is:

Polish #>>PBXes>>VoXalot>>VoipCheap>>Office Number

however this works, correct?....

Polish #>>PBXes>>VoXalot>>Other Non-Betamax>>Office Number

I think that it may have less to do with PBXes and more to do with the polish number, in this case VoXalot will pass on to Betamax the IP from PBXes, and PBXes is likely to pass on the IP form the polish number...hence the Polsih IP is likely being sent to Betamax....

The only way to test of course would be to register another number in PBXes and have it follow the same forwarding and see if the issue re-occurrs...

There has been no major changes in VoXalot lately, and PBXes despite some Plan changes, has also remained pretty stable....

As usual, it is likely BetaMax and the way they are enforcing/blacklisting IPs is the unpredictable part...
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2008, 12:11 PM   #55
tomblandford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
tomblandford is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to tomblandford
Default

This week I am also having Betamax problems. I can call free numbers OK but if I call a UK mobile it says I have insufficient funds. I have plenty of credit and free days though. It is not a Voxalot issue as it's the same from their website direct.
tomblandford is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2008, 01:06 PM   #56
130166
Senior Member
 
130166's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Katwijk, The Netherlands
Posts: 133
Thanks: 57
Thanked 32 Times in 27 Posts
130166 is on a distinguished road
Default

At the moment my problem is gone, everything works as expected.

@tomblandford: nice chalet website !

Last edited by 130166; 04-22-2008 at 01:14 PM.
130166 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-22-2008, 03:55 PM   #57
tomblandford
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 222
Thanks: 44
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
tomblandford is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to tomblandford
Default

My problem is also now gone. I think it was a Betamax glitch.

PS - proudly sporting Voxalot branding on that website
tomblandford is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webcallback with Betamax (both legs) still not working serendipitydawg Voxalot Support 3 05-09-2007 07:27 AM
Switched to US Server for Betamax outgoing - No incoming working Lanh Voxalot Support 0 03-21-2007 08:12 AM
Betamax VoIP services not working with Voxalot bvebve Voxalot Support 1 03-17-2007 04:40 PM
Dial Plans -> voipdiscount (Betamax GmbH) not working 456324 Voxalot Support 4 09-18-2006 12:30 PM
Finarea/ Betamax - DID working with VoXaLot SIP registration!! phoneuser Voxalot Support 15 06-29-2006 11:05 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.