Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > SIP Broker Forums > SIP Broker Support

SIP Broker Support Support for the SIP Broker service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-15-2010, 06:55 PM   #1
Souljah
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Souljah is on a distinguished road
Default Still Unsure How Sipbroker Works

Hi,

I'm curious how sip broker works. It does allow you to make calls to other sip addresses which I believe is fine, but are we able to make calls to regular PSTN numbers? For example, I live in the U.S. Would I be able to dial a PSTN access number, then enter a particular code to call a country, say India? Is that possible? If not, what is the purpose of sipbroker. thanks.
Souljah is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2010, 07:49 AM   #2
bridonca
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
bridonca is on a distinguished road
Default

Sip broker works the other way. It allows people with regular POTS or cell phone lines to be able to call SIP numbers from providers like Voxalot.
bridonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2010, 07:53 AM   #3
Jayzon
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Jayzon is on a distinguished road
Default

Okay so it's the opposite of Voxalot?
Jayzon is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-22-2010, 06:49 PM   #4
DracoFelis
 
DracoFelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 64 Times in 41 Posts
DracoFelis is a jewel in the roughDracoFelis is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jayzon View Post
Okay so it's the opposite of Voxalot?
Not exactly. SIP Broker is more like a subset of Voxalot's features. The same people did both services, and SIP Broker is the older (more specialized) service of the two (i.e. SIP Broker existed for a couple of years BEFORE Voxalot was first created).

However, since pretty much all the SIP Broker features are directly available to people using Voxalot, about the only thing that Voxalot users generally need to know about "SIP Broker" is the list of SIP broker VoIP to VoIP dialing codes (which you can directly use/dial from a Voxalot account), and then only if you want to use that specific feature. The list of such codes is here:
SIPBroker - Provider White Pages
DracoFelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-03-2010, 02:28 AM   #5
Aviator168
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Aviator168 is on a distinguished road
Default

I am developing a sip softphone. Is it possible to query sipbroker for information before dialing out? In other words, bypassing Voxalot. Also, given a PSTN, is it possible to find out if it belongs to one of those sip providers in sipbroker?
Aviator168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The SipBroker Gateway emoci SIP Broker Support 29 02-21-2011 03:11 AM
What works for Voxalot works with Sipbroker? hddlab Voxalot Support 1 04-22-2009 10:33 PM
forwarding Sipbroker call olegp SIP Broker Support 5 10-17-2008 04:42 AM
Sipbroker Pstn To Fwd Not Working jun_j SIP Broker Support 10 10-16-2008 06:09 AM
Suggestion: Quick Access to Voicemail via SipBroker richard Voxalot Support 0 05-05-2007 02:05 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.