Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-16-2009, 12:45 AM   #31
craig
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 243
Thanks: 8
Thanked 130 Times in 72 Posts
craig is a jewel in the roughcraig is a jewel in the roughcraig is a jewel in the rough
Default

Hi guys,

Our apologies for the inconsistent service. As you are no doubt aware, the Australian server (which up until now has been one of our most reliable) has been bouncing up and down over the past week or so.

We are working with our service provider to resolve the underlying cause. It has been difficult (for us, but more so for you guys) because each time we think we've resolved the problem, and then shortly after it resurfaces.

We are actively working on resolving this problem, and again, our apologies for not being able to resolve it quicker.

--
Craig
craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 01:08 AM   #32
Hally
Member
 
Hally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Geelong
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Hally is on a distinguished road
Default

Voxalot back up and running now.
Hally is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 01:22 AM   #33
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Yep, all seems to be fine again.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 04:32 AM   #34
Bedlore
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 41
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bedlore is on a distinguished road
Default

I don't think its fixed. Both of my accounts with voxalot (264226, 723272) just get that American female voice saying "We're sorry, the number you have called could not be connected" and then drops you. Great look for my clients.
Bedlore is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 04:59 AM   #35
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

More problems for me too, my 1300 number goes to a SIPME DID that isn't working now. Other DID's aren't working either.
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 07:33 AM   #36
boatman
Senior Member
 
boatman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 365
Thanks: 17
Thanked 77 Times in 64 Posts
boatman is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IanSav View Post
I really don't know why my call quality appears to suffer when I switch away from the Australian servers.
In that case it's likely that voice packets of one or both call legs are going through Voxalot, an occurrence that should be avoided whenever possible. Try using a STUN server if you are not already doing so. If possible from your phone, try the test call to *0@proxy01.sipphone.com which I mentioned above. If you hear the message about "call completion problems" then there's opportunity for improving the audio by making some changes to one or more NAT traversal settings.
boatman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 08:05 AM   #37
scrag
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
scrag is on a distinguished road
Default

Yep, registered again but my DID from Pennytel is not reacheable anymore. Never had this sort of issue before.

American lass telling me that the number is not connected.....Register directly with Pennytel and all is fine.

Once my membership expires I'm out of this joke....

*EDIT*
Well what do you know - offline again! Nothing new really!

Last edited by scrag; 10-16-2009 at 08:11 AM.
scrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 10:15 AM   #38
craig
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 243
Thanks: 8
Thanked 130 Times in 72 Posts
craig is a jewel in the roughcraig is a jewel in the roughcraig is a jewel in the rough
Default

Despite the service resuming (apparently successfully) this afternoon, our database is again experiencing corruption.

The hardware engineers at our hosting data centre have identified an issue with the server's physical memory. We have scheduled a replacement of the faulty memory to occur as soon as humanly possible. As soon as that is done, we will post back here with an update.

Again, our apologies for the extended outages.

--
Craig
craig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-16-2009, 12:04 PM   #39
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Update: We have restored the server and are still waiting for the memory replacement. Once the memory is replaced we will provide another update.

Once again, apologies for the disruption of your service.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-17-2009, 01:55 AM   #40
gotalkvoip
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 28
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gotalkvoip is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boatman View Post
Optional settings, steps 1 - 4:
Sometimes its preferable to operate the ATA independently of a STUN server. The benefit is that phone service can continue no matter if the STUN server is working. See steps 1 to 4 below.

1. Forward the SIP ports and the RTP port range from the router to the ATA.
2. Set "STUN Enable:" no
3. Set "NAT Keep Alive Enable:" no
4. The ATA must learn it's public IP address, either through normal SIP registration, or place your public IP address in the 'EXT IP:' field).
Have followed your first step to use STUN and NAT

Im guessing these settings are primarily for ATA connected to a firewall router for the ATA to learn public IP address,.

Followed all steps the ATA has always registered,. note the ATA is connected to a VSP not voxalot so I have not bothered yet with failback implemation as there isnt any for the VSP as Voxalot has

Anyway the router is connected to an ISP with STATIC address so followed your last instructions, so not using NAT or STUN but have chosen your last 4 steps and have set the EXT IP: as the static public IP

so far VSP is still registering within ATA, shall do the same eventually with my Voxalot ATA registered ATA

Noticed one thing ATA states always the internal address i.e. 192.168.0.1
I'm guessing thats normal,

so hope ATA has learnt it's public IP address

ps: one question,. you stated

1. Forward the SIP ports and the RTP port range from the router to the ATA

im guessing this not a setting, as I cant find it anywhere

EDIT: actually there is a line in status showing external IP address (which shows correct IP address

Also this ATA using the VSP as registration is primarily to forwarding my local DID number to my mobile

and I noticed call quality seems better on call forwarding but I'm sure these settings would have no effect on call quality when using ATA's call forward feature (i.e under user tab), guessing it only effects quality on calls made out from ATA,. (but maybe it does as im not an expert when playing around with these type of settings )


Also just a question on:
Register Expires:
Proxy Fallback Intvl:

Suggested settings for my VSP is: 240 Seconds
Suggested settings for Voxalot is:3600 Seconds

Wondering anything wrong having these settings lower for registration I gather shorter registrations would mean more data use to my ISP (which isn't an issue) but wouldn't having lower times also help to reduce failed registration intervals?

or having lower settings wont agree with my VSP or Voxalot??

I understand if Ans or Make Call Without Reg: set to YES will ignore failed registrations anyway, though I have two ATA's using the same voxalot account and one is set to Ans Call Without Reg: set to YES and one ATA to NO: so only one of the ATA's will ring while the other doesn't i.e the one that doesn't ring is set to not to register: No and Ans Call Without Reg: NO,

Also just trying to understand Proxy Fallback Intvl: Ive noticed you always match that to Register Expires: time any reason for that?

I would thought once registration Expires: fails then the Proxy Fallback Intvl: kicks in at set time i.e for VSP 240 seconds later or its the difference of the two that determines when the Fallback Intvl: kicks in,. i.e zero seconds,. but if not would it be more ideal to set Fallback Intvl: at 1 second or even zero,. just wondering on how this process works, im guessing its the difference times of the two

again really thanks for your input on all this waiting for your reply then all play next around with the Voxalot's failover implementation on your earlier steps for the Voxalot setup ATA I have

cheerz

Last edited by gotalkvoip; 10-17-2009 at 03:27 AM.
gotalkvoip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
New user problems with Call Connection Rules bdlhome Voxalot Support 12 09-10-2008 02:19 AM
VoXaLot not working with PBXes (VoXaLot as an extension of PBXes) wilsonhlacerda Voxalot Support 31 12-09-2007 02:30 PM
Provider Registrations and Call Forwarding - is VoXaLot support really needed? v164 Voxalot Support 2 07-07-2007 05:25 AM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.