Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's

Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's Tips and Tricks for Voxalot

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 07-05-2008, 11:14 PM   #21
TheFug
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
TheFug is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by than30fyl View Post
Dear emoci,

Thanks for all the info.

I've purchased a Linksys/Sipura SPA3102 to replace my fritz.box 7140. I have one provider registed with Line1 and Voxalot as my Gateway1. The ports used are 2060. Everything is working as expected, except for the disconnect after 20 seconds, that voxalot connections - suffer.

I've setup the STUN: stun.xten.com, and NAT keep alive on my accounts. Also i have forward ports:
2060 UDP and (RTP) 16384-16482 UDP to my SPA3102 adapter.

I've also followed the aritcle metioned in the previous reply.

Still Voxalot will disconnect after exactly 20 seconds.

Any ideas please?

~thanasis
This should not happen according to emoci..... is this problem already resolved ?
TheFug is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-05-2008, 11:17 PM   #22
TheFug
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
TheFug is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildvoip View Post
I have NAT keep alive and NAT mapping on the PAP2 set. When I register to us.voxalot.com:2060, 80, 443 i.e. anything besides 5060 I see that

When I call another voxalot user who is offline (not registered) then the call does not go to his voicemail. I just get no response. I am able to call the user when he is online (registered) and reach his voicemail.

What is the problem here ?

Thank you.
This happens within 21 seconds ?
TheFug is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 01:29 AM   #23
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 368 Times in 281 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildvoip View Post
I have NAT keep alive and NAT mapping on the PAP2 set. When I register to us.voxalot.com:2060, 80, 443 i.e. anything besides 5060 I see that

When I call another voxalot user who is offline (not registered) then the call does not go to his voicemail. I just get no response. I am able to call the user when he is online (registered) and reach his voicemail.

What is the problem here ?

Thank you.
Two questions:

-Does this or does this not happen when you actually use port 5060?
-Does this continue to happen if you call in the format *010xxxxxx rather than just 6 digit dialing?

One thing that maybe occurring, if you are calling another VoXalot user within 5-10 min after their device has turned off, sometimes the servers have not propagated the change yet...so rather than hearing ringing you may receive dead space equivalent in length to the time it would ring... then VoiceMail should pick up (vs. VoiceMail picking up right away when the de-registration is complete)...
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 12:27 PM   #24
TheFug
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
TheFug is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by than30fyl View Post
Dear emoci,

Thanks for all the info.

I've purchased a Linksys/Sipura SPA3102 to replace my fritz.box 7140. I have one provider registed with Line1 and Voxalot as my Gateway1. The ports used are 2060. Everything is working as expected, except for the disconnect after 20 seconds, that voxalot connections - suffer.

I've setup the STUN: stun.xten.com, and NAT keep alive on my accounts. Also i have forward ports:
2060 UDP and (RTP) 16384-16482 UDP to my SPA3102 adapter.

I've also followed the aritcle metioned in the previous reply.

Still Voxalot will disconnect after exactly 20 seconds.

Any ideas please?

~thanasis
I'm also on top of this one, have the same 20 second drop connection, it is NOT the ATA device, but some keep alive function send from Voxalot, that gets lost in the process, also checking (your) IP address. have lots of other accounts that work perfect, only Voxalot, gives this problem.
TheFug is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 01:22 PM   #25
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 368 Times in 281 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFug View Post
I'm also on top of this one, have the same 20 second drop connection, it is NOT the ATA device, but some keep alive function send from Voxalot, that gets lost in the process, also checking (your) IP address. have lots of other accounts that work perfect, only Voxalot, gives this problem.
Wait, did you not solve this by changing out your router?
In which case it was likely your router that was dropping subsequent invites...

Under normal conditions having the following in place should provide for a reliable connection:
-UPnP
-STUN Server
-Correct range of ports open
-NAT Mapping enable and NAT keep alive enabled

Furthermore, most of the users do not have this problem ..in most cases it is examples like your own, where your setup/equipment is interfering with proper functioning, as you found when replacing your router returned things back to working properly

Nonetheless, the reason the forums are here is to run ideas by each other, it is likely that there is another user with similar problems that has a solution, or that in trying all the suggestions here, it will finally fix the incorrect setting causing the issue

Last edited by emoci; 07-06-2008 at 01:25 PM.
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 06:30 PM   #26
TheFug
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
TheFug is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emoci View Post
Wait, did you not solve this by changing out your router?
In which case it was likely your router that was dropping subsequent invites...

Under normal conditions having the following in place should provide for a reliable connection:
-UPnP
-STUN Server
-Correct range of ports open
-NAT Mapping enable and NAT keep alive enabled

Furthermore, most of the users do not have this problem ..in most cases it is examples like your own, where your setup/equipment is interfering with proper functioning, as you found when replacing your router returned things back to working properly

Nonetheless, the reason the forums are here is to run ideas by each other, it is likely that there is another user with similar problems that has a solution, or that in trying all the suggestions here, it will finally fix the incorrect setting causing the issue
Yeah, i hope so, so i don't have to throw my new modem/router into the trash never had any problems with any provider or switch service, like i now have with Voxalot, but i don't feel alone any more
I did came across a user, who solved the problem, by forwarding 5060, and the range 10000-20000 ports, 5060 is not the problem with me i guess, only to which address should one forward ports ? my "IP address", which can be found tru > run > cmd > ipconfig, ? i forwarded the 10K-20K range also to that address but didn't helped, is there a good guide on port forwarding ?
and DMZ ? to which address should one set this one ? is that safe to do ?
The 21 second connection drop is also the time the betamax provider doesn't "see" that the account owner "shares" it's ip address with other users through a non approved betamax switch service, like MSS.
So naturally, Voxalot registered at MSS has no use, and FUP stays an issue that way, but that way, my connection stays up, but doesn't solve the FUP issue. (sorry for the echo )examining the sip communication has also no use, since it is a network communication issue.. that explains also why a softpone doesn't change the situation, only one way audio problems are solved with that, if that's an option... btw. switched off the "N" feature for the wireless part, it only has to with HF signal at 2.4GHz that's 40MHz, instead of the 20MHz in normal "G" mode, so this is not connected to the 21 second connection lost issue.

btw. what we are experiencing, isn't caused by the Premium switch, like suggested elsewhere ?

btw2. what did you mean with my router dropping invites ? i guess my router has nothing to do with the SIP invites, only the the SIP client does, be it a device or softphone i guess,

@OP: after those 21 seconds, is your connection completely lost, or just the audio ?

(MSS=MySipSwitch)

Last edited by TheFug; 07-06-2008 at 06:39 PM. Reason: addition
TheFug is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 09:02 PM   #27
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 368 Times in 281 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFug View Post
Yeah, i hope so, so i don't have to throw my new modem/router into the trash never had any problems with any provider or switch service, like i now have with Voxalot, but i don't feel alone any more
I did came across a user, who solved the problem, by forwarding 5060, and the range 10000-20000 ports, 5060 is not the problem with me i guess, only to which address should one forward ports ? my "IP address", which can be found tru > run > cmd > ipconfig, ? i forwarded the 10K-20K range also to that address but didn't helped, is there a good guide on port forwarding ?
and DMZ ? to which address should one set this one ? is that safe to do ?
The 21 second connection drop is also the time the betamax provider doesn't "see" that the account owner "shares" it's ip address with other users through a non approved betamax switch service, like MSS.
So naturally, Voxalot registered at MSS has no use, and FUP stays an issue that way, but that way, my connection stays up, but doesn't solve the FUP issue. (sorry for the echo )examining the sip communication has also no use, since it is a network communication issue.. that explains also why a softpone doesn't change the situation, only one way audio problems are solved with that, if that's an option... btw. switched off the "N" feature for the wireless part, it only has to with HF signal at 2.4GHz that's 40MHz, instead of the 20MHz in normal "G" mode, so this is not connected to the 21 second connection lost issue.

btw. what we are experiencing, isn't caused by the Premium switch, like suggested elsewhere ?

btw2. what did you mean with my router dropping invites ? i guess my router has nothing to do with the SIP invites, only the the SIP client does, be it a device or softphone i guess,

@OP: after those 21 seconds, is your connection completely lost, or just the audio ?

(MSS=MySipSwitch)

1. When opening ports, they should be forwarded to the internal IP address of your ATA (for the Linksys series I think it is something like 192.168.1.xxx )

2. The fact that switching out the router fixed the problem, likely means that the original router was not forwarding further traffic for the ATA (or the SoftPhone) properly after the first little while (furthermore from the log you provided, Martin concluded that the BYE message was being initiated from your end which is in-line with the above assumption)

In my personal opinion (and I hope others here agree with me) and as I told to you via PM, security-wise I see little to no difference between the WRT54GL vs. the WAG160N....in fact my personal preference is with the WRT54G series just because there is substantial support and firmware from the open source community that provides a rich choice of options beyond what's included with the stock firmware.
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 11:12 PM   #28
TheFug
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
TheFug is on a distinguished road
Default

Thanks, emoci, i hope also the OP has some usefulness out of this, pointing him also in a good direction.

Using the WRT54GL will mean for me i still have no modem, which is included in the WAG160N, or the old SMC device,
I guess i should use the the WAG160N as modem only, and use DHCP, and the router functions of the WRT54GL.
TheFug is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-07-2008, 02:09 AM   #29
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 368 Times in 281 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFug View Post
Thanks, emoci, i hope also the OP has some usefulness out of this, pointing him also in a good direction.

Using the WRT54GL will mean for me i still have no modem, which is included in the WAG160N, or the old SMC device,
I guess i should use the the WAG160N as modem only, and use DHCP, and the router functions of the WRT54GL.
Oh, I see ADSL2 modem as well...if you are gonna run the WAG160N as a modem, I suggest making sure it is in Bridge Mode, and let your router actually do the login (although this depends on how your system completes the handshake, is it PPPOE, PPPOA or a dedicated line etc.)

Look, frankly I'd suggest using what works for you.... if the SMC you have on right now does not produce any other issues then just leave it in (As they say, Don't Fix what's not broken )

If your only worry for the changes is security, a good personal firewall, and a reliable AntiVirus Software should be just fine ....
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-07-2008, 06:22 PM   #30
TheFug
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 80
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
TheFug is on a distinguished road
Default

Yeah i'm starting to believe that too, (the SMC option) it's the easy way out, i also experienced also what i believe, a crash of the WAG160N, it wasn't accessible on it's web server address...(+ one LAN port indicator very fast flashing..)
The modem type is a PPPoA type protocol, the Tomato fw has only PPPoE option.
Well, at least the WAG160N looks pretty, (see avatar)..
I guess a Linux router, is the most configurable one, (PC with two ethernet cards) somewhere running in a staircase closet 24h/day
TheFug is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HowTo: 6 Steps To Tune Your Voice Quality martin Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's 13 12-27-2010 11:36 AM
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
Provider with Outbound Proxy? MrHatken Voxalot Support 14 03-07-2008 05:02 AM
incoming calls to my voxalot number without sound wycodreams Voxalot General 22 10-04-2007 05:35 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.