Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot General

Voxalot General Voxalot discussion, tips, tricks and suggestions. Talk about them here.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-18-2008, 04:34 AM   #1
dc2007
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dc2007 is on a distinguished road
Default modem plus router

anyone can please give reccommendations which modem-plus-router best for spa3102. pls?
dc2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-18-2008, 07:45 AM   #2
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

SPA3102 is the router already.
You can use any modem configured in a bridge mode.
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-18-2008, 09:52 AM   #3
mgoebel
Senior Member
 
mgoebel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 135
Thanks: 37
Thanked 34 Times in 23 Posts
mgoebel is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7270

My favourite is FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7270:

Markus Göbel's Tech News Comments: AVM has started to sell one of the coolest VoIP devices ever

mgoebel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-18-2008, 11:53 AM   #4
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

All the FRITZ! devices have a bug in SDP implementation.
As far as I know their support is ignoring customer's complains on this.
Workaround exists with FBEditor tool.

Technically:
Manufacturer is not following RFC3264, specifically this part: "The offerer SHOULD send media according to the value of any ptime and bandwidth attribute in the answer". In fact they are ignoring ptime parameter supplied by the server. As a result customers may enjoy one-way audio.

P.S. and question was about the simple router as an addition to the existing very good SIP device and not about full featured all-in-one device.

Last edited by green; 05-18-2008 at 12:06 PM.
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-19-2008, 03:28 PM   #5
dc2007
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dc2007 is on a distinguished road
Default

im getting static telco line problem everytime i use heavily my hop in/on of spa3102, im not so sure if its is my telco dsl modem that sucks or spa3102 so i thought of eliminating first my telco dsl and replace it by a modem/router combo.
secondly, spa3102 router can't stand heavy downloads so i rather prefer spa3102 behind a router.
dc2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-19-2008, 05:00 PM   #6
TBhimdi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 24
Thanks: 6
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
TBhimdi is on a distinguished road
Default

I've used a Linksys WRT54GL (w/ Tomato firmware) successfully with a SPA3102. I recently (last week) switched my 3102 to a Zoom 5801 (had FXS echo issues) and that works perfectly with the WRT54GL too.

Can't go wrong with Buffalo routers either, I believe you can get them with more ram and faster cpu compared to the Linksys routers. They too take the same third party firmwares.
TBhimdi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-19-2008, 05:05 PM   #7
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

I'm also using Linksys WRT54G v2 & v4 with Tomato firmware.
Generally, the list of Tomato-supported routers may be used as a reference:
Tomato FAQ | polarcloud.com
green is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2008, 07:16 AM   #8
dc2007
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 81
Thanks: 12
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
dc2007 is on a distinguished road
Default

im already using linksys as router but unfortunately there's no linskys modem/router combo that im really looking for. i read there's one from dlink. is dlink brands good enough? or any brands recommendable besides dlink?
dc2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-20-2008, 02:01 PM   #9
green
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 143
Thanks: 13
Thanked 20 Times in 19 Posts
green will become famous soon enough
Default

If you're happy with your Linksys box as a router then you can buy almost any brand modem and configure it as a bridge. Even very old & basic D-Link DSL-300T will do the job.
green is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to green For This Useful Post:
dc2007 (05-20-2008)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spa3102 router dc2007 Voxalot General 2 12-29-2007 08:55 AM
incoming calls to my voxalot number without sound wycodreams Voxalot General 22 10-04-2007 05:35 PM
Cant get Voxalot to work with Billion router 7402VGP zolo Voxalot Support 3 11-25-2006 11:48 AM
Router stopping service? belchie Voxalot Support 1 11-07-2006 03:03 AM
Voxalot Setup on Belkin Router rashp9 Voxalot Support 0 06-19-2006 07:15 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.