Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 02-19-2007, 06:58 AM   #1
fr0zen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fr0zen is on a distinguished road
Default Cisco 7841G Config

I got the phone to connect to Vox Alot's servers; however, I cannot dial *500. The phone just gives me a busy tone and says re-order. What kind of issue can this be? Can it have anything to do with my dial plan? Also, should the phone have NAT enabled? I am using a Linksys RV082 and the phone is in DMZ - should I have NAT enabled in the phones config along with it's WAN IP address in the nataddress fields, or is this un-needed.

Last edited by fr0zen; 02-19-2007 at 08:38 AM.
fr0zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 08:56 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

What happens when you dial just:

500 (no leading *)?

My understanding of the cisco phones is that they do not support symmetric NAT. On the member details page within VoXaLot try setting symmetric NAT to "No".

The retest *500 or 500
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 08:58 AM   #3
fr0zen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fr0zen is on a distinguished road
Default

I already set it to no. 500 with no leading * just gives me an operator who says "we're sorry the number you have dialed cannot be connected". The phones lcd shows 5 as the dial'd number when I dial 500 - which is also odd. There was a gentlmen with a 7961G who got it to work and who I believe requested the feature be added to vox alot. The 7941G is the same phone accept it has fewer lines.
fr0zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 09:05 AM   #4
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fr0zen View Post
I already set it to no. 500 with no leading * just gives me an operator who says "we're sorry the number you have dialed cannot be connected". The phones lcd shows 5 as the dial'd number when I dial 500 - which is also odd.
Ok this is actually not bad. The message you are hearing is a VoXaLot one, so this means that audio between the device and the server is OK.

Now the fact that only "5" is on your display would also be consistent with this message as "5" is not a valid VoXaLot number (hence the message).

So this leads us back to your phone. For whatever reason, the phone is initiating a call right after you dial 5.

Hope this helps you look in the right direction.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-19-2007, 09:13 AM   #5
fr0zen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fr0zen is on a distinguished road
Default

I see - thats good to know. I pm'd the fellow who got his 7961G to work. Im actually using vox alot to test my phone, cause my voip provider (via talk) doesn't have the ability to turn off symmetrical nat.
fr0zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-20-2007, 06:42 AM   #6
fr0zen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fr0zen is on a distinguished road
Default

Hmm, still have this odd issue. Can anyone who uses Cisco ip phones with Vox Alot give a hand?
fr0zen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cisco IP Phone 7940/7960 Vulnerability martin VoIP News 0 03-21-2007 02:23 PM
VoXaLot config jptg5Y Voxalot Support 2 01-21-2007 12:46 PM
Symmetric NAT issues with Cisco 7961G prevent registration polygnwnd Voxalot Support 3 01-19-2007 12:46 PM
How to config the dialplan buliao Voxalot Support 1 09-24-2006 08:36 PM
Cisco ATA 186 STUN Config??? MarkosJal Voxalot Support 0 09-02-2006 04:25 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.