Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's

Voxalot Tips, Tricks & HowTo's Tips and Tricks for Voxalot

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 10-31-2007, 08:34 PM   #181
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by affinity View Post
If there is a reference, I'm sure that it would at least be appreciated. And well done too on the resolution.
Warning: The following steps are NOT approved by Nokia. People taking these steps are warned that their warranty may be at risk. Further, I cannot guarantee that there will be no other adverse consequences if these steps are taken.

If someone has a Nokia VoIP-capable phone which can't be updated to at least the version 3.0633.09.04 firmware, either online or at a local Nokia service centre, two steps need to be taken in order to upgrade the phone in order for the Nokia SIP VoIP Settings application to work on their phone:

Step 1

Take a note of the Product Code (Model Number) of the phone (it was under the battery on my phone). Then do a search of the Nokia discussions / forums using that number. You will probably discover that Nokia has not set up the newest available firmware for your model.

Then find a product code / model number that supports both the language/s you need and the newest available firmware.

(In my case, the E70 which I bought in Australia, had the model number 0539966. I found out on the Nokia forums that E70 model number 0537093 supports English, Swedish, Danish, Norwegian and Finnish.)

Step 2

Change your phone's Product Code / Model number to the one you want with Nemesis Service Suite from Software . This page gives tips on how to do that: Tutorial: How to change the Product Code on Nokia Symbian OS phones (for unbranding, language packs and firmware upgrades) | Katy's Homepage . Then update your phone's firmware using the Nokia PC Suite / Nokia Software Updater.

Last edited by AlexErko; 10-31-2007 at 08:44 PM. Reason: Link to tips.
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AlexErko For This Useful Post:
affinity (10-31-2007)
Unread 11-02-2007, 05:51 AM   #182
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Here is a tip for those who wish to use the "VoIP Settings" section in the Nokia SIP VoIP Settings application.

I needed to make changes to the codecs, so I had to use the "VoIP Settings" section in the application, and I nearly tore my hair out at first, but lets not go there.

In the end what worked for me was:

1. I deleted all the settings in "Internet tel. settings", and I did not touch those settings again.

2. I put VoXaLot settings in "SIP settings", and left it unregistered.

3. I used the "Default" option in the "VoIP Settings" section in the Nokia SIP VoIP Settings application, and I used the User Guide PDF to do the settings for codecs, etc.

4. I then went back into the "SIP settings", and registered it.

Everything has worked perfectly since.
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-02-2007, 03:00 PM   #183
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

With the G729 CODEC, you cannot operate Voxalot voicemail, or can you?
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-02-2007, 04:48 PM   #184
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by affinity View Post
With the G729 CODEC, you cannot operate Voxalot voicemail, or can you?
I don't know, as I don't use Voicemail.
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-02-2007, 05:04 PM   #185
affinity
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 799
Thanks: 66
Thanked 61 Times in 44 Posts
affinity will become famous soon enough
Default

Okay, what about other calls that need DTMF to work?
affinity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-02-2007, 10:50 PM   #186
AlexErko
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 6
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
AlexErko is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by affinity View Post
Okay, what about other calls that need DTMF to work?
I have been using G.729 for years, and DTMF has always worked. Its my understanding that, of the popular codecs, only G.723.1 can be iffy with DTMF.
AlexErko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-22-2007, 03:56 PM   #187
richard99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 166
Thanks: 14
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
richard99 is on a distinguished road
Default Nokia E61 connectivity problem

Using Nokia E61 for last 6 month without problem with Voxalot. Last time I used about 2 week before and was normal operation. But today I tried to make call and wan not able to makel, Echo test is normal. I wonder after the Scheduled Maintenance - Fri 16th Nov, some thing is changed or Nokia E61 need to be reconfigure with some other parameters or may be codec.

I am using latest firmware 3.0633.09.04 for Nokia.
richard99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-03-2007, 08:25 PM   #188
gertitombo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gertitombo is on a distinguished road
Default Nokia Communicator E90

Hello,

I have the nokia communicator E90 and try to setup my sip voxalot account as showed in the posts with the stun application + setting.
I get everytime : Registration Failed.

Who can help me?
Thx
gertitombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 06:45 AM   #189
richard99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 166
Thanks: 14
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
richard99 is on a distinguished road
Default

I had similar problem while I was using for long time Nokia e61, but I found that lately somehow I messed up setting under INTERNET TEL SETTING. Now working fine
Delete all setting under INTERNET TEL SETTING and make new profile and try. I am sure it will work
richard99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2007, 09:51 AM   #190
gertitombo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
gertitombo is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard99 View Post
I had similar problem while I was using for long time Nokia e61, but I found that lately somehow I messed up setting under INTERNET TEL SETTING. Now working fine
Delete all setting under INTERNET TEL SETTING and make new profile and try. I am sure it will work
Unfortunatly it didn't work for me.
gertitombo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.