Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > Voxalot Forums > Voxalot Support

Voxalot Support Support for the Voxalot service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 09-04-2007, 01:34 PM   #1
Tylo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tylo is on a distinguished road
Default Some incoming SIP URI dialed calls slient

Hi..

I've got a few friends set up on voxalot and noticed a few issues..

SCENARIO 1
One friend is setup with a SPA1001
On the Line 1, using Vbuzzer (as i'm told it won't work for incoming calls with voxalot)
and on Line 2, Voxalot is registered.

I setup a speed dial on the line 1 user, to dial myvoxalotid@au.voxalot.com

This was working fine (calls would ring and we would get 2 way audio), until a few months ago when I could receive her calls (phone would ring etc) but on answering we'd both just get silence on the line.

There were no config changes on either end when they stopped getting audio.

If she switches to the line2 and dials my voxalot number, the calls work fine.

In both times my SPA3000 reports the calls are using G711u codec

-------
SCENARIO 2
Now recently I tried setting up the following setup
GrandCentral number, setup to ring Gizmoproject account (using their software). -- This works fine, calls ring through, and 2 way audio.

I then tried
GrandCentral number, setup to ring Gizmoproject Account,
Gismoproject account configured to forward to sip URL
sip:myvoxalotid@au.voxalot.com


These calls then ring through to my voxalot registered line but again both callers get silence on the line

Again my SPA3000 reports the call is using G711u codec

------
SCENARIO 3
I've further set up a sipnumber.com account and set it up to forward to
myvoxalotid@au.voxalot.com

Calls made to the sipnumber.com PSTN number, ring through fine with two way audio on both ends -- No issues works perfectly.

Again, my SPA3000 reports the calls are using G711u codec



------
Conclusions/Questions

I'm wondering if there is an issue with receiving direct dialed sip uri calls on lines registered with voxalot?


In the meantime i've got my friends lines going grandcentral forwarded to the sipnumber PSTN number, which then forwards to thevoxalotid@au.voxalot.com


Does anyone have experience with voicenetwork.ca numbers forwarded to a voxalotid@au.voxalot.com -- do they work, or am I going to hit the dreaded silent line issue??
Tylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2007, 10:10 PM   #2
haceaton
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
haceaton is on a distinguished road
Default

I've used direct sip URI forwarding from sipnumber to voxalot without problems. I did run into trouble with all types of inbound calls when using 2 lines on the ATA when "symmetric NAT translation" was set to yes on both accounts. With one or both set to "no", there has been no problems.
haceaton is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 02:24 AM   #3
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Also I have found *010xxxxxx@sipbroker.com is slightly more reliable regardless of source of call (but xxxxxx @us.voxalot.com has better audio quality)
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 03:51 AM   #4
richard99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 166
Thanks: 14
Thanked 22 Times in 19 Posts
richard99 is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emoci View Post
Also I have found *010xxxxxx@sipbroker.com is slightly more reliable regardless of source of call (but xxxxxx @us.voxalot.com has better audio quality)
Call forwarding does not accept format xxxxxx @us.voxalot.com or in format sip:*010xxxxxx@us.voxalot.com with provider Sipbroker, error message pop in The SIP URI is invalid.
richard99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 04:04 AM   #5
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by richard99 View Post
Call forwarding does not accept format xxxxxx @us.voxalot.com or in format sip:*010xxxxxx@us.voxalot.com with provider Sipbroker, error message pop in The SIP URI is invalid.
That's true, but *010xxxxxx@sipbroker.com works
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 06:08 AM   #6
Tylo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tylo is on a distinguished road
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haceaton View Post
I've used direct sip URI forwarding from sipnumber to voxalot without problems. I did run into trouble with all types of inbound calls when using 2 lines on the ATA when "symmetric NAT translation" was set to yes on both accounts. With one or both set to "no", there has been no problems.
Thanks for the tip, i'll see if i can try that out (my non-techie friends seem annoyed that I'm on MSN asking them to call again and again!)
Tylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-05-2007, 06:11 AM   #7
Tylo
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tylo is on a distinguished road
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tylo View Post

Does anyone have experience with voicenetwork.ca numbers forwarded to a voxalotid@au.voxalot.com -- do they work, or am I going to hit the dreaded silent line issue??
Just FYI for others, I've managed to setup a DID from voicenetwork.ca, and from their site forward it to voxalotid@au.voxalot.com

Calls come through fine (so both sipnumber.com and voicenetworks.ca seem to play ball with voxalot!)
Tylo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 04:00 PM   #8
325xi
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 79
Thanks: 12
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
325xi is on a distinguished road
Unhappy

Tried to call from softphone registered with PBXes to my Voxalot sip uri xxxxxx@us.voxalot.com - no sound...

Just curious - is it softphone (x-lite), pbxes, or voxalot?
325xi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 05:16 PM   #9
kurun
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 568
Thanks: 70
Thanked 147 Times in 115 Posts
kurun is a jewel in the roughkurun is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tylo View Post
Hi..
Does anyone have experience with voicenetwork.ca numbers forwarded to a voxalotid@au.voxalot.com -- do they work, or am I going to hit the dreaded silent line issue??
A friend is using a Voicenetwork.ca DID forwarded to xxxxxx@voxalot.com, and it works quite well, with excellent call quality.
kurun is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2008, 05:24 PM   #10
emoci
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,422
Thanks: 123
Thanked 369 Times in 282 Posts
emoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to allemoci is a name known to all
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 325xi View Post
Tried to call from softphone registered with PBXes to my Voxalot sip uri xxxxxx@us.voxalot.com - no sound...

Just curious - is it softphone (x-lite), pbxes, or voxalot?
Under the PBXes extension to which you are connecting, there is a setting called Audio Bypass.... try setting this to yes and calling as above, do you still have the same issue?

Also try calling just xxxxxx@voxalot.com, or *010xxxxxx@sipbroekr.com and see if any of those produce different results....
emoci is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free DID Numbers, Free Voip Calls, & more Voip Info amroe Voxalot General 54 01-13-2014 09:11 AM
incoming sip calls going directly to voicemail vishal3110 Voxalot Support 8 12-13-2008 12:17 AM
C450IP does not ring on incoming calls / part 2 pranzo Voxalot Support 0 02-25-2007 12:42 PM
Nor receiving incoming calls Sharps1 Voxalot Support 1 10-16-2006 12:38 PM


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.