Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > SIP Broker Forums > SIP Broker Support

SIP Broker Support Support for the SIP Broker service.

Unread 03-20-2007, 08:07 AM   #1
bitbonk

bitbonk is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to bitbonk
Default please explain sip-broker for beginners

I just got my VoIP account from the german provider QSC. I am totally new to VoIP. I haven't even fully understood what a SIP-Account is.

Could you please explain what SIP-Borker is? I have read the FAQs but I don't really get it:

1.) What is sipbroker ?
1.) Can I only call other VoIP accounts using SIP Broker or can I call regular numbers too?
2.) how do I set up my hardware to work with SIP Broker ? I have a SDSL Modem with a Grandstream ATA-486 Adapter. It seems I have to setup a "dial plan". What is a dial plan? If I change the dial plan for sip-broker as suggested in the wiki, does it affect "normal" calls somehow.
3.) what are those strange access numbers for example the +371 67652206 for Riga. Can I use them to call other VoiP accounts and/or regular phone numbers for free somehow ?
bitbonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2007, 10:11 AM   #2
martin

martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitbonk View Post
1.) What is sipbroker ?
1.) Can I only call other VoIP accounts using SIP Broker or can I call regular numbers too?
2.) how do I set up my hardware to work with SIP Broker ? I have a SDSL Modem with a Grandstream ATA-486 Adapter. It seems I have to setup a "dial plan". What is a dial plan? If I change the dial plan for sip-broker as suggested in the wiki, does it affect "normal" calls somehow.