Click Here To Visit SIP Broker  

Go Back   Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums > SIP Broker Forums > SIP Broker Support

SIP Broker Support Support for the SIP Broker service.

 
 
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-20-2007, 10:25 AM   #1
bitbonk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bitbonk is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to bitbonk
Default bypassing my VoIP provider

Suppose I want to call a latvian regular (not-VoIP) phone number, but qsc (my VoIP provider) is too expensive for Latvia. What other options do I have?
bitbonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2007, 10:28 AM   #2
martin
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,930
Thanks: 528
Thanked 646 Times in 340 Posts
martin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the roughmartin is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitbonk View Post
Suppose I want to call a latvian regular (not-VoIP) phone number, but qsc (my VoIP provider) is too expensive for Latvia. What other options do I have?
Find a cheaper provider, or get the person to call the latvian access number and then your VoIP number via SIP Broker.
__________________
Martin

Please post support questions on the forum. Do not send PMs unless requested.
martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2007, 10:41 AM   #3
MGifos
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
MGifos will become famous soon enough
Default

As Martin indicated, you basically have to find a VoIP provider that has cheaper calls to Latvia. You can look for VoIP providers outside of Germany, and there would be others in Europe that could be cheaper.

I am in Australia and I use mainly Australian VoIP providers but there is not much point recomending any of these because you do not want to make European calls via Australia. (My calls to Latvia using Pennytel are about 3 Euro cents per minute.)

If you do not have an ATA or Phone, or Software, that supports multiple VoIP providers, then this is where VoXaLot can help. You may want to keep QSC for some calls and use another provider for calls to Latvia.

Regards. MG.
MGifos is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2007, 10:57 AM   #4
bitbonk
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
bitbonk is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to bitbonk
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
Find a cheaper provider
You might not happen to know where to find one for lativa. Google doesn't seem to be a help here.
Quote:
Originally Posted by martin View Post
get the person to call the latvian access number and then your VoIP number via SIP Broker.
When I look that the sip-codes I see a little red cross icon:

SIP-Code SIP Proxy Adresse Providername
*669 sip.qsc.de sip.qsc.de

Does that mean they can't call me using the acessnumber ?
bitbonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2007, 11:14 AM   #5
MGifos
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Melbourne, AU
Posts: 35
Thanks: 3
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
MGifos will become famous soon enough
Default

This is an Australian site, but it may help you find a provider.
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/index...VOIP_Providers
MGifos is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-2007, 10:24 PM   #6
clundestad
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 43
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
clundestad is on a distinguished road
Default

You might want to try Vyke.com. Latvia is 6.61 Eurocents/minute at the moment. I have used it with success with VoXaLot. It is for outgoing calls only, though, no DID.
clundestad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-16-2007, 12:36 AM   #7
DracoFelis
 
DracoFelis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 64 Times in 41 Posts
DracoFelis is a jewel in the roughDracoFelis is a jewel in the rough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bitbonk View Post
When I look that the sip-codes I see a little red cross icon:

SIP-Code SIP Proxy Adresse Providername
*669 sip.qsc.de sip.qsc.de

Does that mean they can't call me using the acessnumber ?
No. It means that you can't call users of that VoIP provider "for free" via either SIP Broker or the SIP Broker PSTN numbers. It says nothing about what users of that service can do to call out.

To be called by the access number, just get a VoXaLot account (and setup your adapter with it). Then, anyone who can do SIP Broker dialing (including anyone calling one of those PSTN numbers) can call you by dialing:
*010 your_6-digit_VoXaLot_number

NOTE:
As another poster already mentioned, VoXaLot can let you combine multiple VoIP accounts, so that you can use all of those accounts from your VoIP adapter. And VoXaLot will also make it easy for you to receive calls via the SIP Broker PSTN numbers (because all VoXaLot accounts are reachable/callable from "SIP Broker", by simply prefixing the VoXaLot account number with *010):
SIPBroker - PSTN Numbers
DracoFelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voxalot and Sipura/ATA Tutorial: A Comprehensive Walkthrough ctylor Voxalot General 5 04-28-2010 12:52 AM
voip provider in Mexico cico Voxalot Support 3 05-08-2007 10:30 PM
Newbie - but please be nice Mallycat Voxalot Support 21 04-15-2006 07:50 AM


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.