Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (http://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (http://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   EU server down? (http://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=4866)

green 04-01-2010 06:15 PM

EU server down?
 
It seems that EU server has problems, even not responding to ping.

kendid 04-01-2010 06:32 PM

+1, someone hit the big red button yet???

edit: Pushed it ... wasn't as exciting as I thought it would be to push it...

Chops in France 04-01-2010 07:12 PM

Is it all the servers?

I can't connect at all - didn't realise until this evening, but it went off at 11:47 this morning... I thought the phone had been quiet today!!


Any news on this?



EDIT:

I connected (eventually) to the US server... is this allowed?

kendid 04-01-2010 07:20 PM

No problems here connecting to us.voxalot.com

kendid 04-01-2010 07:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chops in France (Post 26984)
EDIT:

I connected (eventually) to the US server... is this allowed?

That's one of the great points of voxalot, it's really easy to switch to other servers! Of course it's allowed, and it's awesome we're able to do that! Quick change in the ATA and good to go!

martin 04-01-2010 10:43 PM

There appears to be a problem at the EU data center. We are investigating.

martin 04-01-2010 11:20 PM

We have contacted the data center and are awaiting a reply. We will keep you updated as information becomes available.

In the mean time, please use one of the alternate proxies.

martin 04-02-2010 01:03 AM

We are still awaiting a response from the data center. Phone support is also going to their voicemail. Unfortunately we are unable to resolve this particular problem without the assistance of the data center.

We will keep you updated.

LeonB 04-02-2010 06:48 AM

Hi Martin,

With one ore more registered SIP accounts it's unfortunattly not that easy because you first must unregister, change proxy and then reregister the SIP accounts. After issue resolved the same way back.
This takes quite some time especially when managing multiple account for relatives... :(

Is it possible for you to provide us with some kind of easy "proxy switcher" function to help us out here?

I think many Voxalot users would appreciate this!

Regards, Léon

dimitrivisser 04-02-2010 09:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by martin (Post 26998)
We are still awaiting a response from the data center. Phone support is also going to their voicemail. Unfortunately we are unable to resolve this particular problem without the assistance of the data center.

I thought after all the problems with Leaseweb last time (more than a week downtime ?) Voxalot would switch to something better? Leaseweb is known for bad bad bad service.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.