Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums

Voxalot / SIP Broker Support Forums (http://forum.sipbroker.com/index.php)
-   Voxalot Support (http://forum.sipbroker.com/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Call on Betamax usernames (http://forum.sipbroker.com/showthread.php?t=4459)

visserronald 10-11-2009 06:43 PM

Call on Betamax usernames
 
Hi,

I recently bought a Siemens Gigaset C470 IP, and started configurating it a couple of days ago. In the configuration of the C470 IP, I can use in total 6 VoIP providers. 2 of them are already in use at the moment (Budgetphone; Dutch VoIP provider, in use for incoming calls only, and poivY, one of the Betamax companies, for as well incoming, as outgoing calls).

This al works perfectly but there is just one thing, I still would like to do; phone with my C470 IP, on Betamax usernames (I use the phone, the other side the pc). I found out this is possible via Voxalot so I signed up today. I signed up with Voxalot, put the poivY settings in 'Voice Service Provider' and added Voxalot as a third provider in the C470 IP. Made a test call to one of my friends, and it all worked (only had to pay a few Eurocents, as poivY reported that I exceeded the FUP, but I already found out on the forum, that this is a complete other problem!). BTW I am using the standard Voxalot dial plan '999'. I did not make any changes or adjustments there.

But now...I have to make some settings to be able to call Betamax usernames. Read a lot about it on the forum already, but it isn't 100% clear to me, what I need to do, to get it working. I want to call one friend of mine, who is using poivY as well, and another friend is using Freecall (another Betamax company).

Can somebody help me a little further with this?

Regards,

Ronald

191727 10-12-2009 08:29 AM

Hi Ronald,

What you want to do is not that much complicated you need to set up "Speed Dial".

1. After logging into you voxalot account look at the right-site menu. Click on Speed Dial.
2. Add
3. After the Dial: put what number you want to dial to make a call to your friend.
4. Name: Your friend's name
5. Route to call: choose phone number, NOT the SIP
6. Number to call: username of your friend
7. Provider: Choose Poivy as outgoing provider.

Done

You can now dial ** (default speed dial format) and the number you choose to call your friend. You should now be able to call your friend's betamax username. Good luck!

visserronald 10-12-2009 09:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by 191727 (Post 25358)
6. Number to call: username of your friend

Imagine the username is Johndoe and the Betamax provider is poivY.

Is the username to fill in than:

1. Johndoe
2. sip:Johndoe@sip.poivy.com
3. Johndoe@sip.poivy.com

kurun 10-12-2009 09:22 PM

To call a Betamax ID from Voxalot, you may have to use a different approach, using a rule in your dial plan, as described below.

Set up a rule under the advanced mode as follows :

Priority* : Your choice based on the other rules already set-up
Pattern* : _400 (Just an example, but can be any number you prefer)
Comment : Call JohnDoe via Poivy
Replacement* : johndoe@sip.poivy.com
Provider* : Poivy (or any Betamax provider you have set-up)
Active* : Yes
Virtual Toll Free Enabled* :No
ENUM Lookup : No
Geographic Lookup : No

To make the call : Dial 400# from your Voxalot registered phone.

I just checked this and this method works.
Post back if you need further clarification.

visserronald 10-14-2009 05:30 PM

Tried it on the way described by 191727. In the field 'number to call' I filled in only the username (for example Johndoe), and it works perfectly :)

I did not try it on the way kurun described, but probably it will work like that as well.

gabbar.singh 12-18-2009 07:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by visserronald (Post 25357)
poivY, one of the Betamax companies, for as well incoming, as outgoing calls).

How do you use poivY for incoming calls? I am curious. Please share this information.

timmeh55 08-27-2011 04:10 PM

You can put this in your dialplan:
|<7:johndoe@sip.nonoh.net>|
which means that if you dial "7" you will be connected to Johndoe.
You have to be prepared that it only works if John logged in or made a phonecall a few minutes ago. The registration at Betamax expires after a few minutes. The connection doesn't stay alive long. Betamax doesn't really support inbound calls.

kurun 08-29-2011 09:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gabbar.singh (Post 26157)
How do you use poivY for incoming calls? I am curious. Please share this information.

If you set up your poivY SIP account to be registered in your Voxalot account, then you can receive poiVy calls directly to your Voxalot account.
However, this requires a Premium account with the ability to register third party SIP accounts.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:36 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.